We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!!!”
Review of Twin Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twin Oaks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Lancs, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Firstly, I would ignore any bad reviews of this hotel written a year or two ago as it has recently had a total makeover!!! The hotel has been refurbished to a great standard and is modern, clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in had everything we needed plus views over countryside, the shower was powerful and a great size (very rare!!!). Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. The bar and restaurant have also been very tastefully revamped and the food and service were good. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farnybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    66
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
89
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife and I stayed recently and couldn't believe the improvements made since our last visit in 2009. Having read some of the previous ratings we were somewhat dubious about making a booking but delighted to report that our concerns were totally unfounded. The room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and everything we needed was provided. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating throughout our stay. The food in the hotel was beautifully prepared and the comfortable bar finished off our evening perfectly.
All in all, excellent value for money. What a place to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don1trueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Just returned from staying here on the 21st April and I can honestly say that its quite amazing how much it has changed since its renovation. I stayed here back in November on a business trip but was invited back by the owner to see the changes they have made and its quite simply superb.

This time I took my wife with me and stayed for 2 nights in one of the suites. This had a huge SuperKing size bed with a seperate living area with a couch and a really nice private patio which is stunning when lit up at night and also a generous size bathroom. The thing that impressed us most was the quality of the furnishings - no expense has been spared least not with the nice flat panel Phillips TV's included in the room.

The reception had been moved only days earlier but stands prominent as you walk through the door and the receptionist was very helpful and welcoming to greet us.

Dinner was very tasty, well presented and very good value. After dinner the newly decorated and re-arranged bar area is comfortable and cosy - so much so we drank an entire bottle of wine before retiring to our room.

Our following day was spent visiting Bolsover Castle and Hardwick Hall which are extremely close by and well worth a visit.

All in all, I can't recommend this highly enough and the transformation is quite remarkable. Also the location is perfect - anyone travelling up the M1 should certainly take a look.

Congratulations to the owners

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDayTripperDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay and the food was really excellent many thanks to all at Twin Oaks!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Twin Oaks Hotel. Over the past years i have had the oppertunity to visit England in particular the east midlands. I have stayed at This hotel on a number or occasions, the main reason for staying here is its central location. The friendlyness of the staff and quality of the food and great bar, also added to the appeal. These advantages for me outwieghed the somewhat less than perfect accommadation. However my most recent stay to my delight the one weakness had not only been improved but it has excelled. The furnishings and bathrooms are now superb. Now i would highly recommend any one visting this part of England to stay here at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Really convenient near the M1 at junction 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palterton
5.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,403 reviews
7.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
781 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,019 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
541 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Hotel

Property: Twin Oaks Hotel
Address: Ramcroft, Palterton, Chesterfield S44 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Palterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Twin Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Hotel Chesterfield/Palterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing