We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John&MaureenDorset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“John&MaureenDorset”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Eight of us stayed Fri and Sat for a wedding in Beverley, 5 miles up the road. Never felt the need to write a review on the many U K and foreign hotels we have visited over the years, so this is a first. Why? Because my wife and I were so impressed at the excellent value for money we got.
Their website description is fair; a very pleasant setting, good facilities, etc. Re. comments about "in need of a makeover" are not too critical. Unless a hotel has just had a refurb. there is often some aspect of the rooms etc. that looks tired or shabby in most hotels outside the luxury band, so I feel one shouldn't be too harsh. Agree most heartily with other reviews about the staff; they were all excellent. The buffet breakfast on both days were amongst the best we have had anywhere, here or abroad, especially at these prices! Seems unfair to single out just a few staff to name, but here go's: Liz the chef, your Scrambled Egg and your Mushrooms are as good as any I've tasted in any hotel anywhere. Dining room staff Anne Marie, Jan and Linda deserve a mention as representative of the warm and friendly but efficient and professional staff in general. I hope this is typical of the rest of the Mercure chain.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to discuss, as there is a great variety of locations due to the nature of the extens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49johnandmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 49johnandmaureen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor since you stayed in the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback, even more so when the team are mentioned.

We are constantly investing in our property which I am sure you will notice if you return, however more importantly we will continue to invest in our team. I will ensure that Liz, Anne-Marie, Jan and Linda are all made aware of your comments regarding the great service they continue to deliver for us and our guests.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,

Kind Regards




Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    242
    151
    76
    40
See reviews for
130
223
23
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for a work conference based at the hotel so the location didn't matter to me but it is a good taxi ride from Hull, there are a couple of villages close by with shops and there is a petrol station, fast food outlet and grill bar restaurant walkable.
The setting is really nice with the hotel based around a lovely lawn, there is a small gym and good sized pool and everywhere is really clean. The wifi is free and has good connection anywhere in the hotel. The rooms used for the conference were good although the air con was a little over powerful at times.
Whilst the reception and small bar are modern the corridors in the hotel smell musty and look old and in need of a makeover. Similarly the chairs in the room looked tired as did the pink bathroom suite.
The staff were very helpful and knowledgable about the local area, nothing was too much trouble. The price is good value for 2 sharing but a little pricey for sole occupancy especially considering the location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear jivedriver,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park on Trip Advisor. All reviews are gratefully received and used constructively.

We are about to embark on decorating our bedrooms, and thank you for your comments about the cleanliness and service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,

Kind Regards


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Staff friendly and helpful...but only a few of us on the Sunday night / Monday morning...thus pool was cold and the hot breakfast was not buffet but served to table....perhaps we are getting fussy in our old age and falling in to trap of moaning for sake of it....??
Third time we have stayed at a Mercure and apart from pool / breakfast would recommend them...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank stevedurham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear stevedurham2,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel following on from your recent stay.

Receiving feedback of any nature is always treated as advantageous, and will get reviewed in our daily meetings. I will discuss your feedback with Nick who looks after our Leisure Club regarding the pool temperature.

In regards to breakfast we offer buffet service for cold items and continental items every day, however with our Hot offering we rarely do a hot buffet on a Monday morning due the shortage of guests. By not doing a Hot buffet for a small number of guests we are able to maintain our quality.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon,

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

stayed one night for a wedding. check in was quick and simple staff very friendly. Was in a standard room which was more than big enough the bed was huge. Didn't have any meals at hotel so cant comment on food. Free WiFi was fast and worked fine. The grounds are very nice and well kept.only grumble for me is I like a mini fridge to keep a bottle of water chilled for when I wake up.Tea and coffee was also provided in the room.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attyCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear atty Cottingham.

Thank you for reviewing the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all feedback on our hotel as beneficial to our business.

We are constantly reviewing our bedroom standards and I thank you for your constructive comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Peter Nye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We don't travel allot, so when we do we try to get a nice hotel as its all part of the travelling experience. We chose this hotel only because it was the closest to the wedding venue not, for its reviews or its star rating. However to say I was presently surprised was an understatement. OK we did have room 101 (bridal suite) which I recommend even if you are not getting married.

Good points;
Hotel was clean and well laid out.
The staff where polite, informative, and well presented.
The room was clean, up to date, and very large.
The breakfast was excellent. well cooked and a very good selection of both hot and cold food.

Bad points.
The shower. not only did it take about 5 minutes to get hot but you actually have to turn the control knob the wrong way (toward cold) to get any hot water.

Picky points:
Be prepared to carry your own bags. Not once did we get asked if we needed help with our luggage. (is this a 5 star thing?) The answer would have been no as we are both capable of carrying our bags, but that is not the point.

I will stay there again as the whole experience was very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can get room 101. you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear David G,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel on Trip Advisor. All feedback is always treated as beneficial to our business.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. We stayed in a room overlooking a roof and air conditioning units which wasn't very pretty but not too much of a problem. The room itself was very dated and generally shabby with one wall socket and cracked tiles in the bathroom. For the price of the room I was quite suprised. As we are looking for a venue for our wedding, this has put me off this hotel as I wouldnt want our guests to pay for rooms like this. The Hotel itself needs alot of tlc and it would help if they removed the signs with the health clubs former name to avoid confusion! The night we stayed, there was also two fire alarms that went off in the early hours. I know this cant be helped usually but an apology when you check out wouldnt go amiss!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear TeamDG,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel on Trip Advisor. All feedback is always taken constructively and will be used to continue to improve our product.

We are a new management team, and within the last three months we have decorated the bar, restaurant, reception and health club. As of the end of this month we will start to decorate all bedrooms, with then aim to complete 60 by the end of the year.

I agree with the signage issues we have, fortunately we do have new signage on order which I am sure will make a great deal of difference.

If I can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly, and we hope, despite your feedback you will consider returning to the hotel.

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I found the hotel was to a very high standard as were the staff. it was very well located, Hull was easy to reach and they were opportunites for walks in the area. The room was clean and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeB115H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear MikeB115H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, and acts a great motivator for our team.

I have of course passed on your feedback to the team, who were equally delighted with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming back to the Mercure Hull Grange Park,


Kind Regards



Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,130 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,034 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing