We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book through Direct ski”
Review of Marco Polo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in La Massana
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rude staff, rooms really not good, food okay if you got to restaurant early. Booked with Direct ski big mistake as they knew the problems with this hotel and did nothing before or after even when we complained.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJLander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Typical winter hotel set in La massana in Andorra.

A lovely town with nice shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel was very dated but had everything you needed including wifi in lobby areas. The pool is situated outside about 300m from he hotel. The food was adequate.

Parking was limited so book it in advance a t €6.50 a day.

Rooms were very dated and clearly need a refurb. Our rooms view was a brick wall 2 m from my nose.

Room Tip: Book parking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niaill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Marco Polo for a week with half board. Everything about this place was average in my opinion, and the food was not really worth paying for. Pretty noisy with the main road right there, and seems like a lot of families stay there. No Air conditioning. wifi in the lobby, not in rooms. This hotel had everything you need, but the quality isn't really there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluffdawg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As a place to sleep, this hotel is satisfactory. Our room was clean but small, and the whicker furniture which is omnipresent in this establishment also includes the bed, which creaked and groaned every time one of us moved. There is no air conditioning in the rooms - fine for the winter ski season, but uncomfortable in the humid summer months. Try to avoid rooms near the lifts, which will disturb you, as will any room to the rear which has a noisy road running alongside. Be aware of hidden charges - the room safe will cost you 4 euros, and two days parking at the small car park opposite was an additional 13 euros. We would recommend avoiding the use of the dark, unlit and graffiti strewn subway which links the car park and the hotel - cross the road at street level instead. The continental breakfast, included in the price of our stay, was satisfactory and included several hot items including boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rear of the hotel, or rooms near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

When choosing this hotel the other reviews scared me a little bit. The rate was excelent so I took a risk. I slept in the room 3 nights out of 5 I booked as I came for Andorra Ultra Trail. The room and bathroom was clean, full of amenities including nice soft towels. Cleaning was done on daily basis. I got a room on the 5th floor and there was no noise at all in fact there was a school trip.
When comparing to other hotels where my friends slept, Marco Polo was very good choice for very good rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 4th or 5th floor, you will avoid any noise from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirapeaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Came initially for a look in August 2012 then brought 46 pupils here in February 2013 for the annual school trip and for our purposes it was good. The hotel was clean and tidy and all pupils were in rooms of 3 or less which is always good. The food was fine and no one went hungry, even fussy English teenagers had plenty to eat. There was wi-fi in the main bar area/entrance hall which was great unless all the children were trying to access it at once when obviously it slowed down. There was a games room upstairs and a room on the top floor that could be booked for meeting. It was a short walk to the gondala and there were shops and bars nearby if you needed them.
For a school trip it was great or as a base for walking, cycling etc in the summer, it would be good too but don't expect anything fancy, it's a good place to rest your head after an active day in the mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed in Hotel Marco polo for 5 nights on a school trip. My first impression of the hotel was good, it looked clean and modern with a good view of the mountains I would later be skiing down the next day. The room i stayed in was a clean two bedroom room, there was a small television near to the ceiling that only appeared to show Spanish television however I didn't plan to watch much as i had a lot planned for the day (4 hours skiing) . The beds were surprisingly quite comfortable and the quilts the perfect size as the rooms were well heated. We had a small balcony looking out to the mountains which we often went out to as it wasn't too cold. The bathroom was of a good size and not too small with a shower/bath, bidet, toilet and sink all in one however no space to hang towels apart from over a small radiator. However in other rooms i found that some bathrooms were tiny with tiny cubicle showers and hardly enough room to walk, luckily this wasn't the one i stayed in otherwise that could have been quite un-pleasant. Everyday your towels and sheets were cleaned. The food provided was nice, although quite a lot of pasta and chips. The hotel is very conveniently close to the gondola's as it was only a 5 minute walk away and from there it took you straight to the top of the mountains. I definitely recommend coming here if you are planning on a ski trip as it is very close to the mountains, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are pleasant.

Room Tip: Preferably get a room with a balcony as they tend to be bigger with larger bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemkbtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Massana
0.3 mi away
Magic La Massana
Magic La Massana
#1 of 10 in La Massana
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Magic Ski
Hotel Magic Ski
#4 of 10 in La Massana
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rutllan
Hotel Rutllan
#5 of 10 in La Massana
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Pui
Hotel Del Pui
#2 of 10 in La Massana
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hotel

Address: 36 Avinguda de Sant Antoni, La Massana AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > La Massana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in La Massana
Price Range: £20 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing