We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi like dial up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Devizes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wifi like dial up”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Large, bleak place with locals watching football in the bar. They stare at you while you check in as if you came from Mars. Treats include peach coloured 70s bathroom suite. Blistering bright flourecent lighting. £21 minimum price for bottle of red wine. Just wanted a place to sleep so not to bothered by this but.... Wifi was slower than dial up and no phone coverage. Walls so thin I could hear every word of my fellow guest next door on the phone to his wife. Later his snoring. Avoid.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Mr Devizes

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, however I am sorry we were not able to sort out your problems whilst you were at the hotel. All of our guests deserve a friendly welcome and I am sorry that this was not recieved.
I hope you decide to return to the hotel and give us a second chance
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    235
    142
    75
    40
See reviews for
127
217
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a bog standard business hotel. Lots of bog standard rooms (many down long corridors) a bog standard buffet breakfast, a bog standard bar etc etc.

What is not standard, however, is that all of the above is delivered with great efficiency and no small amount of Northern warmth. The rooms may be in need of a bit of an update, but they are reasonably well equipped and spotless. The breakfast is not exciting, but it is fresh and when I asked for an extra strong pot of coffee that's exactly what I got - a rare occurrence indeed.

On the last of my four night stay a pair of noisy fools took occupancy of the neighbouring room. Sensing an impending sleepless night, at 9pm I requested a change of room and this was handled immediately and courteously along with an offer of assistance to move my belongings.

On Saturday, as I rushed to leave for a function, a button fell from my suit jacket. Requesting a sewing kit, I then demonstrated a total inability to use it. To my immense relief and gratitude, the delightful red-headed lady on reception (Helen?) very kindly offered to sew the button back on for me.

This hotel stands out not for it's property but for the lovely people who operate it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safepairofhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Safe Pair of Hands

Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor, which brought a smile to my face this morning. I will ensure that the rteam see your review, especially our young seemstress!

Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked this place quite last minute and paid a very reasonable price for what was a lovely comfortable room .The staff were very welcoming and provided us with all the assistance we required.
The room was clean and spacious overlooking garden at the rear.The heating could be adjusted by ourselves which was wonderful as it was a cold day.Tea and coffee making facilities were well supplied and no questions asked when i asked for further supplies.Bed comfortable and good nights sleep as quiet location.Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMSmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Spruce55
Thank you for taking the time to write such possitive comments, I will ensure they are passed to the team
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I last stayed here in it's Ramada, pre- Mercure days; nothing much has changed. Hotel common areas are very dated and the rooms are similarly old fashioned and tired. Double bed was very small, with the softest mattress I have ever experienced and the electric heater was a misnomer - certainly seemed incapable of heating the room. To be fair the hotel is pretty cheap (in every sense of the word) and I am pleased we paid a little extra for the full breakfast, this I can recommend. Overall if you are looking for a cheap hotel on the western edge of Hull then this probably worth considering.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Neil C,

Thank you for your feedback.

Whilst we are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast it is a shame that you did not like your room.

Investment in the hotel is taking place, including a replacement bed in the room that you stayed in, which arrived this week.

As the economic conditions allow further plans are in place but guest service is always at the top of our agenda.

We hope you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst attending a black tie business dinner. It used to be the Ramada for many years and despite the new owners, hasn't been updated or re-styled. My room was a decent size but felt really old-fashioned, with a very springy bed, which was actually 2 singles pushed together. Night storage heaters really aren't the best either.The low-point was the bathroom, which just felt grimy, with beige tiles and a 1970's mirror. Also the towel rail didn't work and was held together with electrician's tape. Shower was OK though. On the plus side, breakfast was good and for £75 it wasn't expensive but would not stay here if given a choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKMarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay

Although we do not have night storage heaters in our rooms; they are electric and normally judged effective by our guests.

We do hope you will reconsider staying here again as a different room could be allocated to you and we will continue to provide value for money.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willerby hotels

UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night prior to attending a family function in the area. The rooms were reasonable, although the twin beds were quite narrow.

There was a wedding taking place and the noise from this kept our daughter awake (she was on the first floor), although we did not hear it on the second floor at the other end of the corridor. We understand that hotels need to be able to hold weddings, but the paying hotel guest's experience needs to be considered as well.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was fine, except that a couple of items ordered turned out not to be available, even early in the evening.

However, the most unacceptable aspect was the lack of hot water in our daughter's room at 7.45am. In both rooms, the shower mechanism was very awkward to operate.

We have come to expect a certain standard from Mercure hotels (a brand we use a lot in France and felt that this hotel did not meet our expectations

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank carmajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on tripadviser.

Whilst we value all paying guests we normally try to separate event noise from the residents rooms, which we did not fully manage for your party, sorry.

The chef apologies for items being out of stock when you ordered but alternatives should have been offered.

There was no obvious reason for a lack of hot water in your daughter’s room but our boiler engineers have been called out to investigate and service the system since you stayed. The shower mechanisms are being replaced as they fail, which is an ongoing process.

We would like to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing