We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Naval Cathedral of Saint Nicholas in Kronstadt
Open today: 10:00 - 19:00
Review Highlights
Built in the neo-Byzantine style the temple I s huge and visible from afar.

The Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in the neo-Byzantine style, is huge and... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2022
Alexander_Kudrin
,
Samara, Russia
via mobile
Kronstadt is worth a trip from St.Petersburg

Kronstadt is only a half an hour drive away from amazing St.Peterburg, but it is worth the trip... read more

Reviewed 17 April 2022
Preinl
,
Wiesbaden, Germany
Read all 2,746 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveller rating
2,396
286
51
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,396
286
51
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews naval cathedral worth the trip lots of history petersburg sailors names walls structure brick plaques frescoes nicholas meters construction war
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2022 via mobile

The Naval Cathedral of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker, built in the neo-Byzantine style, is huge and visible from afar.
This is the tallest building in the city. The total height of the Naval Cathedral is 70.5 meters. However, it does not look massive due to the fact that it is built of white brick.
Inside, the cathedral is spacious and bright thanks to the many windows on the drum of the central dome.
Along the perimeter are black marble plaques with the names of the dead sailors and ships.
We took a tour under the dome of the cathedral. Climbing to a height of 52 meters rewards you with a stunning view of the frescoes of the dome and a circular view of Kronstadt. We were told the history of the cathedral from its construction to the present day. The acoustics here are amazing - if two people stand opposite each other through the dome, clinging to the walls, you can clearly hear a person from the opposite side, although the distance here is 26 meters.
From here you can clearly see the mosaics and stained-glass windows of the temple, as well as the place where an unexploded German bomb fell during the war.
Definitely worth a trip!

Date of experience: July 2022
14  Thank Alexander_Kudrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2022

Not sure I would make this a must see but if you here it’s OK.

Easy access from nearby parking.

The building itself is fairly impressive and worth a quick photo.

Lots of history here.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2022

Kronstadt is only a half an hour drive away from amazing St.Peterburg, but it is worth the trip. The Cathedral is beautiful.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank Preinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

It is an impressive building that you cannot miss passing it by. The inside view is unforgettable. I only took outside pictures, because I think everyone has to make his /her own first impression him/herself. The entrance is free, but if to take a the guided tour to the roof level, the price is reasonable.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Vacation14294292087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2021

This fabulous Cathedral is set in Kronstadt on Kotlin island in the Finnish bay.
The island has a strategic position guarding the sea approach to St. Pet.
While planning our trip, when I saw pictures of this Cathedral here on TA I was sure I'll visit it. It approved right, as it is extremely beautiful - even the only rainy day on our 10 day Russia tour didn't spoil my impressions.
The Naval Cathedral was built only in 1903 in honor of all fallen sailors. This terrific neo Byzantine edifice was turned into a cinema and naval museum during the communist era. It was returned to Russia Orthodox Church only in 2002.
Today it's a working Church and we were lucky to be there at the mass. Outstanding exterior hides terrific beauty inside.
HOW to reach it ?
Combine the Naval Cathedral with your Peterhof summer Palace visit (read that review).
From St. Pet center to Naval Cathedral is around 40 min taxi ride (around 15$), just make sure you have the Yandex app installed.
Arrange with the driver to WAIT while you visit, you need around 20 min, tip him for that. Finding taxi in Kronstadt is not that easy, and even if you do, local taxis are unwilling to drive further.
Another 30 min ride and 15$ will take you to Peterhof. After visiting the Palace complex you have many options to return to St. Pet.
In that way you'll make a huge loop around St. Petersburg area and a very memorable day.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank BrakiWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews