We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great last minute choice”
Review of Moorland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A last minute call meant I had to travel to Plymouth on Thursday evening, the hotel only had a single room left and they warned me it was particularly small, but having visited in the past and enjoyed the stays I accepted the room. Room 16, aptly named the Pixie Room, is small, but it was functional and comfortable, having eaten a fabulous evening meal in the hotel's restaurant I slept soundly, waking to a wonderful view of the sheep on the Moor behind the hotel. All of the staff always make you feel welcome here, whether you are on business or looking to explore the surrounding area, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view looking over Plymouth in the distance, those on the back look out ont...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Moorland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have driven past this hotel many times but never ventured in until today. It is situated on beautiful Dartmoor and a great drive before dinner with the sheep freely roaming, so be aware they are in the roads and on the roadsides. Also plenty of ponies roam around. The Hotel is on the edge of the main road into Wotter and Sgaugh Prior. We went with friends for Sunday lunch. We were greeted by friendly staff and found them to be very attentive and coming back to check if everything was in order. It was a busy Sunday with a family party having a celebration lunch. Our order was taken promptly. I had the prawns in garlic which was a good portion and well presented. This was followed by roast beef which was tender and succulent. I finished with a pana cota desert with a raspberry couli. A glass of merlot was also good. I would award them 4 starts and we are considering going there for a Christmas party and they do very reasonable overnight stays for party's.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and each time had a fantastic stay. The hotel is ideally situated as on the edge of Dartmoor. The reason we keep returning is its dog friendly, the service is always impeccable yet unobtrusive. Don't get me wrong it's not the Ritz and if you expect that you will be disappointed. What you do get is a hotel that is not pretending to be something it isn't - quite rare these days. Great value for money and really good restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c00kiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed just for one night but was very pleased with this low cost hotel and excellent restaurant. Room had recently been renovated and was very comfortable, telly was a bit small but that's minor. Best of all were the staff, all really helpful land friendly which more than makes up for the rather tired exterior and garden.

Room Tip: Get south facing room with views to Plymouth
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Moorland separated by 4 years, so it was interesting to contrast the experiences. The staff were excellent and the food was very good on both occasions. Our room was on the road side this time with a view of the Moorland, whereas last time we had the lovely views of Plymouth Sound. The bathroom had been modernised compared to the previous occasion.
It provides an ideal base for Dartmoor, visiting Plymouth, or as a stopover on the long trek to Landsend/Cornwall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Plymouth Sound side.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OldSutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited the Moorland Hotel on several occasions and always been most enjoyable. Arranged a birthday meal for ten on Wednesday evening and everything was great! On arrival we sat in the lovely lounge and were able to check the menus in our own time. After ordering just a short wait to be shown to our table which was beautifully laid out. The meal did not disappoint was the usual excellent quality. Lots of empty plates!!! Thank you Moorland Hotel and Natalie for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After much searching and review reading I came upon the Moorlands Hotel. The reviews were very positive and complimentary and on that basis I booked for my partner and I.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the view lovely but unfortunately that is really the only positives I can mention. I think it's only right to be honest and say that the hotel is in need of a good deal of money spending on it. There is obvious signs of some refurbishments but the standard is of a cheap nature and the hotel seems not to have an identity, trying to be too many themes.
We had the Shaugh suite and were disappointed by the very small shower room where the floor was dangerously slippy and the seating room where you wouldn't really want to sit. The view was lovely but you could only see if stood up and the hotel smells as though they are trying to hide a smell with strong air freshener. We can not fault the staff they were amazingly helpful and the location and views lovely but it's such a shame about the overall appearance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the car park and sea for reduced noise
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Square74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotter
3.5 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
602 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#15 of 21 in Plymouth
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,005 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
585 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kitley House Hotel
Kitley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yealmpton
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Hotel

Address: Wotter | Shaugh Prior, Wotter PL7 5HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Wotter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wotter
Price Range: £60 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moorland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Hotel Plymouth
Moorland Hotel Wotter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing