We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazaat(Cottingham)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Hull(North Ferriby)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Hotel Club Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vale Guest House(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campanile Hull - City Center(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Doubletree by Hilton Hull(Kingston-upon-Hull)
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
204
284
187
86
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
284
187
86
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommercure hullanne mariesteam roomleisure facilitiesswimming poolan updategrange parkenjoyed my staychanging roomswould stay againcourse mealone night stayfamily roomvery pleasant staygood nights sleepcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a huge family room. Large double bed ( very uncomfortable though, felt like I was sliding out!) with two single beds for my two boys plus a sofa and usual furniture. Bathroom basic and in need of an update but otherwise clean. Family rooms are simply huge! I agree with other comments that breakfast although nice was a bit basic. More of a small B and B standard, not an international chain. Staff lovely and welcoming and the kids loved the Sebastian Coe leisure facilities. Huge car parking facilities and plenty of room for the kids to kick a football about. I went to university in hull so knew the place really well. Lots of changes and new developments for the better. Loved the old town and museum quarter and new land avenue and princess avenue almost unrecognisable since my university days! Lots of trendy coffee shops and restaurants now. Lovely to be back and the kids loved the deep. Better to pre-book your tickets though as we had a huge wait to get in. All in all I had a lovely time reliving my student days and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Family,

Thank you for visiting our hotel recently and posting a review.

Your constructive feedback is helpful to us and we will look into the comments you have given us so that improvements where possible, can be made.

Thank you for mentioning the team here as well and the leisure facilities available.

It certainly is good to learn that you were able to relive your students’ days with your family whilst enjoying the ever improving city, which is so worth exploring and does not always receive the press it deserves.

Hopefully you still have more to explore on your next visit to Hull and East Yorkshire.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

"Going to 'Hull' in a handcart" from Norfolk just about sums up one of the most torturous road journeys in the UK. A combination of the A47, A17 and A15 is a monument to the worst of British road planning with only the sight of Lincoln Cathedral and the Humber Bridge to relieve the experience. The city itself has much to commend it though, and the Mercure Grange Park with its 100 rooms is an okay hotel. Very comfortable, warm and welcoming it is surrounded by pretty leafy gardens and boasts an excellent spa with gymnasium under the Sebastian Coe brand (free to residents). As you would expect from Yorkshire folk the staff are friendly without being obsequious. Before I established my own guest house and award winning restaurant I was a hotel critic for airlines and bank privilege programmes so my expectations are frequently unfulfilled, particularly in the catering department. To be fair I only had a couple of breakfasts which were included with the room rate but at menu price these could have cost me £13.50 per person and for that money, I would expect better that an average to poor B+B offering. So if breakfast is a reflection of the standard I'd not hold out much hope for the lunch/dinner menus. I'm also suspicious of too ambitious and expensive a menu in what is obviously not one of Hull's more popular dining venues. So in summing up, the catering department is in need of a real good shake up particularly at breakfast and the bathrooms could do with some fine tuning. Aside from that not bad for the money and a tasteful modernisation of an old manor house in Willerby, a pretty suburb of Kingston-upon-Hull.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaPem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Tina,

Thanks for sharing your recent travels and stay here.

We are so pleased that you chose to stay here and thank you for your comments about breakfast which will be addressed.

Willerby is a good location to explore both Hull and the East Yorkshire Wolds.

We hope you will return again when we will try and persuade you eat in the brasserie.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This was a large function with a prominent after dinner speaker. It had the makings of an excellent evening in prospect, drawing experienced and discerning people from the business world.

The meal was a simple one - soup or salad for starter, chicken or vegetarian for main course, choice of 2 desserts. Difficult to mess up, one might think - but they succeeded where others might fail ...

The soup, allegedly 'freshly made carrot and coriander' tasted anything but. The chicken was rubbery and unassuming, despite being embellished with 'sun-blushed tomatoes' etc (one could imagine why they might have been blushing...). The 'glazed lemon tart' with raspberry salsa appeared to be several days old. The raspberry salsa was the best part - presumably from a tin.

Service was very poor, as service from the bar had been earlier. The 3 staff behind the bar excelled in avoiding eye contact and interaction with customers and were very slow and inexperienced.

Why don't hotels like the Mercure invest in training their staff - and have a hands-on management policy to make sure they're coping?

What a let down. I don't think it will be the chosen venue for future functions for many of those attending.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Revilo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of the dinner that you attended here recently.

We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion because you found the food and service below par.

Your comments, whilst disappointing, will be shared with the team and taken on board so that improvements and further training can be made where necessary.

We appreciate feedback from our guests as it enables us to continually assess and improve our offering.

Please be assured that we do have a hands-on management approach in our business but accept that we failed you on this occasion so need to do better.

With thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

we were greeted politely, given very nice, spacious room and served beautiful food and even when there was a problem with a meal, it was rectified with no qualms. Swimming and spa facilities impeccable and no-one around so doubly good. Ideal spot for nipping into Hull and tucked out of the way of busy roads. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank EmmaROz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Emma,

Many thanks for highlighting what made your experience here enjoyable.

We are so pleased that you and your family had a good time and hope you will be back to see us in the near future.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A lovely place to stay, the room was very clean, well decorated, everything you needed was there,
The restaurant was excellent, very nice food, staff were excellent, always polite and very seemed very happy to be working there.
It was a very short walk to the bus into the centre of hull, £3.50 day return, even if we had the car there(which we did,'t) it was not worth driving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Hana,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are grateful for your comments about the food and service you enjoyed whilst here and for highlighting the easy access into the centre of Hull.

All the team enjoyed looking after you during your visit and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews