We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Like Robinson Crusoe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Machangulo Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This must be the ultimate get away from it all destination.
Palm trees, deserted white sandy beaches and clear water.
Unfortunately we only had a quick taste but it was amazing.
Greg and Racquel are friendly and relaxed, take pride in Lodge and seem to really care for their guests.

Room Tip: If you have 8 Friends the 4 Beach Villas are amazing with their own self contained pool and entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereswally_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location and infrastructure of the Machangulo lodge are simply amazing. A true tropical beach experience in beautiful nature with long unspoiled beaches and dunes. Certainly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever stayed. The rooms and beds are very comfortable, with sunrise over the ocean shining straight in to your bed. Staff was helpful and friendly.

The only downside for us was the full board food. Breakfast was good but not great (fresh fruit and a choice of hot breakfast), lunch is a fixed 1 course hot meal, dinner was a fixed menu of soup, main and desert. For a luxury lodge on the beach in Mozambique, we expected more fresh seafood though, more choice and a higher level of execution from the kitchen.

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Machangulo beach lodge. It is ideal if you are looking to relax in nature in full luxury. But if you are a foodie, the full board formula is not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDMG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have travelled quite a bit but nothing has matched Machangulo - it is incredible. Location, staff, food and activities were great and well priced. Big thanks to Greg and Raquel who couldn't have been better - nothing was a problem to them. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are going with 2 families / 8 people, book the Beach Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneB822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've been to a number of places in Mozambique but Machangulo is definitely one of the best! The combination of the calm bay and the wild Indian Ocean with the beautiful dunes is truest spectacular. Machangulo Beach Lodge was perfect and the staff were amazing! I would go back every year if I could. The snorkeling in the marine reserve was one of the best snorkeling I have done.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AllyLogan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spectacular lodge in a spectacular location. Is the perfect place you would like to find for your holidays, surrounded by gorgeous nature and sandy beaches. If you are a group of eight people, recommended the Beach Villa, so close to the sea... Wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Beautiful place. Snorkel trips to inhaca island for the day cannot be compared to any other beach experience. Food was wonderful. Walking to Santa Maria for amazing seafood lunch was a really fun day. Boys loved deep sea fishing. Large lounge area for playing board games if weather not greqt. Ivan, the activities coordinator, was fantastic with the kids. Hotel needs more staff training and hands on management. Think this would take Machangulo from a memorable holiday to a truly incomparable experience,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristiaanNolte, Owner at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Ola Michelle,

Many thanks for our review, we are very appreciative and we are glad that you enjoyed the Inhaca Island trips. . . .

Thanks again!
Christiaan Nolte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Thank you Rachel and Benji u guys were wonderfull, the family villa is a well equipped self-catering unit private clean and cozy , althoug the place is child friendly, its not child proof
if you planning to drive there you need a good 4 x 4 road is very bumpy and of course a GPS no signage on the road so its quite an adventure took us 4 hours to Santa Maria from the entrance of reserve the return trip was done in 2 hours.
In my opinion the following should be looked at :
Service in the dinning area is poor, a waiter should be in the area to assist guests specially at meal times. Lunch was a complete let down chicken served was tasteless,
The wine list only two types of red wine available,
Safety precauton needs to be revised on the decks, steep walkways

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneAmbasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristiaanNolte, Owner at Machangulo Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Dear Irene,

Thank you for your kind review, you'll be happy to hear that we have made great improvements to our kitchen, service and wine options. We hope to see you again to soon!

Thank you,
Christiaan Nolte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machangulo
23.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
23.6 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
567 reviews
24.9 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
594 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Machangulo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Machangulo Beach Lodge

Address: Machangulo Peninsula | Santa Maria/Inhaca Region, Machangulo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Machangulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Machangulo
Price Range: £425 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Machangulo Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Machangulo Beach Lodge, in the South of Mozambique offers blissful barefoot luxury. Untouched African beaches, untamed nature and luxurious service come together to create extraordinary holiday experiences. Situated in a truly unique location on a beautiful secluded peninsula it is the easiest accessible lodge in Mozambique with a plethora of activities for the whole family. Featuring 17 luxurious rooms, a fully equipped activity centre and plenty of amazing spots to enjoy the unique views of the Indian Ocean and Inhaca Island. Awesome Private Villas right on the beach and surrounded by 5 marine and nature reserves, this is a unique AFRICAN beach paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Machangulo Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing