We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas in Kronstadt
Open today: 10:00 - 19:00
Review Highlights
Excellent

We went to this church as it was being used to bless food offerings made by the rich to be donated... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2023
NickstPiere
,
Hyeres, France
Built in the neo-Byzantine style the temple I s huge and visible from afar.

The Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in the neo-Byzantine style, is huge and... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2022
Alexander_Kudrin
,
Samara, Russia
via mobile
Read all 2,746 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveller rating
2,396
286
51
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,396
286
51
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews naval cathedral worth the trip lots of history petersburg sailors names walls structure brick plaques frescoes nicholas meters construction war
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2019 via mobile

A vast structure, lush gilded decorations, and, sadly, dozens of memorial plaques with hundreds of names of sailors lost in sea battles and storms, with dates and brief descriptions of tragic events

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank VladimirM910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2019

This is also a must see when in St. Petersburg. The inside is as beautiful and the outside. We took many pictures.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2019

We visited this cathedral as a ceremony was in full swing - donations of food brought by the wealthy to be given to the needy and blessed beforehand! They were gearing up for the big Easter ceremony with lighting etc. A complete contrast inside to the Church of the Spilled Blood.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank serenacM2949EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2019

The cathedral for the navy with it golden Baroque spires and domes shines among the trees of the surrounding park and hosts a huge number of impressive icons.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2019

This is the most impressive Cathedral, which is located in Kronstadt, near St. Petersburg. If you book a tour with a travel company, you can easily reach Kronstadt. I booked a tour with Best Guides St. Petersburg. Kronstadt Cathedral is not only very beautiful (it was recently renovated and looks great). It is also dedicated to the naval history of Russia and will be of interest to all history lovers. Be sure to take the time to visit this place!

Date of experience: March 2019
5  Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews