We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Reviewed 12 September 2013

When travelling to Hull for business I generally stay in a Premiere Inn so I don't expect much. A basic room, warm water, lights and Internet.
Despite advertising wi-fi, internet access from the room was unusable. It very much reminded me of dial-up days with web pages appearing line by line. Half of the lights in the room didn't work which wasn't helpful when working on documents and then in the morning I had to have a cold shower because despite it being before 7am there was no hot water!!
At double the cost of a Premiere Inn I was expected a nice breakfast. No chance. Very poor quality meats and scrambled egg that was swimming in some form of liquid. Never again thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Barry,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

We are sorry that you felt the internet was so slow during your stay but unfortunately there was an issue with our server which has now been replaced.

We normally pride ourselves on the breakfast we offer and I only hope you asked the team to provide you with fresh items as they would do without question.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been visiting this hotel for the past 15 years spasmodically for the caravan show which is on during the first week of September annually .i stayed on Monday evening with my brother and friend .i booked 3 double rooms and I was really embarrassed because the hotel has gone to the wall !! Eighty odd pounds for B &B but this place seriously needs a refirb !! First impressions when you are at the hotel bar thinks that it's either just had all its stock stolen or the company is having a closing down sale!!
We were given rooms 223,224, 225 .upon entry they smelt strongly of smoke..so much that my Bro changed rooms straight away!!They gave him a much nicer room on the first floor why didn't they do this at first????my self and friend basically couldn't be bothered to change rooms as we were only there for one niight and we were probably not going to be seeing too much of our rooms anyway!!
The bar was under stocked .i felt so sorry for the young staff working behind the bar .we sent beer back as the pipes hadn't been cleaned properly with water in the beer!! Even the guy in charge of the bar tasted it and agreed !! There was hardly any choice of drinks ..the best was the great big promotion all over the back display of the bar for Pimms .When I Tongue in cheek asked for a Pimms which was my third attempt for a drink I was told thy didn't have any !! Well why do a big promo then??
The only good thing was that breakfast was ok ... Mercury will not be getting any of my custom again ... There are some hotels on this site that get a grilling when sometimes they don't deserve it!! Well this one needs either knocking down or revamping!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knappster_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that your stay was a disappointment and that your room was not to your liking.
Unfortunately been so busy at the time of your stay it would have been difficult to move your rooms. The hotel operates a no smoking policy but had previous guests ignored this then housekeeping would have refreshed the room.

Concerning the bar stocks following a particularly busy weekend we were awaiting stocks at the time of your visit as there normally is wide choice.

We sincerely hope you will consider your decision and stay again, at which time we will build on your breakfast experience to restore your opinion.

Thanks again for your valued comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed saturday evening at this hotel with my partner for a short city break. The service was top notch the staff couldn't do more to help me and feel welcome. The young lady on reception who checked me in was particularly helpful might I add. I couldn't fault the price i paid either. It really is very good value for money compared to some of the hotels i was looking at in the town centre. The only real bad thing about the place is its not quite as modern as you expect from the pictures......but its only really a few cosmetic things that need to be upgraded, The room i was given had everything you need in it and was very fresh and clean. And the leisure facility's are excellent, a nice warm pool!
To sum up if you are looking for a good value, friendly hotel. You would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay in

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yemonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Yemonty,

Thanks for your positive review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the reception team are grateful to have received a special mention.

The pool is welcoming when our guests have time to relax and enjoy it.

We are making improvements as and when we can in these challenging economic conditions, but will always try to offer value for money to our guests

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very slow Wi-Fi, which is also limited to only 3 devices. Then, only two plug sockets in the room, for the TV, a fan, two phones, two tablets, a laptop and two camera's, it isn't really enough.

The room could have done with air conditioning too. The beds where very thin for someone of my size, I felt like I would fall off at each turn.

On the plus side, breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyCr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Andy,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are sorry that you felt the internet was so slow during your stay but unfortunately there was an issue with our server which has now been replaced. Generally our rooms have at least three sockets but would not cope with so many items as you had.

We do not currently have air conditioning in our bedrooms but can certainly offer you a room with a larger bed, if requested.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simpson223
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

stayed here for 1 night over the summer. staff very friendly and helpful. family room was huge!! it was great to have proper beds for the kids and not zed beds!! it was really clean and quiet. the pool was great, gym if you felt like it? breakfast was great, very happy with stay. bar/restaurant a bit pricey, however two pubs serving meals just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for a great review.

It was lovely to have your family stay with us and we welcome your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been there for 4 nights and we loved, when we get there we did the check in straight away even wasn´t 2pm,
The staff was very helpful and very friendly.
Our room was fantastic with a nice view to the garden, with a lot of space and we have 1 child and one baby and very quiet.
the pool and facilities are very nice.
We loved and we hope come back again.
i will recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for such wonderful comments.

We so enjoyed having you stay with us and appreciate you writing.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will soon return.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,477 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,255 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing