We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Soup!”
Review of The Rock Inn

The Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Waterrow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Country pub. All our food is homemade using local produce where ever possible. We have a childrens menu and welcome dogs in the bar area on a lead. Some of our rooms are dog friendly as well. Lunch and dinner reservations are recomended although not always necessary.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fish Soup!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Last week I visited The Rock Inn and had, as usual, a tremendous meal. However, I made the huge mistake of not having the fish soup. Other members of my party took great delight in teasing me with their fabulous soup. So annoyed was I that I had to nip in this week for my fix of fish soup. Twas marvellous! Thank you Ruth and Daren.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RestaurantReviewer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    27
    18
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a great lunch at the Rock Inn, the food was amazing and the service outstanding. We will definitely visit again when we are in the area. Highly recommended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witheridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Would recommend anyone to go here. By far the best meal that we have ever had out. Also very good value. Have not found anywhere else that serves food to this standard. Child friendly, service was brilliant as well. Can not fault this pub in anyway at all. We have now had Sunday lunch here, and dinner during the week and at a weekend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mouseberry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Visited weekday lunchtime - not too busy.
Fish and chips excellent as was the crab the better half had.
Ate outside as weather wonderful and watched the world go by - adjacent to fairly busy road.
Tawny ale OK but not the best I have ever had. Landlady pleasant and helpful.
Up market pub - would visit again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rock On Again!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ba ck for lunch this time. After dinner in March, as I wrote my review I saw many mentions of the Cornish Fish Soup, with spiced mayonnaise, with opinions so full of praise that I decided I had to see if it was worth all the fuss.

It was! A beautifully cooked, flavoursome, soup with chunks of firm fish in it, accompanied by three individual bowls of croutons, gruyere cheese, and spiced mayonnaise, which does work very well, plus local bread. Enough is as good as a feast, and this made for the perfect lunch, when washed down with a pint of Doom Bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_K56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

Wiveliscombe, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 
Wiveliscombe, Somerset
Bampton, Devon
 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing