We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Langtoft B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
725 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“A tranquil haven”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After a busy week, our visit for dinner was very calm and relaxing. The menu is an interesting one with traditional dishes with a twist. My grilled asparagus spears with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce was very pleasant. My guest had a plain Caesar Salad which looked good and, apparently, lived up to its looks! Following her vegetarian theme, my guest had Homemade nut roast in puff pastry served with a creamy mushroom sauce which she raved about. I had the rack of lamb 3 rib in a redcurrant jus served on a bed of crushed
minted new potatoes - perfectly cooked and very filling! The restaurant and lounge bar are very comfortable and lend themselves to such an evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    32
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
46
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I remember coming here on speial occasions as a child and it being a very grand place and so when looking round places to hold our forthcoming wedding we went for a visit.
We found the staff extremely unorganised even though we had made an appointment and had to go into a small personal office and wait while they eventually found some wedding photos on a computer.
We were than given an impropmptu tour of the rooms although they were unsure of which were occupied so it was hit and miss whether they were made up or not.
The main restaurant was quite nice it was in desperate need of a coat of paint and some decorating both in there and the function room as was the exterior.

We had already booked a sunday lunch for the next weekend with the inlaws to try the food so we came back. The dinner was nice although like previous reviews we were literally 'hounded' by the dogs who wandered where they liked. Although a dog person myself i believe if you have an eating environment they should be kept well away.

All in all i believe the Old mill is in desperate need of renovation and an update and although nice enough food i believe at the moment the prices they charge both for meals and for wedding packages are far too high for what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meebee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary N, Owner at The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
I think it is rather strange that it has taken the reviewer over 9 months to post their comments. I must emphasize some of the circumstances about this visit. The couple arranged an appointment the day following a wedding hosted here. I tried to arrange another day but the couple insisted this particular day was the most convenient. They also arrived over half an hour early - hence, our 2 chambermaids were working flat out to service all the rooms as the wedding guests were still departing. Had the couple adhered to their appointment time I would have had our wedding portfolio already displayed on the computer. The hotel exterior was completely repainted at the end of September just after the couple visited, and the decorators then refurbished the function room, lounge, bar and stairs + upper corridors. In November all our bedrooms have been refurbished and replacement bedding and curtains fitted. We have a rolling programme to redecorate throughout, every 2 years - but it does have to fit in with our finances!
I cannot accept the comment about our dogs. They never "wander all over the place" or "hound" people - in fact we get significant repeat business form guests who return to see our dogs and can't believe how placid and well trained they are!
In conclusion I would ask readers to look at our other reviews - some are from couples who have had their wedding here - all of which are extremely complimentary. The couples who actually have their wedding here and experience the service, food and ambience we offer, find the cost more than reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stopped here for a one night stay, good location, secure and plenty of parking.
Its close to a lot of attractions and its in a very quiet and secluded area away from the hustle and bustle of the seaside and city centres.
The hotel caters for everyone's needs, nothings to much trouble whether your man or beast.
We got there in the afternoon after spending the day in York, we had enough time to relax and have a drink before dinner.
The food was excellent, well presented, full flavoured and perfectly cooked, although there's no children's menu as such they do cater for children and make them what ever they fancy.
Although they're animals at the hotel (3 Labradors and 2 cats) they are well behaved, not wondering around everywhere (as expected), and to be honest, you hardly ever see them, and you don't get that animal smell in the hotel either.
My daughter was a bit disappointed, when I told her that the owner had a chocolate lab, but not the sort that Willy Wonka has!!!
The hotel and rooms were spotless, wi-fi was strong with good range.
In the room you get tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, his n hers bathrobes and plenty of towels, the only thing missing was an iron, but I bet the owners would have one somewhere (they had everything else), the bed was big, with a comfy mattress and fluffy pillows (not ones you have to fold half a dozen times) the bedding was Egyptian cotton and was clean and fresh.
The only downside if I was to be really picky was that the toilet cistern was quite noisy when filling up, but other than that, there was no other issues.
Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day, there was cereals, fruit and natural yogurt, as a buffet style on offer and in with the price was a cooked breakfast. they're different choices, but we had a full English.
What more can I say!
See you next time...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazgt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We booked our room last minute the night before our stay. After failling to find anywhere in scarborough to stay last minute due to bank holiday weekend we searched further a field and found the old mill.

Not knowing what to expect we were exceptionally pleased with our stay.

First impressions were great, surrounded by rolling countryside , its a picturesque setting, the grounds are very colourful and well kept.

We were greeted inside by Gary (owner) and shown upto our family room.

The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated with a good sized double bed (very comfortable). There was a set of bunk beds for our daughter (8yrs) to sleep in, which really pleased her !

Evening meals and breakfast here are a must ! Kathy (owner) does all the cooking and is amazing at what she does. The food was delicious and very well presented, not badly priced either .

The four labradors that live here are very laid back and are at ease around guests, they were in the bar area at breakfast but never once did they enter the eating areas as mentioned in previous reviews.

We thank Gary and Kathy for making our short stay in yorkshire a good one, we will be back in august for a longer stay and next time we will be bringing our dog with us.

Thanks again Zoe, Darran and Cori xx


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Looking for a place to stay for a three day on a mid week Geocaching trip, we came across the Old Mill on a Google search. Not too sure what the place would be like we were very pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the welcome and the clean, homeliness of the hotel. Gary and Kathie run a very tidy ship. Kathie's cooking is second to none, filling and a great choice. The hotel is quiet and peaceful - none of the usual traffic noise in a town location.
It made a very welcome change to be able to take our geohound with us to stay - he was made to feel part of the family and was introduced to Gary and Kathies 4 'Boys' (charming Labradors)
We had already planned to complete two geocaching series near Watton and, after explaining what it was all about Kathie asked us to mention it in the write up.
All in all excellent value for money - we will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

A very welcoming and quiet place for a long weekend. Thanks to Gary and Kathie for being excellent hosts. Kathie's cooking is fantastic. Breakfast - very big - fills you up for the day. Excellent dinners with very good choice on the menu. Great dinning room. Nice to sit by the fire with a drink, read a book and unwind. Of course being a dog friendly hotel, our little West Highland terrier, Teddy, also had a good time. Rooms are clean and warm. Thank you. Hope to be back. Anthony and Fiona

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We desperately needed a weekend away to unwind and recharge our batteries. From the moment we arrived, the old mill has done this and so much more.
Exceptional customer service, fantastic venue, great rooms, lovely communal areas and the most incredible array of fine quality foods.
I cannot commend this hotel high enough, simply perfection. Many thanks for a great stay and AMAZING food, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAllenYork_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langtoft
6.5 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
6.4 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.1 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#9 of 17 in Driffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Address: The Old Mill Mill Lane, Langtoft, Driffield YO25 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Langtoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Langtoft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Hotel & Restaurant Langtoft, Driffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing