We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas in Kronstadt
Open today: 10:00 - 19:00
Review Highlights
Excellent

We went to this church as it was being used to bless food offerings made by the rich to be donated... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2023
NickstPiere
,
Hyeres, France
Built in the neo-Byzantine style the temple I s huge and visible from afar.

The Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in the neo-Byzantine style, is huge and... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2022
Alexander_Kudrin
,
Samara, Russia
via mobile
Read all 2,745 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,745 results
Traveller rating
2,395
286
51
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,395
286
51
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews naval cathedral worth the trip lots of history petersburg sailors names walls structure brick plaques frescoes nicholas meters construction war
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,745 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2019

This is a very monumental structure. Outside, it is impressive in its size and shape. Inside - it is very beautiful and full of history. On the walls of the church are listed all the Russian naval sailors who died in battles. Our guide from the Best Guides company translated these records into English. We understood that Russia has a great maritime history!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2019

We visited this cathedral in February 2019. it is an amazing place, just breath-taking. We booked a tour with Red Sun Tours. Our guide told us so interesting story about this cathedral and its history.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank rbig25357
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

If you have more than 5-7 days in St Petersburg it’s a great place to visit. Please consider that it is only attraction in this area and the way from the city Centre is quite long.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank fraunoskova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2019

It was very big surprise after 40 minutes driving come to small town near Saint-Petersburg and see so beautiful Cathedral.Russian style,huge golden dorm.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Parisikh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Overlooking the Kryukov Canal, this exceptionally beautiful Cathedral is home to a number of revered 18th-century icons and a fine carved wooden iconostasis. Locally, it is known as the Sailors’ Cathedral and it rises among the trees at the bottom of Ulitsa Glinki. The golden Baroque spires and domes are extremely impressive!

Date of experience: September 2018
4  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews