We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Chapala standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Isla Cozumel

Restaurant Isla Cozumel
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Chapala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Chapala standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We live in Chapala and go to Cozumel at least once a month. It's a place we always take our out of town visitors for the local color of the malecon. The waiters are really great. Their shrimp dishes are fabulous. I like the fried shrimp and the shrimp aljillo. Hubby favors the coconut shrimp. The seafood molcajete is really good also. Oh, did anyone mention free margaritas??

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great restaurant on the waterfront in Chapala. The menu is mainly seafood but they do have steaks and they are good. You can sit inside or out. The staff is friendly and the service prompt. If you order a main dish you get all the margaritas or red or white wine that you can drink for free. This does not apply to ordering an appetizer. There is free parking in front of the restaurant. There are several of these restaurants in a row but Cozumel is the best and one of the favorites here in the lakeside area. I and my friends go there often. I highly recommend them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Bizarre restaurant experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a very small restaurant with a handful of interior tables and more exterior tables with good views of Lake Chapala and lots of umbrellas to protect from the sun. We were served excellent fresh salsa and a spicier green salsa with toasted tortillas. We ordered raw seafood cerviche which was disappointing; the seafood was chopped much too fine, with little lime; and little seasoning. The fish soup was disgusting, very salty, with huge chunks of seafood in shells (very messy), very slimy (probably raw) oysters and clams, mushy octopus and overall didn't seem fresh. The steak tapiquena style was good.

On receiving the bill, we were told "the machine" was broken and we had to pay with cash. This is something that should have been revealed before the order was placed. Our beer was mis-charged, but the waiter couldn't correct the bill and no one was around who could correct it!

Finally, more than a dozen vendors and mariachi singers came to our table, selling their wares.

We won't be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Barely edible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The best thing I can say is that the free chips and freshly chopped pico salsa were good, and the bottled beer was served in a frosty mug. My entrée of snapper au gratin was not skillfully prepared, but rather was simply a fried whole fish covered an inch thick with a nondescript hunk of melted cheese -- it was not an au gratin sauce in which fish was baked. Although I'm a cheese fan, this was very unappetizing, and a mess to deal w on your plate -- digging thru mound of congealing cheese to debone skeleton and big head, blech. My husband ordered a shrimp dish, which had very little shrimp and lots of fried coating. The fruit on our plates, watermelon and pineapple, was old and without flavor. The place was expensive compared to other lakeside community restaurants. There's no need to pay those kinds of prices in a community where much much better food is available for significantly less. Perhaps it's because of their location at end of malecon, which is pleasant. So if u go, stop with a frosty beer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank zephyr98926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our 3rd time eating at Cozumel (or 4th?) and everything, as usual, was awesome except for our friend's seafood soup...it contained 4 different seafoods - all in their shell. Crab legs with no implements to crack them open. Peeling every shrimp. Not too much fun. Other than that, the food, ambiance and music were fantastic!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SerenaM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Isla Cozumel also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Isla Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing