We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Twin Oaks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Chesterfield North(Barlborough)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel(Sutton in Ashfield)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Clifton Hotel(Mansfield)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
149
73
26
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
73
26
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff were fabhardwick hallchristmas party nightsunday carveryevening mealpowerful showerpleasure of stayingmassive bedmember of staffone night staypatio areapiewedding guestslovely hotelfamily roomshort staybirthday celebration
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We needed an overnight stopover on the way to the north and my aim was to find somewhere very close to the M1 where we could also have a good evening meal. The Twin Oaks proved to be ideal. It is just a few minutes drive off junction 29 and there's plenty of parking. Our standard room was quite compact but very clean, attractively decorated and with all the amenitites one would expect including a kettle etc.

Dinner in the brasserie was excellent. My husband and our two French friends (all of whom are very particular about their food) had the cod which they all said was perfectly cooked. My duck breast was very good too. Our starters and desserts were all of a high standard. We were impressed that the chef came out to see us and check that we were happy with our meal. In the morning we all ordered continental breakfasts and could hardly believe the substantial amount that was served - all for £5.95!

In fact the food was so good that, on our return south, we dropped by again for a quick lunch in the bistro before continuing on our way.

The only negative comment on this hotel is that there's nowhere near by to take a walk or enjoy the countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel is very nice, and overall the staff were extremely professional with nothing too much trouble - with one notable exception - being the member of staff on reception on check-out. Very rude and led to a complaint being lodged with the management. Might have been a little strange if you were a normal guest at the hotel and not attending a wedding - it is certainly worth checking if there is a function if you plan on staying as you will be 'out of it' if there is a party going on. Also, the DJ for the evening was poor and didn't know what he was doing - good job everyone was intent on having a good time! Food very good, drinks a little pricey, staff generally very attentive (apart from the one already mentioned).

Room Tip: Check if there is a function if you are planning on staying here before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dean1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have now stayed in this hotel 3 times the last one September 2012 ,and now feel quite at home,as the staff are so friendly and professional nothing is to much trouble.The food excellent ,the rooms are spotlessly clean ,although we think they could do with slightly softer beds.We took our children and grandchildren on the last visit they where very impressed and they would like to revisit,the staff were very warm and welcoming to the grandchildren which made our stay even better. Location fab,would highly recommend.

Big thanks
Graham and Jill Thomas
Bridgend S Wales

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Only stayed one night but really liked this hotel. A row of old converted miners cottages converted into a really modern hotel just 5 mins off the M1. Ideal when you need an overnight resting hole. Very nice room with very well fitted shower/bathroom. Eat in the bar although it was food from the restaurant menu. Really good and the waiter was really friendly and chatty. Always nice when you are on your own. Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebusinesstravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We would like to express our thanks and praise for the Twin Oaks hotel for providing a wonderful reception to our wedding (which took place on 28th July 2012) Right from planning our day Ann (the wedding coordinator) was on hand to answer any questions being readily available to answer telephone and email queries or to meet face to face. The room where the reception took place comfortably accommodated 60 people, the staff set up our table decorations and the room looked great! The service throughout our meal was excellent, professional but not too formal, which lead to a much laid back smooth running day. The food (we had soup, roast beef dinner and cheese cake) was delicious, there was plenty (as some weddings leave you still starving!!) and they catered well for one member of our party who has lots of dietary intolerances!! The hotel staff worked well with others who were involved i.e. companies who provided cake/ seat coverings. Don’t let the fact there is a car boot sale in the next field on a Saturday (in summer months). It did not interfere one bit with the running of the day, the location felt intimate especially as there is only ever one wedding booked there. The evening reception food was lovely and of high quality and the bar well stocked (I think we drunk it dry!!) A lot of the wedding party stayed over and found the accommodation of high standard. They provided a stain free clean travel cot for our young son, and our suite was clean, modern and comfortable with a seperate lounge area. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a location for your celebrations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne197705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews