We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miclosoara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses
Ranked #1 of 1 Miclosoara B&B and Inns
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food very disappointing”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Zalanpatak property and found the food extremely disappointing in terms of taste and ingredients. A typical dinner consisted of noodle soup from a packet, boiled chicken (lots of bones) with potatoes and a cheese and polenta mash followed by a bought in bun for dessert. The meal was tasteless and close to indelible.Wine and water were provided.

We really expected more from the price charged and when Prince Charles lends his name to the property.

The accommodation was very comfortable and the location is exceptional.

We complained in writing to the management of the property and received a very non-committal reply. All the people who we were with at the time felt the same about the food.t

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OysterJaveaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkalnoky, Owner at Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We did receive a complaint from our guests from the US about ‘tasteless and indelible’ food. The noodles were home made in the kitchen as always, the chicken stew did have bones as it usually has, and the desert was what we call ‘elephant’s tears’ and had been freshly prepared by the staff.
Our guesthouses are run by local people. The cooking is done by them, who are housewives on their own little farms, not professional cooks. I must admit we do refrain from following the trend of local restaurants to add condiments and enhancers to better suit the taste of guests from overseas.
The other guests who had stayed at the house on these two days, who came from Britain, Bucharest and South Africa, did not complain. I am sorry if this had a negative effect on the stay at our remote guesthouses and I do herewith apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    19
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
58
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

its goes without saying, the streets (as they might be called) are in shocking state. However, when you take your time and "crawl" along to Miclosoara, you land up at a place, which is a great place to relax and where you see the bright stars again. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are just amazing. The dinner is served in the cellar and when you think you have seen it all, come downstairs and enjoy it. I have read some of the reviews on this page, and I hope that nobody ever becomes the idea to install TV's there. But if you think, that Miclosoara is a great place, see my review about Zalanpatak.

Room Tip: I prefer the second guest house, but there if you are a horse back rider you will enjoy the manor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRS-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is an absolutely must for any visit to Transylvania. The properties are owned in part by His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, and the delightful count -- the Prince's cousin -- greets guests and shares homemade brandy. The food in the cellar was delicious, and the breakfast was out of this world. We can't say enough good things about the service.

The guesthouse consists of a few cottages in beautifully restored old buildings, yet everything feels like a five-star hotels: comfortable bedding, locking safe, perfect service. There's no shortage of luxury (or wine, which flowed all night as part of the price). Expect a bit of century-old quirks, like creaking shutters on the windows, and you'll be as happy as can be at Count Kalnoky's guesthouses. All of the guesthouses are in very small towns, so you'll have to stay around the property at night for food and drinks as there's nothing close by. A car is necessary, too.

And for the price: astounding. The kind of hotel that would cost four times as much in any other country. Top-of-the-line for Romania, but a bargain by any standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewG475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was an amazing experience being able to visit Transylvania and spend time at Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses. The accommodations were wonderful, the food fantastic, and our host and guides were beyond expectations. They made it a trip to remember and one I would like to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed here many times and spent a great week up there during January this year. The standards are as good as ever and they do something amazing for Romania: lay on daily activities for up to two weeks. It's definitely the best place to stay in Translyvania and probably all of Romania.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Before I start it is important to be clear that this is a lovely place to experience probably as authentic an historical rural experience as you are likely to find in this part of the world. My intention in this review isn't to praise or criticise because I expect the experience that someone booking here will have, will be based very much on their expectations and awareness of what they are going to experience. This is not an American style 'authentic' hotel, this is staffed by the people who live here and work here and you aren't going to be able to dip in and out of this. In other words you aren't going to find a 50" widescreen TV or power shower in your room as you are paying to be an observer and participant in stepping back in time.
That being said, the rooms were very comfortable and beautifully presented in a traditional style. There are en suite bathrooms and ours were very well appointed and clean, although one of our party (Room 3 I think) had a completely different style of bathroom which had damp and mould present and the furnishings were nowhere near as high quality as in the other rooms we had (it seemed to be awaiting refurbishment to match the other rooms). I experienced no issues with the water temperature and we visited in February when the weather was a bit dank.
I didn't enjoy the food, in fact none of my party did. I don't think we were being unrealistic in our expectations as 2 of our party have lived in Transylvania for many years and we have visited before and have eaten all types of traditional food at varying levels in different parts of the country. The wine was fine and available but the food just wasn't that nice. Again, I think it's important to state that we weren't expecting western styles or flavours at all, but the evening meal was....ok but not worth the price charged for it (in my opinion) especially compared with the price, flavours and quality of other meals I've had in even very rural places.
The breakfast was a bit of a mish-mash I felt with western style yogurt and museli but also more traditional offerings including rose hip jam (very nice). However, some of the breakfast was very scarce (the 'scrambled' eggs was offered in very paltry portions to be honest, even with a second plate brought out to feed the 11 of us at the table we only got a forkful each). The 'apple juice' was pretty much undrinkable as it tasted so watered down it was neither juice nor water and everyone at the table commented on it being unpleasant.
The meals were served in the basement of the main area of the 'complex' but the rooms we were in are in the village itself and were a 10 minute walk away along what were very muddy paths. Again, this is not a criticism and is perfectly normal but worth noting if you expect to dress for dinner!
The staff who served us were polite and efficient but didn't engage with us very much although we had a young lady who greeted us on our arrival and welcomed us with some Caraway seed brandy and the history and the traditional ways involved in the development of the place. She was very nice and spoke very good English.
We didn't get to meet the count and I think that this is usual unless you book a horse riding experience or something similar. It is also worth noting that where you stay and eat, is NOT the castle which is nearby but not part of the accommodation area. So what you see on the website is not where you stay or eat.
To get to the estate your drive will be through some varied villages etc. some of which are not picturesque at all and are quite industrial and run down. However the village where the accommodation is situated is fine and has a basement bar near to the church if you fancy a walk and a few drinks at a very reasonable price after your dinner.
To summarise, I'm very glad I came here and it is pretty, calm and historical. I wouldn't have wanted to spend more than a night or two but that is simply down to our personal taste and not a criticism. I would urge anyone to know what they are coming to, to make sure that they get the most enjoyment and not to expect some staged or false experience because this is not going to be that. It goes without saying that this those in wheelchairs or with mobility issues are not well served here.

Room Tip: Please see above reference one of the rooms having a bathroom or far lower quality and cleanliness t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed over Christmas and had a truly magical time. The staff who looked after us, the accommodation (we stayed in the little blue house), the meals and facilities were all excellent. On Christmas Day, children from the village entertained us to bell ringing and carol singing after breakfast. Then we took horses and carts into the forest for a BBQ. Later in the evening before a great dinner, a small orchestra performed for us. A very different and special Christmas Day. The visits and trips out to other areas of this fascinating region were also very good. I would love to return in the spring time.

Room Tip: Little blue house is lovely and quite close to the main lodge for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieLaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miclosoara
24.2 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
612 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#1 of 4 in Baile Tusnad
37 reviews
18.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Balvanyos (Balvanyos Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Daniel
Castle Hotel Daniel
#1 of 1 in Talisoara
75 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pensiunea Lucia
Pensiunea Lucia
#1 of 13 in Sfantu Gheorghe
4 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pensiunea Soarelui
Pensiunea Soarelui
#3 of 12 in Fundata
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses

Property: Count Kalnoky's Guesthouses
Address: Str. Principala 186 | Miklósvár, Miclosoara 525104, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Covasna County > Miclosoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Miclosoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel to a place that time forgot. Count Kalnoky's family has returned to Transylvania after 50 years of exile. They set about finding ways to save their heritage and restore the Estate to its former character. Through the development of a unique tourism venture, the Kalnoky's are turning their vision into reality. Our guesthouses in the Transylvanian village of Miklosvar / Miclosoara date back to the 1800’s and before. The buildings have been carefully restored in order to preserve their original charm and character. The guesthouses are situated within spacious gardens, some with storks nesting on nearby rooftops. They have been beautifully furnished with antiques in the Transylvanian Szekler and Saxon styles. To ensure that our guests have a warm and comfortable stay also in winter, we have enhanced the original wood stoves by a hidden central heating system. The village has little infrastructure, therefore we cannot (and do not wish to) claim technical perfection. Some streets remain unpaved and pot-holed, so can become dusty in the sun and muddy after the rain. There can be no denying the rustic charm and original character, which offers an opportunity to step back in time, as if you were in a 19th century novel and had come to visit friends in Transylvania's countryside.  ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Count Kalnoky`s Guesthouses Hotel Miclosoara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing