We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful spot”
Review of Handley Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Handley Farm
Reviewed 24 October 2013

As well as being in a Beautiful location well away from traffic, we found the Nuthatch room was spacious and full of so many little thoughtful extras to make you feel welcome.
The greeting at the start of our 3 night break in September from our host was warm and genuine and his breakfasts even better in a wonderful Farmhouse so full of character.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts. We try to cater for everyone's needs. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. We can sleep upto 18 people at Handley Farm and are getting more big birthday bookings and family reunions. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Handley Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at Handley Farm whilst attending a local cheese making course. Our expectations from looking at the website were met (and exceeded). We stayed in the Nuthatch Suite which was very spacious, furnished and decorated to a very high standard with good quality furniture, linen and bed. Catherine welcomed us with freshly made coffee and a bowl of fruit, apple juice and homemade fudge had been left in the room for us. We had dinner at the farm which equated to a private dining experience. Catherine is an exceptional and talented cook; dinner was prepared with good quality ingredients and served in the delightful dining room. Breakfast provided a very good choice of cereals, homemade bread and croissants with homemade jams and marmalade; the full English breakfast was cooked to order.
Thank you Dan, Catherine and delightful Savannah for a lovely stay; your care and attention to your guests is unrivalled; we will be back to explore the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

The Cheese course is very popular at the nearby farm and we are so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us. We have traveled extensively ourselves and we like to provide things that we know that we have enjoyed in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Situated some distance off a quiet country road this is a beautiful location. The accommodation, we stayed in, Nuthatch, on a B&B basis, was excellent, nothing had been forgotten. Comfortable furniture and a west facing deck (shared with the people in Swallow, not a problem for us because our friends had booked that) made for a beautiful location.
We had requested an evening meal on the day of our arrival but nothing could have prepared us for the feast we were presented with. The cooking is perfect and the service exemplary. Daniel & Katherine did a wonderful job. The next morning we were treated to a breakfast, again cooked to perfection with locally sourced products.
There are lots of places to explore nearby, so many that we will have to return, can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homersignalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

With kids aged 14 and 17 family holidays aren't so simple, so we decided to have a few days in the West Country. Thanks to Trip Advisor we came across Handley Farm and booked for a couple of days last week (5/6 August 2013). We're so pleased we did.

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the friendship, warmth and hospitality stood out. We stayed in one of the B&B self contained cottages. It was spacious, relaxing, comfortable and clean. Not only that but there was a bag of home made fudge waiting for us in the little fridge there and, within a couple of hours of arrival, Daniel had baked and brought us some biscuits.

The breakfasts were lovely: full English, but other options too, home made bread, locally sourced extras and really good coffee. Enjoyed our chats with Daniel and Savannah over breakfast too. The farm itself has much to keep you entertained. The games room is great fun (ping pong, pool, darts, skittles, etc) and there are a couple of small lakes in which to fish - Daniel supplied the rods for us.

We are a well travelled family - and I have written books about UK tourism & customer service - and this is, without doubt, one of the most genuinely lovely places we have ever stayed. I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone contemplating a few days in the West Country. Our only regret was the fact we were only there for a couple of days. Would have loved to have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omelettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for such a glowing review. We try to cater for everyones needs, you were such a lovely family to host. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing us again in the future. Our 2014 prices are on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Dan and Katherine ( &Savannah) made us so welcome. This by far the best B&b we have stayed at during our holiday in the UK. Great location, so peaceful and quiet, just what we needed for a couple of days to regroup and continue touring . The meals were superb , nothing was too much trouble , We stayed in Woodpecker unit and had a really nice time ... Quiet and undisturbed. Loved it ... If we get back to the UK will definitely be staying there again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maidmeirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We are really pleased that your stay with us was great and you enjoyed the entertainment. We do hope come back to see us again in the future, please don't forget to tell your friends if they are coming over about us. Our 2014 prices are online already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Could not recommend this place more! We stayed here with a butch of friends for a wedding down the road. Beautiful location. All the rooms were large, clean and comfy. The shower is super powerful and refreshing. We had a freshly baked loaf on windowsill every morning - sooo tasty! Highly recommend the hot tub and a ride of the tricycle! Service was top notch! Daniel was the best host you could ask for. Great place for friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomcolefilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review, we are updating each property to get them up to a better standard every year. We really enjoyed your company and really pleased you had a great stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned from a great stay at Handley Farm after 8 of us booked the self catered, Handley cottage and 2 of their BB rooms as we had a wedding to attend near by - have to say, extremely impressed, the owners were just so friendly, the location was beautiful, the hot tub was ace, the breakfasts were delicious, it was about as close to perfect as it could be! Now, don't expect 5 star accommodation (although they said that they were upgrading the properties to that standard in the coming months), the decor is a little on the tired side (at least in the cottage we stayed in) but if you want clean, warm, happy, welcoming and honestly great service (Dan bought us his freshly home baked bread every morning) then you can't get any better than this splendid find - just go book it, you won't regret a moment.

Room Tip: If with a large group, book the barn with the hot tub!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review, you were such a great group of people to host, we really do hope you come back and book with us next time you are in Somerset. Don't forget, we can sleep upto 18 people at Handley Farm, so a great location for a get together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Handley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handley Farm

Address: Handley Farm B3227, Waterrow TA4 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Waterrow
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handley Farm offers a top quality self-catering cottage and bed and breakfast accommodation. Set in a stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Set in 40 acres of beautiful farmland, woods and ponds, with wonderful walks, beautiful sunsets and endless views. We also have an abundance of natural wildlife to observe. On the farm we have horses, sheep, chickens, ducks and goats. A stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Guests have free use of our course fishing pond please bring your own rods. We have many friendly farm animals that are happy to be made a fuss of. Set in a pretty south-facing courtyard, all our accommodation is equipped and furnished to an exceptionally high standard, which is matched by our hospitality and commitment to customer service. Enjoy a truly memorable holiday - treat yourself to a stay at Handley Farm and you may become one of our many visitors who come back again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Handley Farm Waterrow, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing