We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th time food crap”
Review of The Chestnut tree

The Chestnut tree
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Wednesbury
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: New construction (including new exit off the "ikea island" near Gallagher retail park off the m6 motorway junction 9)
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sat 3/5/2014 5th time at the pub started full so far so good. Two of use had carvery 2lots of meat stat 2slices meat no yorky cook to fetch some, got my veg, still waiting yorky, no onion gravy, colliflower cold Yorky came still frozen so cook tried again yes we got YORKY later our meals were cold WE SHALL NOT EAT HERE ANYMORE AND WILL TELL OTHERS.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wayneBloxwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

we are sorry to read that your experience was not satisfactory.

We use all comments as a starting board to work from to implement improvements. We have looked at the staffing levels on that day also our sales report and have used it to better improve the service offered. This obviously doesn't change the fact you didn't enjoy your experience. Hopefully you will give us another go, and you will see that from your feedback we have altered and improved our service to ensure that the carvery deck is constantly stocked up and backed up during busy periods.

Dee and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 471 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in after shopping. Missed carvery time. Ordered food. Waitress very friendly. Place kept clean and tidy. Food didnt take long but was average. The potatoes and veg had obv been on carvery earlier. Pots dried out. Carrots were more like tinned than fresh.no taste and had lost orange colour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smudgie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have used this place a lot, they ever do Gluten free bread if you fancy a sandwich. only complaint is the car park is small considering the trade they do at weekend but if you park on the car park over the road belonging to the sports gear shop it is only a short walk

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Deefasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to the chestnut tree ..for one of our service users birthdays we were there for 10 to 12 got a seat in a nice quiet area ...bar service was great very healful...we got our food almost straight away ...the roast potatoes were from the day before the boiled potatoes were rock hard and well what a choice of veg ...I know u carnt please everyone but please put fresh potatoes on when u first open .....

1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee s, Manager at The Chestnut tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review,

we are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit to us.

We pride ourselves on offering fresh food on our carvery deck no matter what time of day you come. We are lucky to have in our kitchen the equipment to handle the cooking / steaming of all our food, therefore we have no need to hold any 'old' stock. The vegetables are steamed fresh every serving and we have a constant supply of fresh roasties in the ovens during the day, anything that is not consumed by our customers is logged as waste and disposed off.

Again we apologise that your visit wasn't so great but we do hope that you come and give us another go and will have a better experience.

Dee and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I recently visited the chestnut tree in Wednesbury for an evening meal, the staff were very friendly and the fosters was very nice, I ordered the 8oz rump steak and I have to say it was done to perfection and just the way I like it. I asked for medium and it came out exactly that way. The waitress was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, I think her name was Emma. Overall food and customer service is fantastic and will be recommending it to my friends and family! Will be returning here soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sarahwinstable82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chestnut tree also viewed

Penkridge, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Wednesbury, Sandwell
Wednesbury, Sandwell
 

Been to The Chestnut tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing