We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to wind down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Handley Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Handley Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to wind down.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in Handley Cottage for seven nights and had a wonderful time. The cottage is clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom upstairs and a strong shower on the ground floor.
The kitchen has everything you could need, with a table for four people to enjoy meals. If the weather had been nicer, we would have had breakfast on the bijou front patio's stylish benches and table.
Dan and Katherine are welcoming and thoughtful hosts. They provided a basket of fruit and delicious handmade chocolate as we arrived! Later, Dan popped in with a freshly baked loaf of bread and an another day we arrived back to some of Katherine's delicious banana loaf.

Children can play freely on the swing set and trampoline, and there's a fishing lake in the woods. We didn't go fishing, but I ran laps around the lake most days, which was wonderful. There's also a handy games room for rainy days or evenings.

We would definitely return and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all for a bit. I could feel the stresses of London life falling away as soon as we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hanson_family25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
What a great review! Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future with some more tasty treats..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

First stayed here about a year and a half ago and were impressed by the accommodation and friendliness. Still as good and will return whenever we're in the area or even just as a treat. Also child friendly. A gem! Marc.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It was great to welcome you back again for your short break. We really enjoy catching up on the news from our Previous visitors. We have our Prices online now for 2015 and we have held our 2014 prices. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in Handley Cottage for a family holiday having searched a number of properties and we were very please we decided to book! We would thoroughly recommend, lovely welcome from Daniel on arrival and he and his wife Catherine make lovely hosts. Our children had great fun playing on the trampoline and climbing frame and also meeting Savannah and the very smiley Jasper! The property is well equipped and the location is simply stunning, lovely and quiet at night with no light pollution. Will definitely look to stay at Handley Cottage again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the comfort of Handley Cottage as your base for the week. We are always trying to add new elements to the Cottages and outdoor play area. We look forward to welcoming you back. We have held our 2014 prices for 2015 and you can book online at our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As we were attending a wedding nearby ( Huntsham Court ) we only required an overnight stay. Daniel and Katherine could not have been more helpful. Their friendly, professional attitude was very much in evidence. The room we stayed in ( Woodpecker ) was immaculate being well furnished and having nice touches such as dressing gowns, caffatier and plenty of lotions and shampoo in the bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in and the shower was both powerful and easy to control. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options and my full English was cooked to perfection by Katherine. I have no reservations in recommending this place to anyone of thinking of exploring this area of the country.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for review. We really enjoyed your company. We can cater for up to 18 people and regularly hold family get togethers. We do hope you come back to Handley Farm in the future for a longer break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Honeymoon. Cottage lovely, facilities great and breakfast fantastic. All this topped off with some wonderfully warm and genuine hosts who made our stay a little more special. Many thanks to Daniel. Would stay again and recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you chose to stay with us. We remember our first place we stayed as a newly married couple with much affection. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If you have friends that want to hold Stag or Hen parties here, we would welcome them with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We called in by chance to this B & B whilst travelling around the United Kingdom, we booked initially for 2 days and stayed 5 days, and used this as our base whilst visiting, Cornwall, Devon and Somerset, which were about 1 hour away each. The owner, Daniel, kindly offered us various options of accomodation and was very hospitable. The Beds are commercial quality and very comfortable (unlike some other farm stays), the linen was 50/50 cotton, the towels were luxurious and the whole place was absolutely beautiful. We had a deck looking out to the farm yards which was beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful, and the breakfast was absolutely delightful, which included home made freshly cooked bread - I would absolutely recommend this B & B. Also very good Wifi! A great place for families, singles, or children.

Room Tip: Everything was perfect - they even have a games room. Every room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I do hope your travelling is going well and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the excellent Handley Farm at the end of June, this was our third stay with Daniel and Katharine and once again it was first class. We opted for the bed and breakfast option by staying in the Nuthatch Suite which was very comfortable and offered all the facilities we needed. Breakfast was an occassion with both Daniel and Katharine offering a great breakfast and friendly service with nothing too much trouble. This is a farm where we love to return for either short breaks or longer as the area has so much to offer and this accomodation offers an excellent base, we will almost certainly return next year to enjoy the Handley Farm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handley F, Owner at Handley Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Handley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handley Farm

Property: Handley Farm
Address: Handley Farm B3227, Waterrow TA4 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Waterrow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Waterrow
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handley Farm offers a top quality self-catering cottage and bed and breakfast accommodation. Set in a stunningly beautiful rural location you are ideally placed to enjoy the natural delights of Exmoor, the rugged North Devon coastline and the countryside of Devon and Somerset. Set in a pretty south-facing courtyard, all our accommodation is equipped and furnished to an exceptionally high standard, which is matched by our hospitality and commitment to customer service. Enjoy a truly memorable holiday - treat yourself to a stay at Handley Farm and you may become one of our many visitors who come back again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Handley Farm Waterrow, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing