We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turin Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmaine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turin Castle
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My sons and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at Turin Castle a couple weeks ago and I would like to go on record as saying this place is unbelievable!! We were looking for an authentic, medieval-type setting and Turin fills that bill perfectly while simultaneously affording the creature comforts we have come to appreciate which were cleverly embedded within the surroundings. The second you step in to the castle, you feel transported back thousands of years so you are able to imagine what life was like back then. The outside setting is quite beautiful and pastoral with lovely landscaped gardens, walkways and seating areas. The "music" of the neighboring livestock is very pleasing and cathartic to the soul. The owners, Brendan and Marnie, were just delightful and transactions were a simple ordeal and so worth every penny. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this place. If an authentic castle stay in Ireland is something you've dreamed of, as we did, this is the venue to go to. We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: The rooms are each so different - any choice is a winner. And the beds are unreal with new orthoped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you Kathleen, for such a lovely review ! It really means a lot to us. It was a pleasure to meet you and the boys. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes
Brendan & Marnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

It is hard to be at Turin Castle and not feel as if you have entered a medieval fairytale. We (10 Americans) spent a week here in December for our youngest daughters wedding. We are all from the USA with Irish heritage and not sure what to expect. We were not disappointed. Turin Castle and its owners are even better than what you see in the photos. Everything was PERFECT! The castle is beautiful, comfortable and convenient to shopping, pubs and history. The wedding ceremony room was beautiful. The wedding went perfect and as the mother of the bride, I could not have been happier. I still have a giant smile on my face each time I remember it. I am so glad our daughter and her husband chose this approach for a wedding vs. the typical American wedding. We all enjoyed each others company for a week, not just a weekend. I was leery of staying in a medieval castle in Dec. but we were more than comfortable and we enjoyed all the green of Ireland in spite of it being winter. I can imagine it is even more glorious in the Spring. Thank you Turin Castle for helping us create such amazing memories that will last a lifetime.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Cathie,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you and all the family enjoyed staying at the castle. We are also delighted to have been part of your family's special day.

Kind regards
M & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed @ Turin Castle to have a small rural wedding- the castle was far more than I had expected, every one of our guests were amazing and the family who stayed with us were as happy and comfortable as we were.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Four couples from upstate New York and one from Leicestershire in England spent a week in Turin Castle, September 15th-22nd 2012. I intended to write a full glowing review, but the previous reviewers said it all. It would be hard to equal theirs. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us. The couple from England are of Irish heritage and are singers and musicians in the folk clubs there. Suffice it to say that we had some terrific traditional Irish songs in the Great Hall. We had a ceildh with Irish dancing and had a ball in the hall. It was just a wonderful week for all of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the castle. Kind regards Marnie & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Our visit to Turin Castle was to celebrate 25 years of marriage, my family and friends from England were welcomed with open arms. It was truly an experience that will remain in our minds forever. Marnie and Brendan are fantastic to detail leaving a nice wlecome for my beautiful wife and I to celebrate 25 years. We especially enjoyed our evenings by the fire listening to music enjoying a game of chess and simply taking in the beauty of this trip.
Marnie and Brendon thank you for allowing us this opportunity, we hope to visit the Castle somday in the future.
Virginia USA
Basingstoke UK

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Manny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the castle. Kind regards Marnie & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I happened to win a contest in "Ireland of the Welcomes" magazine and the prize was a weeks stay at Turin Castle. Myself, my husband and 2 friends made the trip in May 2012 and had a very memorable time! The Castle has been richly restored and decorated in Medieval artifacts and decor but also has many modern amenities. We loved walking in the beautiful, serene countryside surrounding the Castle, and exploring the areas of Mayo/Galway counties - Ballinrobe, Shrule, Kilmaine, Headford, Cong, Tuam and Achill Island. The owners, Marnie and Brendan, greeted us upon our arrival and gave us the initial tour of the Castle. We travel to Ireland every year but this was our first experience staying in a self-catering castle. It was truly an unforgettable experience and one that we will remember and share with others for years to come! A great place for families with children!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms are easier to get to - steps are steep and winding to top floor room! Beds are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at Turin Castle. Your comments are much appreciated. Regarding your room tips, we have never had any complaints from our many vistors about the rooms being cold at anytime of the year even in May !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I renewed our 25th wedding vowels here and it was the most amazing experience. We met with the owners, Marnie and Brendan who were warm and inviting on our arrival. They have spent literally years lovingly restoring this 13th century castle to a very glamorous but accurate state, with furnishings and finishings depicting the era. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were so comfortable. This is a self catered castle and the kitchen has all the modern conveniences without taking from the overall tone of castle living. The grounds are amazing too and once again have been beautifully restored. There are secret rooms and enchantment around every corner!! Harry, the groundsman is a call away and always had a story to tell in his delightful accent. If you are looking for the .most enchanting romantic memories and think a castle is going to be your venue, we would not hesitate to give this the highest of praise.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnie F, Owner at Turin Castle, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at Turin Castle and you chose Turin Castle to renew your wedding vows. Come back soon ! Slan slan go foill

With all best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmaine
8.1 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Turin Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turin Castle

Property: Turin Castle
Address: Kilmaine 001, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Kilmaine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kilmaine
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turin Castle Mayo, Ireland is a unique romantic holiday, wedding, party and conference destination in Ireland providing luxury accommodation tranquility and privacy in a restored castle with every modern convenience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turin Castle Ireland/Kilmaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing