We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time at Tweedsmuir”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at Tweedsmuir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here in early September for 4 nights. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The staff, the guides, the food, our cabin, were all the best. Let me see, did I leave anything out? Oh yeah, the setting is really beautiful, surrounded by big granite mountains. Wonderful to wake up every morning in such a peaceful, gorgeous place. There is a lot to do here. We went heli-hiking which was by far the most beautiful hike we have ever done. It was a workout but definitely worth it! Also went on 2 bear floats and a day hiking with Doug. These were great too! We definitely will return and would heartily recommend Tweedsmuir Park Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in Coho cabin which was really nice. Closest cabin to the river meadow. Very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
102
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Every thing about this lodge was tremendous. The mountain setting was awe inspiring. Grizzly Bears on the grounds in each of three days. The cabins are comfortable, clean and cozy. The meals were very good and the staff warm and friendly. We met interesting guests from all over. I cant say enough about how thrilled we were with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge. The lodge is set in the most beautiful of surroundings, and the staff make the stay delightfully pleasant. The grizzly bears were the reason we went, and they did not disappoint. It was amazing to watch these beautiful, powerful creatures co-exist peacefully with people who live in and around the park. I would love to go again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamieCanada_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here in early September and the weather was great!. The cabin was cosy but plenty of room and a good bathroom too. The lodge itself is fantastic and the setting spectacular. But what makes this place is the staff. From the guides, Garret and Doug to the staff in the resaurant Char and the cook and also Oscar and Swede who collected us from and delivered us to the Lodge at very unsociable times. But especially Rebecca who makes this place a great place to be.

Unfortunately the salmon run was not good at this time so we did see many bears although we were lucky enough to see a mother and couple of cubs on the slow drift and also a male bear on the meadow below the lodge on our last day. It is for this reason only (as it is an expensive trip) that I have only marked it as very good rather than excellent.

Would love to come back and see the ponies!

Room Tip: I believe The Grizzly is the best cabin but this was unfortunately not available when we travelled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our 3-night sneak away to Tweedsmuir was completely lovely. From the bears to the trout fishing to the the perfectly cute little cabins decorated with Haida art to the excellent support staff, do not miss out on this amazing place. The only place to stay while in the Bella Coola area!

Room Tip: Cabins with kitchens are rough around the edges, but discounted. Kitchen cabins are popular, book ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESBourgeoises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

While sadly we did not get to see any bears on the property, we were treated to some spectacular sunrises and night skies. Our cabin - The Owl - perfectly meet our needs in every way. The guides and staff (Rebecca) were excellent with ideas, suggestions on how to make the most of our three days in the park. For those looking to stay in touch with family, the Lodge wi-fi works well. Perfect location for access to great hikes in the Park. The location of the hot tub is excellent for viewing the night skies, however there was an accumulation of sand in the bottom - which was surprising since guests are asked to shower before entering:-(

Room Tip: If you are cooking your own meals - the Owl Cabin offers a full fridge. We were estatic about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

After driving to Tweedsmuir from Williams Lake via "the hill", we were ready for three days of relaxing and (hopefully) grizzly bear sighting. Our party of three adults rented the "Owl" cabin which has a full kitchen, one bath, and bedding for 4. The beds were comfortable, and it was nice to prepare most of our own meals so that we could splurge on other things such as a float down the Atnarko. While the cabin was somewhat basic, the main lodge was wonderful with high beamed ceilings, a huge fireplace, comfortable leather sofas, library, pool table, computer room, etc. We had an immediate feeling of "come in, welcome home, be comfortable" -- no pretensions, no fluff, just honest-to-goodness friendliness and charm. Swede, Rebecca, and the staff felt like family right away. After three days (day one spent on a river float and visiting the town of Bella Coola; day two spent hiking; day three spent relaxing), we didn't think we'd see a bear, as we were a week or more ahead of the pink salmon run. But, a beautiful young sow showed up at dusk on our last day, just as we finished a gourmet dinner in the main lodge. How privileged we were to be welcomed into such a special place. Many thanks to the staff at Tweedsmuir for sharing their piece of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuie
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#29 of 261 in Vancouver Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Collwyn Waterfront Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge

Property: Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing