We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smashing meal”
Review of Twin Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twin Oaks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“smashing meal”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

had fantastic 3 course meal at this hotels recentley could not
fault anything and will be going again brillant service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigeongraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    61
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
85
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

First visit to the newly refurbished hotel and had a fantastic valentines evening with my wife. The food was first class, the surroundings everything you could wish for on a romantic night out with your loved one. The service could not be faulted, the staff there to cater for your every need in a friendly, professional manner. Situated in a quiet location, easy access for the M1. This was the first of what will become many visits. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanH1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

A really nice hotel just off the M1 at Junction 29, it was amazingly quiet - you would not know that the M1 was so close.

We stayed two nights in a very nice good sized modern room with an extremely comfortable king size bed, wall mounted flat screen TV and more power points than we could use; all easily accessible for charging/powering laptops, camera batteries and mobiles. Also included was free wifi with a good strong signal in our room.

The en suite shower was roomy with a mirror that did not mist and good powerful shower with plenty of immediate hot water.

Breakfasts were excellent but not included in the room rates; the choice was extensive and good value. The hotel is a few miles from Chesterfield and handily situated for the Peak District. It is clean and comfortable, warm and inviting with some of the nicest and friendliest staff we have encountered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Been and stayed at the hotel before which was excellent . We had a email from them launching there new restaurant / brasserie.
Wow it's a total transformation excellent ambience and wonderful food it is now on our top places to eat list we will be back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

my partner and i where on our way to our christmas break in yorkshire when we decided to stop off at the twin oaks for a spot of lunch, we were taken to a table at the top end of the bar i ordered lighter lunch whilst my partner ordered roast beef dinner.we sat drinking our wine and chatting about our forth coming break, it was soon brought to our attention that we had been put in the rat run for the smoking shelter !!!! the food arrived mine was just ok but the roast beef was like meat from a supermarket delli, we did'nt want to make a fuss because of spoiling our break so we ate up paid and left. foolishly on our way back we stopped off again for the carvery the smart front of house guy offered us the same table we said no because of the door he told us its ok it wont be cold because its locked, fine we thought so off we go for our carvery. we get back to our table to find the door was not locked hench another cold freezing experience no we wont be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed here over new year. The rooms were great spacious & clean. The service from all the staff was exceptional - I take my hat off to Gareth he was in complete control off everything and very attentive. To be brutally honest the food did lack in creativity & flavour but I put this down to the evening being nye... I hope there is a more imaginative offering on my next visit. Needless to say I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohsotrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I live locally have been to the Twin Oaks Restaurant twice now and the food is always lovely and the staff are very friendly. A lovely place to eat. I will be returning back there soon.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palterton
7.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Hotel

Property: Twin Oaks Hotel
Address: Ramcroft, Palterton, Chesterfield S44 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Palterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Twin Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Hotel Chesterfield/Palterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing