We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant fault this hotel anywhere!”
Review of Cortijo El Guarda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortijo El Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cant fault this hotel anywhere!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed with Miranda and Hans for 3 nights at Cortijo in July and the whole expereince was one of the best.The rooms,the surroundings, the breakfast,the wonderful assistance from Miranda and Hans made this stay one of our best in Europe.We cant reccommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Bow, bow, bow. Reviews like this make us feel humble, happy and proud in the same time. Thank you very much. Knowing that you travel a lot and have seen the world let these words mean even more for us. Muchas gracias and we hope to meet again if you ever visit this part of the world in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
162
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a lovely week we had in the beautiful Cortijo of Hans and Miranda!! We arrived at night, but after a night in the magnificent beds we were able to enjoy the unique beauty of El Guarda. The pool is great (it was quite hot at end of July), as was breakfast. Every other day there is the possibility to stay for dinner. The Spanish cook knows her way around the kitchen, an absolute must-do during your stay!
Hans & Miranda’s service and involvement with their guests is unique, they really go the extra mile to make you feel at home. They advise you on the best parkings en highlights for your trips and show sincere interest in you as a guest. Sam the dog is a true addition to the B&B, him being well-behaved and sweet makes you feel right at home.
A car is definitely a must given the location, but the trips through the gorgeous landscapes are an experience on itself. El Guarda is the perfect place to discover the beauty of Andalusia and Hans and Miranda will make sure all your needs are tended to whilst doing it.

Room Tip: We slept in one of the classic rooms with a small private terrace, very quiet and romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickvanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your kind words in this extensive review. Knowing how busy you are we appreciate the time you took to write this even more. It was more than a pleasure for us to get to know you and we enjoyed the time spent together.
We wish the both of you good luck in your new endeavours and hope to so you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a wonderful find this place is. Me and my girlfriend only had booked here for one night, but straight away wished it was much much more..!
On arrival was met with drinks by Hans and Miranda, who were very friendly and informal which put us at ease and they told us all the answers to our questions, even recommending a spot for lunch which turned out to be my favourite meal of our 3 week trip.
The room was FANTASTIC, the bed being so comfortable and everywhere being spotlessly clean.
The grounds were equally impressive, it may have taken the owners 3 years of renovations to complete, but in my eyes, they couldn't have done a better job in turning the place into what i would call a beautiful Andalusian countryside retreat.
On the morning of check out, we had been extremely lazy and missed breakfast, but to my surprise, we were met with fruit, cereals, yogurt and coffee before our departure which was an extra nice touch and just goes to show how accommodating this place truly is.
I could not recommend enough.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time for such an in-depth and kindly worded review.
We also found it a pity that you guys only stayed for a night but that's how things sometimes go, both on ones holiday as well as in this business.... If only. The flip side is that there will always an opportunity for a second chance. Drinks will be ready and so will be breakfast and I am sure the guys at Polear as well. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We only had 2 nights at Corijo El Guarda which was nowhere near enough. It was a beautiful resort and the hosts, Miranda and Hans made us feel welcome from the first moment we arrived. They are very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and provided well resourced lists of things to do and see. I would highly recommend this to anyone

Room Tip: all rooms are good. FYI there is no fitness centre but I could not delete the rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie2urist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Whenever we expect Australian guests we always look forward to the relaxed attitude and holiday mode that they are in. With you it was the same, no stress and lots of 'not to worry mate'. That make life for us accommodation owners even more pleasant.
Thanks for choosing our cortijo as one of the places to stay for your trip to Europe and of course for the kind words and compliments used in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A 5 star hotel with a genuine personal touch...I finally found one.

We spent 2 nights here and can only say how truly lovely it was. From its stunning location, its beautiful design and layout with manicured gardens and pool, through to the delicious dining and charming hosts, you really couldn't want more for a getaway from normal life.

We have only good things to say about Miranda and Hans is little oasis...nothing is too much trouble for them in ensuring you have a really memorable trip to this spectacular region.

A big, big, thank you to you both.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Of course we don't get that often guests from Down Under, but when we do it is always good fun, relaxed in combination with some good chats. People giving up jobs to travel the world and follow their dreams are the ones we envy. Cherish your memories as long as you can
Thanks for choosing El Guarda to stay a few nights here and we are genuinely happy that you liked it as you wrote. And when the time comes for you guys to follow another dream and start that B&B, let us know and can hopefully visit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We, were only here for one night, really wished it was longer, will definitely be back. Miranda and Hans and Sammy the dog are the best. Made to feel genuinely welcome. Beautiful location, brilliant room. Hosts very informative about local area and what to do, just wished we had more time to do everything. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write this kind review.
Indeed, you stayed only short with us here at El Guarda, but it was a huge pleasure for us to have you here. We hope to see you again in the near future so that you can enjoy even more everything this part of Andalusia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sometimes you wonder how establishments get a five star rating from all of their visitors - this weekend we found out. We spent three nights with Miranda and Hans, and from the moment they welcomed us into their home to our last breakfast eveything was wonderful.
They are superb hosts - ensuring everything we needed, any information or recommendation asked for was attended to. The food was a delight throughout - each breakfast a delight of simplicity but thoroughly tasty, and if they suggest having dinner with them, put away any inhibitions about spending dinner with your fellow guests (fear not, M&H seem to attract only entertaining and interesting people to their Cortijo!) as the food they prepare is wonderfully flavoursome and served with finesse alongside some fine wines.
The setting is spectacular (with the change of weather you could be in Ireland, Tuscany or Southern France at different times) and, in our humble opinions, M&H have set about restoring and restyling the property with senistivity towards its original heritage but with all the elegance one would expect of a fine boutique hotel. (Hans, if you ever you sell it, please let me know!)
In essense, the setting and accommodation are stunning, the food is excellent but what makes it outstanding is the hospitality.
As a PS, as I don't think it has any website or info on here, M&H will recommend Polear in the nearby village. No menu, four delicious courses, the best service I've ever experienced anywhere in the world, wonderful wine - we guessed at the bill before its arrival - anything from €100 - €300 - it was €55 for the two of us. They too would have a five star rating if they were on here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mynwy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda_and_Hans, Owner at Cortijo El Guarda, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an in depth and extensive review. And a special thanks for mentioning our friends from the local restaurant (we are not allowed to mention names here, but they are on TripAdvisor), the guys can use support in this crisis.
We have said it before but nothing makes us more happy than happy guests and that's how we saw you go.
We are looking forward to meet you guys again and may be we might join you in your new hobby: horseback riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcala del Valle
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
22.2 mi away
Hacienda la Morena
Hacienda la Morena
#1 of 2 in Montellano
132 reviews
16.6 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
382 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Enfrente Arte
Hotel Enfrente Arte
#2 of 40 in Ronda
702 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo El Guarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo El Guarda

Property: Cortijo El Guarda
Address: Carreterra de Olvera, S/N, Km 5, 11693 Alcala del Valle, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Alcala del Valle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alcala del Valle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo El Guarda 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Guarda is a beautiful 500 year old Cortijo converted into a luxureous Bed and Breakfast, situated in a picturesque valley close to the historical city of Ronda. The elegant country accommodation is a typical Andalucían farm that recently has been renovated with care in order to keep its traditional style, combined with modern comfort. It is the ideal place to get away from it all and enjoy the slow pace of the real Spanish country living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cortijo El Guarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing