We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First of many visits”
Review of The Chestnut tree

The Chestnut tree
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Wednesbury
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: New construction (including new exit off the "ikea island" near Gallagher retail park off the m6 motorway junction 9)
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First of many visits”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited today for the first time with my partner were given a lovely warm welcome and offered a table straight away. Bar staff were very pleasant, polite and smiley. Food was lovely "proper" roasties not frozen will definatly go again. Lovely atmosphere and so nice not to do the washing up!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura195507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to give a review,

It's always great to hear that our customers have enjoyed their visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Dee and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    142
    103
    50
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“poor customer service. food not much better”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

First visit in over a year. We had the carvery which was nice.. all going well until we ordered pudding and drinks... my son had a flat lager, i had a very strange tasting rum and coke. then we ordered two chocolate flake cheesecakes, mine came without any chocolate flakes on.. my sons came without the ice cream ,, they were tasteless and over priced, The barmaid didn't have a clue... i asked her if the carrot cake had nuts in.. she said i don't know... then only ordered one cake when we asked for two, my son asked what bottled beer they sold, she gave him a choice of 3, he asked for a bottle of becks.. after returning to our table he noticed it was none alcoholic.. he returned it to the bar.. and was told they only sold none alcoholic becks.. he told them it wasn't what he asked for.. and they refused to change it as the bottle had been opened! the staff were rude, with no good customer service. will not be returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jules6989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi and thank you for your review,

sorry to hear your visit was not up to standard.

We are aware of the confusion on this shift and have highlighted it as a training issue, and have since held a training session about product knowledge and customer service with all existing and new staff.

We are glad to see that you and some of your party have since returned and hope you continue to in the future.

Kind Regards

Dee and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice staff friendly got told we would have to wait 20mins for a table no problem we said 5mins later boom got our table fantasic service really nice food clean tidy cosy place.

Helpful?
Thank Koo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are hapy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon!

Dee and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mothers day treat”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our first visit to The Chestnut Tree, after several recommendations from friends and family we decided to try somewhere different.We have a large family, today there were 13 but at times there can be double this. No problems accommodating our needs, the food arrived quickly and was hot, which has been a problem for other places in the past.Several of us had the Carvery and others had meals from the menu, which judging from the empty plates went down well.If you have any room to spare try the carrot cake but if not they do a take away service, which went down nicely with a cup of tea at home later.The staff are very polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.My Nephew was a little upset when he arrived as he needed a screw driver to put the batteries in his new walkie talkies he had just bought, cheekily we asked if they could help, a screw driver was found, making a little boy very happy.Thank you for a lovely Mothers day, the daffodils for every Mom was a lovely touch.We will definitely be going back, reasonably priced, good food, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review,

It's great to hear that we made your Mother's Day enjoyable. It's always good to know what we are doing right. We hope his power rangers walkie talkies are still going strong! Hope to see you here again soon.

Dee and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Place on the up and up”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The wife and I go here for our Sunday Roast , although not the cheapest it is good value for money and Carvery is cheaper in the week. Never tried the set Menu so cannot comment on that .Place is very clean and all the Staff are so friendly and polite. Recommend by a lovely couple we know and we in turn have recommend this Place to Friends and they have said they would use this Place again as they enjoyed the experience and the food as much as my wife and I .Special Regards to Jane one of the front of house staff and also to assistant manager Jenny , both of who always ask if our meals are OK . NB:The gravy is much improved Mmmm

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

It's great to know our delicious carvery is receiving great reviews. We pride ourselves on offering fresh tasty meals no matter what day or time people visit.

We hope to see you again this Sunday :)

Dee and The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chestnut tree also viewed

 
Penkridge, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Chestnut tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing