We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find an excuse to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tweedsmuir Park Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We arrived at midnight off the Bella Coola ferry to a very warm welcome from Rebecca who showed us straightaway to our cabin without bothering about the paperwork. She proved incredibly knowledgable about the area, local flora and fauna and gave us excellent suggestions on where we should go in our very limited time - the salmon hatchery was an unexpected highlight. Food exceptional, served by the very friendly and attentive Olivia. We loved it.

Room Tip: Two tips - if it's available ask for 'The Grizzly'. If not, ask for a cabin where the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

What a glorious place to stay. The views are unbelievable, the rooms are spacious and clean, and to top it off, you are so close to awesome bear sightings. Did I mention the food is excellent too? Don't hesitate about making this your destination. Wish I could go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We needed a break after intense work projects, and planned on lazing around a beach in Hawaii. A friend sent us a social-media deal for three days in July at Tweedsmuir Park Lodge near Bella Coola. We'd heard of the lodge - in relation to helicopter skiing combined with luxury accommodations - plus, the central British Columbia coast was on our bucket list.
It was quiet while we were there, before the busy Grizzly-viewing season, and we are not fishers, so we used the lodge as we'd use a Hawaii resort - to read, laze on the deck watching the mountains become moving tapestries with white clouds and blue skies, use the fitness room, and for a couple of forays into the area - once on an excellent guided hike and once alone on our bikes.
Rebecca provided us with a seemingly-endless parade of delicious foods from any breakfast item we asked for, to dinners ranging from Arctic Char to grass-fed BC beef. We had the lodge mostly to ourselves in the evenings, and watched a few movies on the big screen.
I expect the busy ski and Grizzly and fishing times are a different experience, but next time we need to chill out in July we'll head to Tweedsmuir rather than Hawail.
The only thing I'd change is, we'd fly in next time. We drove, and the Chilcotin was gorgeous, but once was enough.
(And although the Tweedsmuir lodge recommends it as a stop on the way for drivers, I do NOT recommend the Historic Chilcotin Lodge Country Inn at Riske Creek. The idea of a B&B on the way sounded lovely, but it was expensive and uneven quality - lovely accommodations one night, a cramped room with cramped single beds the next. A line up for the shared bathroom in the morning. The food was Walmart/Costco quality: artificially sweetened juice, plastic jam packs and dishwater tea and coffee - maybe OK for an adventure trip off the beaten road, but a big disappointment considering the prices were the same as at a serious foodie restaurant.)
Tweedsmuir itself had no such issues - everything was top quality, and for fair prices.

Room Tip: If you're afraid of wildlife, ask for a cabin close to the main lodge. There is always a chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had only a day..in September but Rebecca , Sweed and Les made it a day we would never forget.
The welcome by Rebecca was : warm, she made us a very tasty lunch after a long drive.
After lunch ,Les , our privat Grizzly Bear Guide, took us on the Atnarco River for a afternoon scrole on the River to see if we could find some Grizzly Bears and we did !.....7 in total on several spots!
If you travel to Bella Coola, stay at The TweedsMuir Park Lodge with staffmembers who know how to pamper and make you feel welcome at their home and give you a wild-life experience you will never forget
Thanks again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilcotinlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at Tweedsmuir a few years ago, and it was absolutely the best experience ever. The staff and guides were so accommodating and friendly. It really is wilderness on your doorstep with bears roaming in the grounds, birdlife, fishing. I want to go back - NOW.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldfogiesinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at the Lodge in August, 2012.
The staffmembers gave us a warm welcome.
Our lodge was excellent and breakfast and dinners were tasty.
We were allowed to wash our dirty car and we could have our dirty clothes washed without having to pay for it
When we left in the early hours to catch the boat at Bella Coola harbour, the table had been set for us: sandwiches and coffee, fruit and snacks.
They'd even written a goodbeymessage for us.
The best hotel we ever had!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent 4 nights here in October and had a great time. The cabins are spacious, the communal area very comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful (including going so far as posting a small package that I left behind back to me in the UK.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tweedsmuir Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tweedsmuir Park Lodge

Address: 7001 Corbould Dr, Stuie, British Columbia V0T 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Bella Coola Valley > Stuie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stuie
Price Range: £70 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tweedsmuir Park Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Grizzly Bears! The historic Tweedsmuir Park Lodge, set on 60 acres of private land within the vast wilderness of British Columbia's largest protected park, is the ideal setting for your wilderness adventures. Originally built in 1929 as a hunting and fishing resort, today the lodge accommodates those seeking out a more eco-friendly adventure as well as a relaxing refuge from the pressures of modern life. The surrounding environment is stunning. Rising above the valley floor are the majestic Coast Mountains, to the west is the largest fjord system in the Americas, and to the east the high Chilcotin Plateau. It is a bio-diverse and spectacular wilderness, home to the totemic wildlife of the Great Bear Rainforest. Nestled in the largest protected park in British Columbia, the Lodge is only an hour flight from Vancouver. Consistent winners of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence and the Traveller's Choice award as part of their Top 25 Small Hotels (Canada), guests stay in private timber chalets on property bordering the Atnarko and Bella Coola Rivers. Thanks to healthy fish stocks, the Lodge is situated amongst one of the world's largest Grizzly Bear populations. The Canadian Tourism Commission has included Tweedsmuir Park Lodge's Grizzly Bear Safaris in their prestigious 'Signature Experiences Collection'. Participants enjoy the tours due to the small group size (maximum of four people) and the absence of man-made fishing channels. All river travel is on non-motorized drift boats, giving participants a more natural experience. In addition to Grizzly Bear Viewing guests can also enjoy; heli-fishing, heli-hiking, fly-fishing, Guided Nature Hikes, photography, First Nations culture, excursions on the inlets or even summer heli-skiing! Relax by the fireplace, enjoy a new spa and a massage, soak in the outdoor hot-tub, or simply retire to the lodge deck for drinks. Definitely keep your eyes open for local wildlife, including grizzly bears, which may lumber past on the lawn. Tweedsmuir Park Lodge is a founding member of The Magnificent 7 - Luxury Wilderness Lodges of Canada ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tweedsmuir Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tweedsmuir Park Hotel Stuie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing