We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for skiing in Canillo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Font d'Argent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Font d'Argent
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Canillo
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Hasharon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect base for skiing in Canillo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Me and my family tried Canillo as ski resort last week (Jan 2013). We choose Font d'Argent due to its excellent recommendations and didn’t disappoint.
This charming hotel has a unique combination of many advantages as ski vacation base:

1.Modern and well decorated
2.Big and comfortable rooms
3.Nice and cozy spa for relaxing in the Jacuzzi after long and freezing day on the mountains.
4.Wide selection and very good food
5.The hotel located just 50 m from the gondola to the slopes! (In the gondola building located Pirot- ski equipment rental shop- very recommended. Perfect service including option to store the equipment in the end of every day- very convenient. )
6.The hotel staff is very warm and helpful. They helped us with every wish and the restaurant staff even bought and cooked special food for our son who eats only few things…
7.20 m from bus station to Andorra city and other ski villages in Andorra.
8.No one need more…

About the ski - after exploring for a week the Grandvalira we can recommend the site as amazing site with more than 200km of slopes, nice views and perfect very wide slopes for beginners and intermediates. Unlike Canillo, in Soldeu village you can ski directly to the village with no need of the gondola to come back but you can't find hotel like Font d'Argent…
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    51
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
46
69
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
302 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A week long stay which was very good indeed. The rooms were great (other than the fact that they can be very smokey) and the bathrooms particularly good (separate baths and showers). The whole hotel was very pleasant and the spa was a definite bonus after a day on the slopes. Staff were helpful and everything was efficient.

Breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the 'cooked specially for you' part. As well as this the evening buffet had a good spread of interesting foods.

The hotel's own parking is a complete rip-off. There is parking about - a few free places - grab one if it becomes free (these are places with white paint markings) or there are lots of blue places which cost 3 euros a day (saving 10 euros a day on the hotel parking).

The hotel is well situated for the gondola and Canillo itself is a lovely little place.

We got a very good Half Board deal on hotels 4 U - it was much cheaper than on booking.com

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very nice hotel, with big rooms, a enjoyable buffet and very nice staff. Recomendable for all that go with family or in big groups. It is not a 5 star hotel but makes you fell like it because of the simpaty of the staff.
Parking cars is about 3€ per day and has some fine sports shops 1 min away.
Even though is near the sky facilities, you have to carry your material about 100m until you get there.
Canillo Station is nice for beginners, but the connection with the other Stations(skying) is not easy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice hotel for 2 adults + 2 children. Excellent localization for skiing. The room was big enough for all 4. Very nice food. The hotel had 2 play rooms for small children and bigger ones (with WII). The hotel staff was kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraBarreiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Very good location to ski lifts, great restaurant and staff, clean and spacious rooms. However, if you travel with small children be aware that smoking is allowed inside the hotel and there is no play room for them. But above all, children are not permitted to SPA! Before booking the hotel there was no information about this restriction. They only announced it when we arrived and our child was very disappointed. When we tried to speak with the manager of the hotel, she was rather rude and did not offer any solution.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

This hotel ticked all the boxes, the rooms were reasonably spacious, very clean and with modern bathrooms containing both bath and shower. The hotel staff were polite, friendly and accommodating and the location for the lifts was very convenient - about two mins walk away, mostly on the flat but a couple of flights of stairs just in front of the lift itself.

The breakfast and evening meal were buffet style, which I am usually not very fond of, but the variety and the quality of the food was excellent and there was a chef available to cook things like fish and meat in front of you.

The facilities in the hotel were good - we went with quite a number of teenagers and there was both a games room and free internet available. My friend and I had a couple of massages, which were quite costly but really fabulous.

i would recommend parking your car in the municipal car park about 100 metres from the hotel as the hotel car park costs 15 euros per night.

The mountain restaurants in the Grandvalira ski area are totally naff - cantines serving poor quality, expensive fast food. We had a couple of delicious mid-day meals at a restaurant called la Borda, located at the bottom of the slopes in Pas de la Casa - the food and service were excellent and the cost was approximately the same as the rubbish in the mountain cantines.

Grandvalira do a 5 out of 7 day lift pass which is great if you want to miss a day through bad weather or if you want a change of resort (eg go to Arinsal). I wish more European ski resorts would offer these flexible lift passes.

All in all I would highly recommend both this hotel and the resort of Canillo as a base for Grandvalira skiing

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We went to Andorra for the last skying before closing the season. We kind of knew that Hotel Canillo was suppossed to be good, but it was really over our expectations. Breakfast and dinner are so varied and so good quality. Service is very nice as well. The installations are pretty new, rooms are amusing and the spa area is very nice... sometimes a bit busy, but you just have to find the right time to go after skying. If I would have to critize something, I would say that the front door of the rooms are not blocking the sounds perfectly, and sometimes you can hear people walking or talking in the corridors... therefore, please ask for the highest level possible.
If we would go back to Andorra again, that we will, I will not definitely look for another hotel and I will go for Hotel Canillo, amusing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael_dura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillo
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
6.9 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonavida
Hotel Bonavida
#5 of 10 in Canillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
AJ Hotel & Spa
AJ Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Canillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Font d'Argent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Font d'Argent

Property: Hotel Font d'Argent
Address: Avda del Coprinceps, s/n, Canillo AD100, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Canillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Canillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Font d'Argent 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Font d'Argent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing