We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Found”
other travellers have booked this property
The Grotto Bay Property and Private Beach!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grotto Bay Property and Private Beach!
Aerial of Grotto Bay Beach Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Grotto Bay Property and Private Beach!
Aerial of Grotto Bay
Beach Entrance
Fire Pit!  Great for socializing and cooking your catch.
Our Play Area!
Grotto Bay's Crescent Beach -- Private!
Night Fall at Grotto Bay
End of the Day at Grotto Bay
The Turtle Studio
Turtle Studio Dinette
On the Deck
Guest Deck from Turtle Studio
Deck off of Triggerfish Studio
Steps from Beach to Guest Units
Grotto Bay
Nice and Clear!
Sailboats Anchored off of Grotto Bay
Grab a cup of coffee and embrace the morning
Beach Horseshoes
Kayak and Paddle Board any time of day!
Paddle Boarding to the Mail Boat
Crane Points to the Cave Sign
Throwing a Line to Mutton Snapper
Water View of Grotto Bay
Our New Guest Kitchen - Margarita Anyone?
Guest Kitchen is Adjacent to the Triggerfish Studio
Guest Kitchen is Complete with all Utensils and Coolers for the Car
Our Private Beach
The Kayaks are Always Waiting
Entrance to Grotto Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Salt Pond, Long Island, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PhD2007
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
6
people found this review helpful

This property is absolutely gorgeous! It is right on the water and has its own beach. The room my husband and I occupied was very comfortable and immaculate. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Grotto Bay is as well as how nice the owners are to their guests. Chris and Jeannie took us out on their boat to watch the local sailing regatta and provided us with so much information about Long Island. They also have kayaks and paddleboards you can use while you are staying with them. Don't miss exploring the cave located adjacent to their property. Jeannie gave us flashlights and had a map in the room we could look at before entering. Also, I recommend renting a car for your stay, Jeannie will help you with this, as many of the things to see are located a drive away from the property. Long Island is a beautiful place and if you are looking for a pristine, uncrowded, island adventure stay at Grotto Bay. It is truly a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach and the layout of the property, especially the outdoor kitchen.
Liked least: Liked everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Khalua C
Buckhead, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found an amazing romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted on long Island by Mr T. he somehow knew who we were and walked us right over to the rental car that the owner Jeannie set up for us. She was not one the Isalnd but when we mentioned her and her husbands names they were very loved and missed on the Island. I want to come back just so I can meet the people that made such an amazing guest house. We love the open space and being right on the private beaches. We never locked the door the whole trip. It just feels safe. We used the canoes to go super life of pi out in the ocean. It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I have ever seen in my life. I had drinks both nights at Su Sides and I feel like Ive made life long friends. This place has an amazing energy and the caves are pretty awesome. If you are not scared of bats you can do it all the way to the 3rd chamber. I cant wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simondela...
Londra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in the middle of paradise!”
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We've just come back from two glorious weeks at Grotto Bay. The location in Salt Pond is ideal as it is halfway up/down Long Island which makes it easy to get everywhere during the day, and that shops and restaurants are only a short walk or drive away. The private beach is beautiful, and next to a warm, clear, aquamarine sea where you can kayak (included) and swim/snorkel. If you want to cook at Grotto Bay, then it is made very easy at the guest kitchen, or by using the Weber next to the beach to BBQ your fish and crab claws (which we did most days!) The rooms are nicely furnished, and there are a good selection of DVDs too in case you want an evening in.

Get a rental car as it is the only way to get round the Island. Make sure you visit Dean's Blue Hole, and have lunch or dinner at Max's Conch Bar (the central source of information on Long Island!) Long Island is pretty quiet so don't go expecting any wild evenings out, but it is perfect for relaxing and recharging while on holiday.

Am already missing those cold Kalik's, and can't wait to go back. Complete paradise - can't recommend Grotto Bay highly enough.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The private beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2012
Thank you so much for this detailed review. We pride ourselves on service here, and are so happy you had such a beautiful wedding and honeymoon. Thank you so much for choosing Grotto Bay! All the best to you, with many happy years ahead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shellyofs...
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location, beautiful beaches”
Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Being located in the center of the island makes this a great spot. Make sure that you book a day of fishing with Locksley if you fish or not! It was so much fun. Also dont miss Deans Blue Hole. Gas up the car and buy your food on Saturday night for the next day as well because everything closes on Sunday. Take the industrial strength bug repellent if you plan to utilize the outdoor kitchen or sit outdoors. Most of all, if you're not prepared to curl up in bed early each night in the air-conditioned room with a good book, go to a resort. If you like to have no schedule and explore on your own, you will love Long Island. Beautiful beaches!!!!
Most of the things you need to explore the island are available: kayaks, snorkel gear, boogie board, cooler, flashlight, beach chairs and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Same bath towel and beach towel for 5 days, take some with you
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing