We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for bed”
Review of Hotel Coma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Coma
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ordino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Lovely hotel in good location. Ate in the hotel restaurant both our nights there, a la carte one night and fixed price the other, and were happy with both. Staff were friendly and helpful (although the girl on reception when we arrived spoke no English, which was a little surprising). The guided mountain walk included in our package and arranged by the hotel through a local company was brilliant.

Our only complaint was with the bed. There was no mattress cover or under sheet. The mattress was simply covered by a sheet which was too small for the size of bed and didn't tuck in. During the night this, inevitably, got rumpled and one ended up sleeping on the mattress. No doubt the previous and subsequent occupants of the room had the same problem, so the arrangement was neither comfortable or hygienic. Very odd.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

A lovely family run hotel in traditional Andorran style. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and are always on hand to ensure your needs are met. All rooms have balconies and are west facing looking out over the mountains. Ordino is well placed for easy access to walks in the pyrennese A regular bus service from the information centre can take you to the numerous walks in the area All walks are well signed and there is a range from simple strolls to high mountain peaks. Ordino is a quiet area but really beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunk5pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hotel coma is set in a very tranquil village in Andorra and yet the capital and paths, parks and mountain peaks are easily accessible by local bus for only a few euros. Hotel is a family owned concern. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet, and the perfect base for a super summer break hiking in the mountains. I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: West facing with balcony. I think all rooms have a balcony with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldineDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have just spent a very happy fortnight at this hotel. All the staff were very professional, attentive, caring, good humoured and kind. I arrived tired and anxious as an elderly, single traveller in a country where I did not speak the language but returned refreshed, relaxed and with my morale much healed. The spa of human kindness is the best form of wellness treatment any hotel can offer and this hotel offers just that. Access to the village and to the countryside was easy and the grounds were remarkably spacious in a country in which the vertical is much more obvious than the horizontal.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank goldie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The Hotel Coma is set off the road in a lovely situation. All of the staff are genuinely helpful and happy. Nothing is too much trouble-even when we had an early start home and the two of us were given a private breakfast before the dining room opened. Our postcards were stamped and picked up by post office staff from the hotel and all enquiries re bus and walking routes answered.

The room was very clean and the food good. We enjoyed our stay very much and would gladly give it the seal of approval to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This hotel is nice, and the food is pretty good (very rustic and tasty, and good portions) but it has 2 really annoying things. Firstly, the rooms are all smoking, and therefore smell quite strongly of stale cigarette smoke. Secondly, they played really loud cheesy 80s music from around 12pm to 11pm all through the hotel lobby, bar and on big speakers outside. This was horrible and I ended up pinned inside my room in the afternoon with the windows all closed to try and get some peace. It was almost 40 degrees C at times, so this was very unpleasant bearing in mind that the room didn't have aircon or a fan. Ordino is the nicer unspoilt part of andorra (if you are not a complete party animal anymore), but has very little to do and access to good mountain walking is limited from this location. The pool is quite small and is cold, which is fine by me, but tends to get a bit cramped for swimming later in the day when children are playing in the pool. The beer and wine sold by the hotel is nice and very reasonably priced. All in all it was a nice holiday, but I don't think I would revisit the coma or andorra again as it is better set up for apre ski partying than a relaxing couples break.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A small, family-run hotel the Coma has a swimming pool, tennis courts, childrens' play area, mini-golf and is comfortable and spacious. As Andorra has yet to invoke a smoking ban in hotels you do come across guests puffing away but, during our 7 nights, they were in the minority and, thankfully, not in the restaurant. All the rooms face the mountains but the seemingly prevalent tower cranes can distract from the views. The rooms themselves have plentiful storage, a decent bathroom (shower, bath, bidet and WC) but the mirror above the sink was so far away it made shaving a bit problematic (well it did for me but then I'm short-sighted). The flat-screen TV had a wide range of channels (mostly French or Spanish and only two English language ones, but that didn't matter really). The bed was a bit hard and came complete with hideous foam pillows but it was huge and could have slept three quite comfortably. That said the undersheet was a touch on the small side and after a night's tossing and turning you awoke to find yourselves invariably resting on the mattress. The room had small balcony with table and two chairs which was nice to use for a drink and a relax. The pool was a bit on the small side and had an accumulation of grit on the bottom in places that they could have removed more often than they did. It was accessed past a small derelict piece of land that was unbecoming the hotel but such was the haste to get there after a day's walking we didn't pay it much notice. Turning to the food it must be said that Andorran cuisine is not one of the world's best. Although a decent selection at dinner it was, at best, some rustic. That said it was substantial and tasty but could have done with being hotter: our dinners were warm at best and tepid at worst. As there is virtually no agriculture in Andorra fresh vegetables were a rarity and, when you did get vegetables, there usually weren't that many of them. The beans in my Catalan sausage and beans were clearly from a tin and my wife's starter of peas equally so. But the food was wholesome and filling even if it did lack style and finesse. The saving grace was the desserts which were all made (we thought) at the hotel, A decent and plentiful selection which compensated for the ever-so-slightly deficient mains. Breakfast was pretty similar: good selection and plenty of it. The hotel offered us a packed lunch one day. Having sampled it we declined their offers thereafter. The staff were welcoming and friendly (apart from a somewhat surly barman) and very helpful and couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel seems to do a thriving trade in wedding receptions which does mean that at weekends it can get a bit noisy, but they seem to finish about 11-ish and if you've worn yourself out walking there's no problem. So, in summary, a nice hotel with great staff and reasonable facilities. Food not as good as that in French hotels but better than in the other hotel we stayed at in Andorra (see my comments on the Princes Parc at Arinsal).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainPicard_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ordino
3 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
1.8 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Casa Vella
Aparthotel Casa Vella
#2 of 6 in Ordino
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Babot
Hotel Babot
#3 of 6 in Ordino
95 reviews
3.3 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roc Blanc Hotel
Roc Blanc Hotel
#4 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coma

Address: Camp de la Tanada, Ordino AD300, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Ordino Parish > Ordino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ordino
Price Range: £55 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Coma 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of a green enviroment in the centre of the village. Scenic and calm rooms with the well knonw local restaurant for the traditional and gastronomic cuisine. 8Km to the shopping centre and very well connected with the public transport. 2km to the nearest lift to the skiing resort of Vallnord. Sports centre with a indoor swimmingpool, yacuzzi, sauna and gym is only a 2min walk from the hotel with special price included with the price in some seasons. Free outdoors carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing