We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its finest in a beautiful location”
Review of Cortijo El Guarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cortijo El Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I visited el cortijo for a short break and found two things jump out:
- Hans and Miranda (owners) find an excellent balance in making you feel at home and taking care of you and facilitating what you want and could do during your stay.
- The place is extremely beautiful and so stylefully decorated which, combined with the environment, makes it ideal to relax and make some daytrips.
A strong and warm recommendation for anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy Andalucia at its best. No doubts, try it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank asperine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are very happy that the two of you liked your stay here. It was a real pleasure to have you here. We hope that your golf course in Portugal was successful and that next time you will chose Andalusia as your golf destination and may be spend a few days again at El Guarda.
Anyhow we hope to see the two of you soon again. Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

My boyfriend and I had one lovely night at Miranda and Hans place, Cortijo El Guarda. They made our stay unforgettable! I would definitely recommend this place to everyone who wants to relax and eat good food in wonderful surroundings. Miranda and Hans is a lovely couple that make you feel more than welcome. We will come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

All our guests are special to us. All bring their own little thing to make El Guarda not only a business but also a lovely place to live.
With guests like you it makes it easy to work here and have fun in the same time. Thanks for passing by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We planned a 9 days city trip through Andalusia and our trip started at cortijo El Guarda. Well our choice couldn't be better. El Guarda with its hosts Hans and Miranda located in the typical Spanish rural landscape is an oasis of rest, friendliness and hospitality. It genuinely makes you feel being at home surrounded by friends.
We were lucky, that due to a sudden cancellation we were the only ones staying in el Guarda. It gave us the chance to get a tour along the different rooms. Each one of them has been carefully styled and has it’s own beauty. The rooms are furnished with the best beds we have slept on while being away from home. So after a very good nights sleep it was almost, getting up was very harsh. But the very nice breakfast that was waiting for us helped us getting out of bed.
Writing this and thinking back of El Guarda, gives me that holiday feeling back, that’s when you know something has been good

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVE_SdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear A&S,
Thanks for your kind words. However, you forgot to mention our special 'Send clothes to Holland' service :-)
And so you see having a cancellation has its good side as well. It was great having you here. Good luck with your endeavours and till the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Cortijo El Guarda is a truly special place. My husband and I spent 4 nights at this gorgeous little B&B in May 2012 and can't wait to return. This traditional Andalucian property has been recently renovated and the furnishing and decor is modern and sumptuous whilst complementing the true Spanish character of the house. Bedrooms are centred around a cobbled courtyard and are all unique and individual but equally stunning. The beds are the comfiest that we have ever slept in, so much so that we had to force ourselves out in the morning so that we didn't waste the day!

We spent a lot of our time relaxing by the swimming pool as it was such a beautiful and tranquil place, surrounded by farmland and wild flowers, but there are certainly plenty of opportunities for sightseeing within easy driving distance of the property. We spent an afternoon in Ronda, an unexpectedly stunning city and visited the roman ruins at Acinipo, a fascinating site, without the hoards of tourists (and a friendly donkey as an added bonus!). The drive up to the white villages of Grazalema and Zahara de la Sierra was also breathtaking. Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Jerez de la Frontera are all doable day trips if you can drag yourself away from the pool!

But the best thing about Cortijo El Guarda is the owners Hans and Miranda. They made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately Hans had to return to Holland during our stay but we really felt like we made a friend in Miranda and enjoyed a wonderful meal with her and had some lovely chats over a few glasses of wine in the courtyard. Miranda and I also spent a fabulous afternoon horse riding near Olvera, which was a wonderful way to explore the surrounding coutryside.

If you're looking for a luxurious and relaxing place to stay in the Andalucian countrside then Cortijo el Guarda is without a doubt the place to choose. Trust me, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous in their own unique way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotsWayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Jee, you should start writing a tourist guide on the is in the heart of Andalucia (as Ronda calls itselves) and indeed Sevilla, Córdoba, Málaga, Jerez and Granada are on our doorstep.
Indeed I (Hans) had to leave for Holland and listened afterwards - a bit jealous - to Miranda´s stories. So you have to return, if only for me.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt totally at ease. The warm welcome, the beautiful surroundings and the impressive cortijo made us forget about daily life at once. There is plenty of sightseeing (Ronda, Sevilla, the white villages, etc) to do and Hans&Miranda also have nice tours you can do by car. In addition, you can relax by the fire place with a nice glass of wine and a book from the library. They even have a chef who cooks several nights per week. Very nice if you dont want to go out to town. All in all, a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thanks for the kind words, it was great fun to have you here and we are soooo glad that Pluvius didn't ruin your short break, thank God Andalusia is more than just the sun and we are happy to add a bit to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Wow - what a wonderful place to rest, relax and explore the Andalucian region The property has been beautifully renovated whilst maintaining it's traditional and unique heritage, and is located in a lovely quiet spot close to the small town of Alcala del Valle. Miranda and Hans have left absolutely no stone unturned in their desire to create a warm and welcoming environment for their guests. All of the five bedrooms, as well as the spacious kitchen/ lounge and sitting/library area for guests are superbly appointed, for example with high quality bedding, extra large beds, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in rooms, robes and much, much more. I was there for a chilly spring weekend and envy their summer guests who can also take advantage of the wonderful pool and numerous outdoor seating areas. The breakfast was delicious and extensive. I would not hesitate to recommend El Guarda to anyone searching for a relaxing and luxurious place to stay. Thank you Miranda and Hans, and of course Sam their very well behaved dog, for providing me with such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarda, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thanks for your kind words Hannah, coming from someone who traveled all over the place this means a lot to us. Hope you Spanish Crash Course is coming on well. Enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelMarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortijo E, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cortijo El Guarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo El Guarda

Address: Carreterra de Olvera, S/N, Km 5, 11693 Alcala del Valle, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Alcala del Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alcala del Valle
Price Range: £103 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo El Guarda 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Guarda is a beautiful 500 year old Cortijo converted into a luxureous Bed and Breakfast, situated in a picturesque valley close to the historical city of Ronda. The elegant country accommodation is a typical Andalucían farm that recently has been renovated with care in order to keep its traditional style, combined with modern comfort. It is the ideal place to get away from it all and enjoy the slow pace of the real Spanish country living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cortijo El Guarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing