We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of Twin Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twin Oaks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Right next to M1 making it a great stop off on way up North. Very comfy rooms all newly refurbished. Staff were great - stayed open a bit longer to fix us dinner after traffic on motorway held us up. We had two lovely steaks and a bottle of wine for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathleenWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

stayed here for 3 nights in may. Easy to access from Motor way, convenient to Chesterfield and Mansfield. Very nice room, comfy bed, excellent shower. Nice towel warmer in bathroom, very good storage in room, overall a pleasant experience.

A bit out in the country, nice and quiet. handy for Hardwick Hall, Bolsover Castle, Chesterfield [nice town market on Saturdays].

Didn't have a chance to check out the bar or dining room. the desk staff were very helpful.

Downside, very steep stairs, and no lift.

Good TV and wifi.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue for you, should select a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked this hotel last minute, booked a suite BB for one night Sat/Sun. Within 10 mins of the booking going through I recieved a phone call from the hotel informing us that they had a wedding booked for that night and that the bistro would be closed but a full menu would be available in a small function room should we want dinner. We were also told that there would be a disco for the wedding party and warned that the bar would be busy on that night, as it was the opening match for England in the World Cup we felt that the disco wouldn't be a problem as we would be up late anyway. The receptionist said that they would allocate a suite as far away from the festivities as possible.
We arrived at reception and were greeted by a smiling young lady who enquired about our day, explained about the function again, assured us that dinner would be possible and that a few of the other none wedding guests had booked in for dinner, we decided to book a table.
As stated our room was at the far end of the corridor, the reception area was noisy however having gone through the first fire door silence reigned and so it continued.
The bedroom was compact but large enough to accommode the super comfortable superking size bed the soft furnishings were beautiful,large flat screen wall mounted TV, storage okay for a short stay, the living room part of the suite was adequate with a large chair/ small sofa, a desk/dressing table, another flat screen TV, tea coffee hair drier etc patio doors through to a furnished decked patio/back yard with a lovely view. Through the living room to a modern clean bathroom/ shower room. Having spent part of our childhood in miners cottages we did feel as if we had gone back in time, well done the owner of this unusual hotel for carrying the concept off so well.

Dinner was excellent and well presented very much bistro style/pub grub, service was excellent every attention was given to the few diners in isolation so to speak.
We returned to our room happy bunnies drinks in hand ready for the England match, the disco was in full swing in the bar area, again once through the fire doors total silence, we had a very peacefull night.


Breakfast however was very disappointing, only cereal and orange juice to start, we opted for the cooked full english breakfast which was a mistake, it was obvious we had a different chef in the kitchen, the sausage was hard, beans were sloppy as was the chopped tinned tomatoes served ( a first for us ) resulting in floating egg and bacon, very poor presentation. On a plus side the young man serving was very pleasant and efficient.
That said we left the hotel having had a very relaxing pleasant stay and will return next time we are in the area although maybe on room only basis.

Room Tip: Booked one of the suites very comfy more space bath and shower plus patio with table and chairs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently went here for the night durng a road trip after reading a excellent write up. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable, the bar was cosy but the refurb was obviously done on a budget.
We had booked for a evening meal this was a badly put together affair, cutlery seemed to be seconds with water marks in the glasses, unlevel plates and paper napkins! My surf and turf was over cooked (fried) in dirty fat and the mixed grill served with all cheap ingredients, dissappointing when locally sourced produce should be easily obtainable and the price was not at a premium.

Don't expect to be able to get an early start, the icing on the cake of being ready to leave @ 6:00 in the morning and having to wait till 8:00 before any one on reception appeared to enable us check out. After the experience of dinner we passed on breakfast.

Overall average service and facilities and most definately over priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosshops00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I were recently in Derbyshire and stayed for 2 nights at the Twin Oaks Hotel at Palterton. The hotel is within 200-300 metres or so of Junction 29 of the M1 and so is very convenient for breaking long journeys. Despite the closeness to the motorway and our room being on the motorway side of the hotel there was very little noise. The staff were, without exception, efficient, pleasant and keen to please. For meals there is a brasserie and a smaller bistro. The brasserie is used for breakfast and either or both rooms for evening meals depending on demand. Food is very good pub food, not gourmet, a little on the expensive side but portions are generous - we only managed one course on each evening. The whole place was very clean. Our bedroom was small but well fitted and well maintained. The only thing which would be a problem for a longer stay would be a shortage of drawer space. The bathroom was also small and a bit of a squeeze to get into and out of the shower. Hot water supply is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandBrian_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just hanging on to their third star this country hotel was a bit of a disappointment. Décor is OK but a bit tired. Service comes with an informal smile and the staff do well. The room we had was in the separate building in the grounds, which was little more than a portacabin in appearance and a little shabby with age. The bathroom lacked any shelving on which to put toiletries although and the ‘wardrobe’ was an open rail in one corner. The restaurant was the highlight with good food and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingOverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked two nights based on the content of the hotel's website, and Tripadvisor reviews. The room was small, but nicely furnished and had everything we needed, although the overall effect was cluttered, leaving little room to move around. We'd booked a superior room but, having looked again at the website, it is difficult to see how this differs from a standard room as, apart from the suites, the rooms all looked to be the same size, and I dread to think of a standard room being even smaller than the superior one. There were no drawers and limited hanging space so we ended up keeping things in our travel bags. We booked continental breakfast for both days but, oh dear. It was supposed to consist of cereals, toast, croissant, fruit juice, tea or coffee. On the website and on the table menu it stated that fresh fruit was also included as was the option of grilled kippers. On the first morning there were no croissants, no fresh fruit and no kippers. On the second morning, we were a little later although still well within the breakfast time and there was nothing other than cereals or white toast available. A waitress appeared and said we could help ourselves to the cooked breakfast and we ended up scraping the bottom of the baked beans dish. We were definitely not impressed. We ate in the bar/restaurant on both evenings and the food was very nice and the service good. We wouldn't stay at Twin Oaks again, although it is handily placed near a motorway junction and is well situated for a number of attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palterton
4.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,064 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,512 reviews
7.3 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Shoulder at Hardstoft
The Shoulder at Hardstoft
#1 of 1 in Hardstoft
116 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
323 reviews
16.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Oaks Hotel

Address: Ramcroft, Palterton, Chesterfield S44 6UZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Palterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palterton
Price Range: £63 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Twin Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Oaks Hotel Chesterfield/Palterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing