We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holestone Moor Barns
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Holestone Moor
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
92
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfresh eggsfamily get togetheron arrivalthe barnlog burneradded bonuswonderful weekendfamily celebrationperfect settingdefinitely recommend this place to anyonehen weekenddifferent partsshort strollchristmas decorationschildren's play arealong weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were there in mid-late July 2013 for a reunion of four families: 7 adults + 6 kids + 2 infants, so a full house (we booked both the Stables and the Barn). Enough space for everyone, including a large common area (with fireplace, kindling already laid, nice touch) and a large dining room. Also appreciated were the games room (separate from the accommodations), and playground with adjoining forested trails (perfect for three very energetic and loud boys to be run on :). Very clean, beautiful scenery and close enough to a smaller town (Matlock) to make a quick drive for some take-away or groceries not terribly inconvenient.

The surrounding country roads and paths provided some great running (though very hilly in places) and we saw a lot of cyclists, so you'll have some chances to burn off the welcome cakes or your visits to the local cafe (about a 15 minute walk; dangerously large slices of cake are served).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham_m_dunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolestoneMoorBarns, Manager at Holestone Moor Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback Graham, we are so pleased you all had a great time, it was a pleasure to meet you all. We love to see our guests making the most of what Holestone Moor Barns has to offer. To hear laughter and see everybody having fun and enjoying themselves is a great tonic, we look forward to you visiting us in the future and want you to know that we will do everything possible to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable just like your previous visit to Holestone Moor Barns holiday cottages.

Kind Regards
Maxine & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent a weekend at Holestone Moor Barns for a family celebration. The accommodation was great for an extended family totalling 14 including 5 children. The views were lovely and the accommodation was really well looked after with every little detail catered for. The selection of homemade cakes from a nearby farm were delicious and a really thoughtful touch. The kids loved having space to play and a chance to help with the alpacas And chickens. Vicky and Steve were very welcoming, thank you.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for a family weekend party aged from 6 to 70 it had everything we needed. Loads of space great dining area and well planned bedrooms. Very clean with lots of thoughtful touches from the personalised welcome note to the fantastic cakes on arrival. There are alpacas in the grounds, a lovely games room and a play area for the kids. If you are looking for a great location in a well cared for property this is for you. There's loads of things to do so everyone will be happy. Thanks vicki and steve.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We are a group of friends from university who now 18 years on have 5 young children between us - altogether there were 11 adults and the children whose ages range from 8 months to 4. These cottages were perfect for us and we had a brilliant weekend. We had both cottages with those without children having a bit of peace in the Stables and all the others in the Barn. All the bedrooms are unique with lots of interesting things to look at, the en-suites were good with excellent hot showers. The sitting room was great with a lovely log fire and the dining room was fantastic with the massive table we could all sit round for breakfast. The children (who only meet up once a year) had an amazing time - they loved running up and down the long corridor, hiding behind the long curtains in the sitting room, watching the cows out the window, walking in the woods to see the alpacas, the slide and climbing frame and the childrens inside play area....! As a result the adults also had a great time - we loved the welcome cakes (not 1 but 4 very delicious cakes!), relaxing on an evening with a drink and leisurely meals in the dining room. We even let the men have a trip out to the games room on saturday night to play pool and table football so everyone was happy. It is a great location to explore the peak district and convenient for people coming from different parts of the country.Vicki and Steve were very welcoming as well. We are looking forward to coming back!
The only thing which could have worked better was the oven - it was a very good big oven but the instructions weren't clear - Vicki was very good and came over to try and help but she intends to find out how to work it better very soon!

Room Tip: Noise from the sitting room did go into the triple room above.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My family and I have just spent our Christmas at Holestone and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were a party of 13 ranging in age from 8 to 83, all age groups were well catered for, our 83 year old grandma really appreciated the fully assisted bathroom, that really made life easy for her.
The barn and stable are most beautifully presented, with the highest level of cleanliness you could ever expect. We really appreciated the wonderful cakes on arrival and the christmas crackers all set to go in the dining room. The walking in the fields around the barn is lovely whether you walked to a village or just walked with no intent, it was great.
There was only on downside and this is purely a personal preference, the upstairs double bed has one of the hardest mattresses I have ever slept on which made for slightly less than perfect sleep, this is a small imperfection brought on only by my prefence of a softer bed.
We would highly recommend staying at Holestone Moor barnes, if you are looking from a peaceful couple of days away then this is a great spot to unwind and relax

Room Tip: If you like a softer bed then choose the double room in the stables
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomoomossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews