We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy and with food under the standard”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Magic Ski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Magic Ski
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in La Massana
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very noisy and with food under the standard”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel in early April 2013 and at the low season…
This is location, location, location hotel! But at what price?
The hotel is as close as you can get to the La Massana ski bubble! So you get your ski boots inside the room, pick up the skis in the basement and walk 50m to the ski teleferic!
But the price is:
1. The hotel is very noisy and the fourth start is actually missing
2. The parking is almost 20o euros, what I consider a robbery… considering that the hotel is a sort of roundabout without even the possibility to stop the car!
3. The food is lower standard (I’ve eaten much better at 3 star hotels in Andorra)
4. The spa is not worth the name
5. The staff at restaurant/buffet were abusing

The noise inside the rooms make it impossible to sleep until late in the night…. Every night it seem like we were in a terror movie. This was until 1 am ... In low season (I can imagine in high season!!!)
The bar and the main hall are all connected and have an opening up to the last floor (we were in the 3rd floor)… there is noisy people all night long in the bar… and then people speaking and saying goodbye from one floor to another…. It is just terrible:
- first: how can a 4 start hotel allow this behaviour from other guests (after 22-23h)
- second: how can a 4 star hotel does not have a second internal door in the room (there is more than enough space) to improve the soundproofing of guests… Also another option would be to isolate the ground floor from the rooms…

The food:
- at dinner: the food was lower standard, not properly and carefully cooked. Even the live grilled was a disaster. I had a bit of grilled salmon that was so overdone and dry…..
- all drinks are charged, even water.
- at breakfast: the pastry was just appalling and could not even be disguised with nutella. The yogurt was from a 50l bucket (industrial natural yogurt) that was used for several days (and maybe reused)
- the coffee was from a standard 2-3 start hotel machine

The spa:
- well I would just comment that the pool is just a big laundry tank….
- The fitness room has 3 machines and 1 (the elliptic) is just not working at all…
- all the spa only opens at 13h (so no morning exercise possible at all)

The personnel at the restaurant was not up to the standard. When asked for proper yogurt, a waiter went back to the kitchen and come back with the 50/30l bucket of industrial natural yogurt (already less than half and the breakfast was just open… so the bucket was opened a few days before), we accepted (Ialso not sure if we were ging to be thrown the bucket) the fact but the waiter wanted to give more justifications or speak more… we mentioned to him that the conversation was terminated… but even then he came back 5 minutes latter…. And then another 5 minutes later… until we got upset and told him to stop it! Then it stop (but he kept the conversation and the topic with the other staff)…. Never asked for another thing from the staaf until I left!

Room Tip: Only in the last floor and not connected to the main hall.... better even: try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rfcbatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    102
    41
    10
    3
See reviews for
80
63
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel is practical to go skiing as it is just around the corner of the lift. But it is very difficult to park, and the hotel parking costs 18 € per day...
The indoor swimming-pool is really tiny, nice jacuzzy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I went to this hotel with a ski group for the weekend. The hotel was just average in overall. The architecture inside the building is nice (lobby with floors' balcony) but it brings a lot of noise during the night which is very annoying. The rooms are quite comfy even if I disliked the tiles on the floor (cold) and the mattress not enought soft + plastic mattress protection that I removed immediatly!! No kettle and big TV (no flat screen) :-(
The spa is very expensive for what it is (7€) and you should bring your own swim-cap if you don't want to pay extra (3€). Very small swimming pool (~5m*2m), jaccuzzi ok, hammam ok (quite hot and very humid).
The food is served on buffet, quality is quite poor except for the plancha where fresh meat and fish are grilled. Desserts are bad. French people, be aware there's no cheese :-(
Well, the only good point I remind if the super location just next to the lift.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiliel119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel magic Ski in Early Feb 2012. The location was great so you had a minimum of lugging ski equipment to the gondola which is a big plus. The rooms were spotless and not too small and we had a lovely view from our room especially when we arrived and it was snowing..so pretty!! I found the food wasn't brilliant but there was plenty of it and it was fine if not a bit repetitive. Breakfast was a bit better as there was bread cereals, pastry's cold meats,eggs etc We ate out most evenings travelling to Arinsal where the night life was a bit livelier. The hotel lobby could be a bit noisy at night as all the rooms are directly above the lobby...but who cares after a few beverages we are on holidays after all. The staff were nice but some didn't speak great English however we managed to communicate via hand gestures and speaking loudly with a spanish accent...as you do. The wellness centre was small but nice and usually quiet which was great nothing like a nice jacuzzi after a day on the slopes. Overall we had a lovely stay in this hotel and it was decent value for money...does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmoffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

All previous positive reviews on that hotel are correct. It is a good hotel with very good food (including local specialities) and within an easy reach of the gondola.Hotel and the gondola station are in the same complex of buildings and from the rear exit of the hotel is ca. 10m to the entrance of the station.
Thus, the hotel deserves a recommendation whereas the Pal sector of the Vallnord skiing area does not.Pistes are short, lifts (apart from gondola) old, restaurants few and in the high season the area is overcrowded. Small wonder; it is just ca. 2h over a motorway from Barcelona.
The authorities have there a peculiar attitude to the wheather forecast. Before coming we checked on the snowinfo that there was 150cm of snow up and 50cm down - quite enough. It was exactly the same information in the hotel and at the gondola station, + an avalanche risk of 2/5. In fact there was not even 120mm of snow on the pistes, many being closed and only those with artificial snow were accesible. All the snow collected would not make any avalanche at all. Better was at the Arinsal sector nearby, but the connecting cable-car was mostly out of service (no information down!). When, after 2 days, was a snowfall of ca. 20cm - nothing changed in the forecast - again 150/50 and 2/5 - perhaps they had fixed it for the season!
A trip to Andorra La Vella - capital of Andorra, is short and nice. Apart from a big choice of goods at a lower price (duty-free zone) it is a metropolis in miniature; 3 or 4 streets with beautiful modern houses and best shops. La Massana is not impressive.Apparently, Andorrians like their local stone (brownish-grey) and cover every building with it, and in the effect it looks like an old prison.
Finally, there are no local products to buy. I have never been yet in any mountain area without its own cheese - Andorra is the first one. When asking a salesgirl about it, she called another, older, then both called a third one, still older and all of them, after a long consultation, offered me a French product.
To sum up: all this is no match to Alps, whereever you try them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elektrostal, Russia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Excellent location, just under telecabina, free ski storage/ Great variety of meals at dinner. Everything fresh and tasty.
Minuses:
very small pool in fitness centre.. Looks like large bath.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vpriyatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Excellent location right next to the ski gondola. Nothing to mention about the town but it's only a ten minutes bus ride to lively Andorra La Vella and Caldea spa.
Our room was way too small for four people with all ski luggage. The free ski storage lockers are both welcome and necessary. Bathroom is new and shiny, with great shower and water pressure. The rest of the room needs more lighting, it's way too dark.
Restaurant is well attended but food is just OK. Reception staff could use some training, specially about local information. Spa area gets easily overcrowded and is a bit creepy hidden in the basement with no windows.
This place is great to ski but not so great for a 4 star hotel. A good choice if you're into skiing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanschenKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Massana
0.1 mi away
Magic La Massana
Magic La Massana
#2 of 10 in La Massana
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutllan
Hotel Rutllan
#5 of 10 in La Massana
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Del Pui
Hotel Del Pui
#1 of 10 in La Massana
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
8.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Ski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Ski

Property: Hotel Magic Ski
Address: 1 Avinguda Del Ravell, La Massana AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > La Massana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in La Massana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Magic Ski 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magic Ski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing