We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Andalusian Luxury...”
Review of Cortijo El Guarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortijo El Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A 5 star hotel with a genuine personal touch...I finally found one.

We spent 2 nights here and can only say how truly lovely it was. From its stunning location, its beautiful design and layout with manicured gardens and pool, through to the delicious dining and charming hosts, you really couldn't want more for a getaway from normal life.

We have only good things to say about Miranda and Hans is little oasis...nothing is too much trouble for them in ensuring you have a really memorable trip to this spectacular region.

A big, big, thank you to you both.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Of course we don't get that often guests from Down Under, but when we do it is always good fun, relaxed in combination with some good chats. People giving up jobs to travel the world and follow their dreams are the ones we envy. Cherish your memories as long as you can
Thanks for choosing El Guarda to stay a few nights here and we are genuinely happy that you liked it as you wrote. And when the time comes for you guys to follow another dream and start that B&B, let us know and can hopefully visit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Cortijo El Guarda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We, were only here for one night, really wished it was longer, will definitely be back. Miranda and Hans and Sammy the dog are the best. Made to feel genuinely welcome. Beautiful location, brilliant room. Hosts very informative about local area and what to do, just wished we had more time to do everything. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write this kind review.
Indeed, you stayed only short with us here at El Guarda, but it was a huge pleasure for us to have you here. We hope to see you again in the near future so that you can enjoy even more everything this part of Andalusia has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sometimes you wonder how establishments get a five star rating from all of their visitors - this weekend we found out. We spent three nights with Miranda and Hans, and from the moment they welcomed us into their home to our last breakfast eveything was wonderful.
They are superb hosts - ensuring everything we needed, any information or recommendation asked for was attended to. The food was a delight throughout - each breakfast a delight of simplicity but thoroughly tasty, and if they suggest having dinner with them, put away any inhibitions about spending dinner with your fellow guests (fear not, M&H seem to attract only entertaining and interesting people to their Cortijo!) as the food they prepare is wonderfully flavoursome and served with finesse alongside some fine wines.
The setting is spectacular (with the change of weather you could be in Ireland, Tuscany or Southern France at different times) and, in our humble opinions, M&H have set about restoring and restyling the property with senistivity towards its original heritage but with all the elegance one would expect of a fine boutique hotel. (Hans, if you ever you sell it, please let me know!)
In essense, the setting and accommodation are stunning, the food is excellent but what makes it outstanding is the hospitality.
As a PS, as I don't think it has any website or info on here, M&H will recommend Polear in the nearby village. No menu, four delicious courses, the best service I've ever experienced anywhere in the world, wonderful wine - we guessed at the bill before its arrival - anything from €100 - €300 - it was €55 for the two of us. They too would have a five star rating if they were on here

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mynwy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an in depth and extensive review. And a special thanks for mentioning our friends from the local restaurant (we are not allowed to mention names here, but they are on TripAdvisor), the guys can use support in this crisis.
We have said it before but nothing makes us more happy than happy guests and that's how we saw you go.
We are looking forward to meet you guys again and may be we might join you in your new hobby: horseback riding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had a wonderful night at Cortijo. Hans and Miranda were wonderful hosts, gracious. I needed a quiet, restful place to unwind from work and that's exactly what it was. Breakfast was fresh and delicious and wonderful for meeting other travelers. My room was so unique, old, representing the generations of family members living here. However, the amenities were perfect and modern - lovely bathroom, wonderful linens, art work. Went on a lovely hike in the olive orchards. I will definitely come back and bring my friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

What a special visit, a lady travelling solo through Andalucia, telling us that the pictures of El Guarda gave her the final push to visit the country. How proud can we be?? A pity that you stay was a bit short and we are looking for you to return. Good luck with you last period in Phnom Phen and of course in your new assignment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I agree with all the reviews about Cortijo El Guarda,
Elegant, cousy, clean, comfortable, good price, good location, quiet,
and Miranda and Hans, they are the best part of the place, they make you feel in your best friends home.

My husband and I recomend this place

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful and comfortable and diferent,
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaelvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear both, all reviews are very important to us, but yours coming from a couple that trravels every year for 40 days through Spain it means even more. We envy you for still having the spirit to do this. We enjoyed having you as our guests at chatting about one if our mutual loves: Mexico. Suerte y hasta la proxima.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

…so what is it that one expects from a B&B in Andalusia?! Hans & Miranda go way beyond the stereotype concept of running a Bed & Breakfast…the pleasantly warm Southern Spanish temperatures are nothing compared to the warm welcome and stunning hospitality you receive the very first second you enter the property. Sam the dog is clearly a product of his "bosses" Hans and Miranda and is gifted with the same ridiculous level of friendliness and warmth.

In short: if you are looking for an Andalusian-centric place to relax and an epicenter to explore the area (many things-to-see-and-do within a striking range of 1 hour drive) then stop your search and instead book a room at Cortijo El Guarda.

Unlike the "once-in-a-lifetime-experience" often referred to for nice locations, Hans & Miranda will make you turn this into a "I-would-like-to-go-back-here-as-soon-as-possible"-experience. And the beauty of it is: Hans & Miranda do not put up an act to be a nice host, they simply are who they are which makes their kindness even more real & sincere.

We would like to invite travelers from all over the globe (Hans & Miranda would like to welcome as many different nationalities as possible) to treat yourself with a wonderful stay at El Guarda - and we can assure you: you are going to love it, just as much as we did!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAn7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Its certainly our turn to say Wow as well. Thanks for you extreme nice words to describe your stay with us here at El Guarda. We know that you had planned to come over for quite some time and we are really grateful that you finally did. It was a great pleasure to have you here and we are looking forward to meet you again. Good luck with your new business challenges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I agree with everything that Laingtin wrote, Hans and Miranda are fantastic. They greeted us with a cold glass of white wine on arrival and showed us around the property making us feel instantly welcome. The 500 year old property is stunning and furnished to a high standard. Our room #1 was large, bathroom huge and has a private secluded patio that gets the sun in the afternoon. Stay up late and star gaze from the loungers. Miranda has a 'treasure chest' of maps and advice on places go and see, we travelled out to Cadiz, Seville, Cordoba, Ronda etc. but were always glad to get 'home' to El Guarda. Do not miss the opportunity to dine Mon, Wed and Friday the food is home cooked, high class restaurant standard with extras - watch the sun go down and the stars come out while you enjoy the great company and conversation of your hosts (and guests). On other evenings try Polear in the village, you will be delighted by the quality of the food. We spent a few days on our own by the beautiful pool - with so little noise we could have been on a desert island. Stay away from the coast there is so much more to see in Andalucía. Cortijo El Guarda is a retreat that you will be sad to leave - 10 days were not long enough. We look forward to returning and have nothing but happy memories of our stay. Don't worry about Sam the dog, he is so placid and well mannered you will hardly notice he is there, unless of course you want to play 'fetch the ball' with him he is more than willing companion. Thanks Hans and Miranda for such a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: 2 rooms have patios, room 1 has private secluded patio and gets the sun in the afternoon. Stay up la...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 789P789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We were sad to see you guys go after these 10 days. We thanks you for the conversations, the laughs and the quality time you have also givento us. We are happy that you felt at home away from home and that we could contribute a bit to that.
Thanks for your kind words in the review and the time you took to write in such an extensive way. We also highly appreciate your compliments about the Polear Brothers as they can use every type of support in these dificult days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala del Valle
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
22.2 mi away
Hacienda la Morena
Hacienda la Morena
#1 of 2 in Montellano
133 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,191 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
622 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo El Guarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo El Guarda

Address: Carreterra de Olvera, S/N, Km 5, 11693 Alcala del Valle, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Alcala del Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alcala del Valle
Price Range: £121 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo El Guarda 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Guarda is a beautiful 500 year old Cortijo converted into a luxureous Bed and Breakfast, situated in a picturesque valley close to the historical city of Ronda. The elegant country accommodation is a typical Andalucían farm that recently has been renovated with care in order to keep its traditional style, combined with modern comfort. It is the ideal place to get away from it all and enjoy the slow pace of the real Spanish country living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cortijo El Guarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing