We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend and wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend and wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

With living local to this venue staying there is not usually an option, but as we were partaking in a wedding for the weekend why not push the boat out. We stayed two nights in this place in a suite, it was very large and spacious with a separate bedroom and very tidy. The beds and pillows were very comfy and like most reviews I like to focus on a good nights sleep I feel this is important to all.
As the economy is recovering I would like to think that Mercure will invest in this venue as certain aspect of it are getting tired and could do with a re vamp especially as the kudos of this venue used to be THE PLACE TO BE SEEN AT. I think it can regain this status with investment in new carpets and the loss of dark wood doors etc through out.
As a wedding venue they do it brilliant. The day went like a dream for the bride and groom and I would like to think all the guests. Well done to the Mercure and your staff who where brilliant, a credit to your company,

Top tip going to a wedding there stay over room only and as part of the bridal group enjoy a breakfast courtesy of the hotel.

Thanks again for a great week end

Room Tip: Over looking the garden is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravellerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear uktravellerYorkshire,

Thank you for the time to write such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay, we are glad you had such a great time.

We are constantly investing in our hotel, and are looking forward to the redecoration of over 50 bedrooms in August.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team, as they will be equally delighted with your feedback.

Once again many thanks, and we hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    224
    138
    69
    39
See reviews for
121
208
23
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The bedroom is fine, and good quality (bed was very comfortable). There are very few electrical sockets which meant that the TV had to be disconnected to get two items plugged in. The shower was hard to operate, and was only warm in the afternoon. There is staining on the tiles above the shower - which I assume is from a previous leak / water damage.

Fire alarm went off at 01:00 and the hotel had to be evacuated. I know safety is utmost important, but it went off again at 04:00. From other customers, heard that the alarm went off earlier in the afternoon, and this should of been sorted out.

The breakfast, I went down, and poured out some cereal, and found a spider crawling in it, whilst I was pouring milk...and drowning it. The rest of the breakfast is fine, with bread/ toast / croissants /cereal / melon. The cooked breakfast had fried / scrambled eggs, along with the usual items.

The staff were nice, but never got a response about the breakfast, and some useful tips we discovered whilst evacuating the hotel at night. (for example - working lights outside on the steps.)

I know the problems I had to endure is "not normal" - but had to be said. I would assume that the hotel would be good as a 4 (good 3 star) hotel if it was a normal night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfield999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear mfield999,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a balanced review following your recent stay at the Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel.

Thank you for taking the approach that what you endured was certainly not normal, however it is unacceptable that you never had a response regarding breakfast. I will bring this up with my operational team today.

Once again many thanks for your review, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Hull Grange Park again soon.

Yours,


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willerby hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay which was for the Tour De France Grand Depart Yorkshire. Nice room, good food, friendly staff. My only criticism which may seem petty was the toast at breakfast. The rotary machine took an age and required three passes before the bread was adequately tanned. By this time the breakfast plate was cold. The control knob appeared to have been removed. However I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Militaryprovost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Militaryprovost,

Thank you for reviewing the Mercure Hull Grange Park on Trip Advisor, all reviews are regularly discussed in our Management meetings in order to improve our service and facilities.

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and staff, and we have taking adequate measures regarding your criticisms of breakfast.

Once again many thanks.


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Food is lovely ,staff are really friendly and polite. Made us feel really welcome. Only gripe is the room carpets are a little soiled wall in room had damp.all though the rest of the room was clean. Would stay again if price was right .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear ltb1971,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, especially when the staff are mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon,

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having stayed at the hotel previously we had hoped that it would have been a little better than it is. We were put into the furthest room from the hotel reception which was to help us avoid noise from the Saturday night Wedding party.
Our stay was badly marred by the fact that when I connected to the hotel WIfi my i-pad was "invaded" by some outside agency and this caused me to lose all of my e-mails and connectivity in the i-pad, my home PC and my laptop. During this time the outside agency sent approximately 270 e-mails purporting to come from me and which caused mayhem to the recipients.This has only now been restored after seven days. Credit must be given to both Sally on Reception and to Paul who both gave excellent service and attention.

Room Tip: There were no electric socket outlets that could be used other than by removing the TV and/or the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Mary Rose B,

Thank you for taking the time to review to the Mercure Hull Grange Park following your stay with us.

I am most concerned regarding the incident with your iPad, I would be grateful if you can contact me at your earliest convenience regarding this matter, as this seems very strange and something that I have never witnessed before. We offer free high speed and high security internet, via a highly reputable company. I am unsure how anybody would be able to directly access your iPad and laptop via this method, however I am more than happy to discuss this in person. Across all of our Hotels this has never been seen before.

I do hope that you contact me regarding the matter on 08448159037 or gm.mercurehull@jupiterhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards


Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Eight of us stayed Fri and Sat for a wedding in Beverley, 5 miles up the road. Never felt the need to write a review on the many U K and foreign hotels we have visited over the years, so this is a first. Why? Because my wife and I were so impressed at the excellent value for money we got.
Their website description is fair; a very pleasant setting, good facilities, etc. Re. comments about "in need of a makeover" are not too critical. Unless a hotel has just had a refurb. there is often some aspect of the rooms etc. that looks tired or shabby in most hotels outside the luxury band, so I feel one shouldn't be too harsh. Agree most heartily with other reviews about the staff; they were all excellent. The buffet breakfast on both days were amongst the best we have had anywhere, here or abroad, especially at these prices! Seems unfair to single out just a few staff to name, but here go's: Liz the chef, your Scrambled Egg and your Mushrooms are as good as any I've tasted in any hotel anywhere. Dining room staff Anne Marie, Jan and Linda deserve a mention as representative of the warm and friendly but efficient and professional staff in general. I hope this is typical of the rest of the Mercure chain.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to discuss, as there is a great variety of locations due to the nature of the extens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49johnandmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 49johnandmaureen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor since you stayed in the Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback, even more so when the team are mentioned.

We are constantly investing in our property which I am sure you will notice if you return, however more importantly we will continue to invest in our team. I will ensure that Liz, Anne-Marie, Jan and Linda are all made aware of your comments regarding the great service they continue to deliver for us and our guests.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,

Kind Regards




Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here for a work conference based at the hotel so the location didn't matter to me but it is a good taxi ride from Hull, there are a couple of villages close by with shops and there is a petrol station, fast food outlet and grill bar restaurant walkable.
The setting is really nice with the hotel based around a lovely lawn, there is a small gym and good sized pool and everywhere is really clean. The wifi is free and has good connection anywhere in the hotel. The rooms used for the conference were good although the air con was a little over powerful at times.
Whilst the reception and small bar are modern the corridors in the hotel smell musty and look old and in need of a makeover. Similarly the chairs in the room looked tired as did the pink bathroom suite.
The staff were very helpful and knowledgable about the local area, nothing was too much trouble. The price is good value for 2 sharing but a little pricey for sole occupancy especially considering the location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear jivedriver,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Hull Grange Park on Trip Advisor. All reviews are gratefully received and used constructively.

We are about to embark on decorating our bedrooms, and thank you for your comments about the cleanliness and service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon,

Kind Regards


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willerby
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Willerby Manor Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#7 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
Address: Grange Park Lane, Willerby HU10 6EA, England (Formerly Mercure Hull West Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Willerby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Willerby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find a peaceful sanctuary at 4* Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel, a 19th century manor house nestled in 12 acres of landscaped gardens. The red-brick Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel is flanked by rolling lawns and tucked away in chocolate-box East Yorkshire countryside. Stained-glass stairwells and manicured grounds date back to the halcyon days of this 19th Century manor house, nestled in picturesque Willerby just five miles outside of Hull, the city of culture for 2017. Humberside Airport is just 20 minutes away. Invite your delegates to the largest events hotel in East Yorkshire - we can host up to 550 people at a conference. Or make this your mini-break base for Beverley Races or The Deep aquarium - both just five miles away. Kick back and relax in our onsite Feel Good Health Club equipped with an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room, whirl pool and gym. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms look out over the landscaped gardens or the courtyard. Keep an eye on the kids in our interconnecting rooms. In privilege and superior rooms you can enjoy complimentary unlimited movies, a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in all of our 10 naturally lit meeting rooms, the bar and our lounge. Our landscaped gardens make the perfect wedding snap backdrop. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Hull
Ramada Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing