We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Holestone Moor - Absolutely Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holestone Moor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holestone Moor Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2010

A perfect cottage in a perfect setting. Vicki and Steve made us so welcome, we immediately felt at home. From the comfy beds and exceptionally well eqipped kitchen to the cosy log fire this cottage has everything you could wish for.
There is so much to do in the area: pretty villages and market towns are within easy driving distance and a visit to Chatsworth House is a must. But to see it at it's best you need to put your walking boots on and explore the lovely countryside. For the energetic the views from the top of High Tor and Mam Tor are really worth the effort.
We would definitely recommend this cottage to everyone, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annerichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2009

We've just had our third and [not] final visit at Holestone Moor Barns.

We initially found it through Premier Cottages after sending for their brochure. The main marketing photo put us off at first - we thought we'd never get anywhere THAT nice. But after revisiting and looking at the HMBarns website we booked for a week in The Stables.

First impressions last, and I can still remember the first moment we landed. After a troubled journey the fantastic welcome from the hosts, Vicki & Steve, was very warm, relaxing, and made us feel like we could leave the road behind before even getting out of the car.

From our first visit with our only-just one year old we've been hooked for the boomerang holidays (just keep coming back...). Vicki and Steve are very welcoming towards our little whirlwind, and they have provided travel cots & high chairs, plus a games room with toys for kids of all ages. No to mention the variety of outdoor stuff - the climbing frame (a labour of Steve's love), the pond teaming with wildlife, the animals, the woods, the meadow with wild flowers - plenty for every exploring mind to enjoy, right on site. If that really isn't enough the location is ideal, too. An hour from Alton Towers, 15 minutes from Gulliver's Kingdom, 2 seconds from fresh air, a million miles away from the stresses of work.

We have been with friends and on our own, and found it equally relaxing. Small groups, big groups - flexibility with the two cottages being available separately or together, the larger having dining space enough for both cottages - well planned!

From a family perspective there are multiple reasons to stay here: The location is superb. The accommodation is fantastic. And the hosts are just amazing people.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_Muir_lodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We loved our short stay at Holestone Moor Barns. There were just 3 of us - 2 adults and an 8 year old, so we stayed in the Stables. We didn't need to bring a thing. Everything was provided, from dishwasher detergent to extra bedding. It was lovely to know that there was a log fire to light if we wanted to make it cosy, but to be honest the heating was plenty warm enough anyway. Plenty of towels, handwash, shower gel, shampoo etc, and a lovely gift of a cake & fresh eggs when we arrived. The owners Vicki & Steve were great.

We were definately right to take our wellies, as you need to go across the farm yard to open & close the gate, and that was pretty muddly. Wellies were also great so that we could go into the alpaca field to get a bit closer to them. They were lovely - quite shy at first, but they became more curious, and not a bit concerned that we were walking around in their home!

Ben enjoyed feeding bread & to the hens, and he also got the chance to see Steve collecting the eggs in the morning - so they don't come from Supermarkets then??? They also enjoyed eating our leftover bananas!

The games room was really fantastic. A full sized table tennis table, a good sturdy table football, and a pool table, plus hundreds of videos/dvds to watch.

We were a bit unlucky with the choices we made when going out for an evening meal, as we have an 8-year old who is not very adventurous. We tried the White Horse but it was fully booked so we went over to the Crispin Inn instead. The food there was really good and there was lots to choose from for adults - a more up-market type of pub/restaurant. No children's menu, but they did offer to do half portions. Our son was disappointed when the chips turned out to be 'real chips' and not the frozen variety!!! We thought they were great, but he found them bitter! He loved the fish in batter though.

On the second night we managed to get in at the White Horse. Even more up-market than the Crispin, and again we adults enjoyed our meal, but no childrens menu available. All the meat dishes were in sauces he didn't like - nothing plain and simple like gravy!!! Again he chose fish and chips, and again they were 'real chips' in their skins which he didn't eat. His 'half-size portion of fish was no bigger than 1 inch square, so he went away really hungry. We thought our adult meals were really terrific, if a little pricey, and the service was really good. With hindsight, not the best place for children although they did not make him feel unwelcome.

The Tissington trail is good for a walk or bike ride. We took the bikes to Ashbourne. It took us a while driving around Ashbourne before we picked up the signs to the Tissington Trail Bike Hire place, which seems to be a good place to start. We rode the 3 1/2 miles to Tissington, which looks flat but it is slightly uphill all the way. Good surface for walking/riding, and toilets half way along as well. At Tissington there are more toilets and a small refreshments area. You can take the short walk into Tissington village which is very pretty, with a coffee shop & gift shop. The trail goes on much further, but we're just novices so that was enough for us! The ride back to Ashbourne was great as it was all downhill.

So all in all, we really enjoyed our stay, and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SunnyTraveller133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

A group of ladies 8/9 of us have been visiting Holestone Moor Barn since 2004 for a long weekend each Spring,
The Barn is so comfortable, so cosy in the colder weather, lovely log fire spotlessly clean, and very well equipped. Vicki and Steve are always so welcoming, friendly, and helpful. We love the themed bedrooms with adorable cuddly animals and lovely fluffy towels sitting on all our beds along with complimentary toiletries in all the bathrooms. We all enjoy the time to chill out, pamper ourselves and relax in wonderful surroundings, in our fantastic Derbyshire. Every year we say it will be our last, we must have a change, but the trouble is we cannot find anywhere as good, so we just keep returning, and enjoy ourselves more each year !! - Try it, I am sure you will agree. It’s a great place for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPEEDHEAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Easter 2008

At least once a year our family try to get together for a few days break. There are 10 of us from three years old to 74! So a suitable venue is not easy to find.
This year's venue was a great success. I found Holestone Moor Barns on the internet and I have to say it lived up to all the claims on the very good web site.
We booked the two cottages, one the barn and the smaller stables. All rooms (in the barn) were en suite. 24 hour heating that we could control and a fabulous log fire in the sitting room which kept us warm even in a freezing spell!
Vicki & Steve are trying to look after the environment and encourage recycling with lots of bins for refuse.
There is a play room used by all our party but the oldest!
Lots of outdoor space for BBQ and walks. Though do come prepared for hills after all it is Derbyshire!

I would thoroughly recommend this 5* self catering holiday.

Sue Sorkin

1  Thank SueDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holestone Moor Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holestone Moor Barns

Address: | Holestone Moor Farm, Holestone Moor, Chesterfield S45 0JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Holestone Moor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Holestone Moor
Price Range: £68 - £839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Luxury Self catering Holiday Cottages in the Derbyshire Dales alongside the Peak District National Park with superb views across the Derwent Valley. Holestone Moor Barns Holiday Cottages are 5* Gold luxurious conversions from two 200 year old stone farm buildings. These two 200-year old farm buildings have had a makeover, emerging as beauties, with all their original oak beam and stonework features intact. 5 Star self catering accommodation.The Steadings - combines The Barn and The Stables to give you lovely Derbyshire self catering accommodation for 15 + Z bed and 2 travel cots. The largest cottage (The Barn) has ample room for you all to dine and relax together. There is plenty of space inside and out for you to relax together, and of course you will have exclusive use of all our facilities and parking areas. There's lots to do for children, With five acres of garden, woodland, meadow, ponds and Games room. For Celebrations of all kinds sleeping 12 to 16 people. Yes - you can take us over! It's the perfect place for family and friends to get together all year round. Large groups are most welcome to use both The Barn and The Stables, which we've called the 'Steadings' if hired together. All in all, there's room for 15 people, and there are 2 travel cots and highchairs, plus a z-bed for one extra small adult or child. The Barns are utterly peaceful and well away from main roads. At almost 1000 feet above sea level you get some wonderful weather effects, and beautiful starry skies. Sitting out in the evenings over a bottle of wine on a clear night, you may even experience the Northern Lights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holestone Moor Barns Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing