We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's do the Time Warp again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending a black tie business dinner. It used to be the Ramada for many years and despite the new owners, hasn't been updated or re-styled. My room was a decent size but felt really old-fashioned, with a very springy bed, which was actually 2 singles pushed together. Night storage heaters really aren't the best either.The low-point was the bathroom, which just felt grimy, with beige tiles and a 1970's mirror. Also the towel rail didn't work and was held together with electrician's tape. Shower was OK though. On the plus side, breakfast was good and for £75 it wasn't expensive but would not stay here if given a choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKMarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay

Although we do not have night storage heaters in our rooms; they are electric and normally judged effective by our guests.

We do hope you will reconsider staying here again as a different room could be allocated to you and we will continue to provide value for money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed one night prior to attending a family function in the area. The rooms were reasonable, although the twin beds were quite narrow.

There was a wedding taking place and the noise from this kept our daughter awake (she was on the first floor), although we did not hear it on the second floor at the other end of the corridor. We understand that hotels need to be able to hold weddings, but the paying hotel guest's experience needs to be considered as well.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was fine, except that a couple of items ordered turned out not to be available, even early in the evening.

However, the most unacceptable aspect was the lack of hot water in our daughter's room at 7.45am. In both rooms, the shower mechanism was very awkward to operate.

We have come to expect a certain standard from Mercure hotels (a brand we use a lot in France and felt that this hotel did not meet our expectations

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank carmajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on tripadviser.

Whilst we value all paying guests we normally try to separate event noise from the residents rooms, which we did not fully manage for your party, sorry.

The chef apologies for items being out of stock when you ordered but alternatives should have been offered.

There was no obvious reason for a lack of hot water in your daughter’s room but our boiler engineers have been called out to investigate and service the system since you stayed. The shower mechanisms are being replaced as they fail, which is an ongoing process.

We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Travelled with Skills Coaches for a Fawlty Towers Weekend. Room was good size and clean .
There was a wedding reception on but I did not hear any noise from my room on the second floor.
Staff were friendly and polite. Food was good especially breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are unable to walk very far pick a room near the lifts as the corridors are very long with se...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TS21Cent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments which are appreciated by all.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your themed weekend and hope you will visit again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed two nights, our room was great, very quiet, clean & spacious.We ate in the restaurant on our first night-what a mistake! the staff acted like school kids & were disrespectful about the kitchen staff, our food was poor, my starter came complete with hairs which the waiter thought was hilarious & shouted his comments to the chef when he took it back, which I heard quite clearly. My main course , salmon that tasted like mackerel , thick stodge sauce & undercooked frozen chips, yum yum! My partner had a dish of veg swimming in water & bland chicken.Breakfast was"nt much better, great ingredients but unfortunately it was luke warm. The reception staff were very friendly & efficient & are an asset to the hotel.Stay but don"t eat there.

Room Tip: try to get an upper room away from the function room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Mandy h,

Thank you for your review posted on tripadviser.

Whilst we were pleased to hear that your room was comfortable, we were sorry to learn that the restaurant let your stay down.

It is concerning that we had a group in the restaurant on a “Faulty Towers” weekend which is very similar to the experience you have described. This may have had an impact on your stay, as due to the hotel being busy we were not able to give them private dining facilities.

Either way, we are sorry for your disappointment, as this is not the normal food and service we provide, so we would very much like the opportunity to restore your faith in us. If you would be kind enough to contact me I would be pleased to arrange a meal for you to enjoy when you next visit our area.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful reception lady was ecellent matt did a very good job and also awal the turkist manager well done
there was a wedding on which means the staff were busy
well done to the chief and his staff for the good food
yes the hotel need some improvements but there is not always money to do everythink
well done tony mbe

Room Tip: 315 was a good room but very peaceful a new shower need for future with a bath mat would be good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Tony,

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about our hotel and staff on tripadviser.

Those named really appreciate their mention, as do all the team that were here during your stay.

Your comments concerning alterations to your room will be looked into as we plan future improvements.

Again thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jedda21
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,101 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,257 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing