We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Augill Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Augill Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in Langdale, and had a wonderful time. I'd chosen the room based on the beautiful four poster bed and the real fire, and we weren't disappointed. The informal set up of the hotel really suited us, from the honesty bar to the large shared dining table.
We had dinner at the hotel on our first night, and each course was delicious - I'd recommend it. Breakfasts were also great, a good selection of high quality food.
We also really enjoyed learning about the history of the building in the information provided in the room, and the photo book in the music room. Having facilities to store food in the small kitchen was also really handy, and made the place feel very homely.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, giving us tips on how to connect to the wifi (go downstairs to connect then take your device upstairs) and suggestions for where to eat out. A place like this can't run so well without brilliant staff so they really made our stay.
We'd love to stay again and try out another of the beautiful rooms!

Room Tip: We stayed in Langdale - front of the castle, four poster bed, real fire. A beautiful room, as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbriancastle, Owner at Augill Castle, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Emma

Thank you for your lovely review. We have been so fortunate to have such wonderful people coming to stay with us this year and to have a run of such wonderful reviews highlighting the positives (I'll probably have spoken too soon!!) Yes, our staff are fabulous and we couldn't do it all without them. Nothing here is perfect but it's all honest and real and if something does go awry there's a genuine desire to put it right.

We were a bit befuddled by your comment about the WiFi as going downstairs and connecting and then going back upstairs is not the way it is supposed to work so we shall look into that.

We certainly hope to see you again.

Best regards
Simon & Wendy and everyone at Augill Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    43
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
231
223
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherburn in Elmet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I chose this castle as a surprise for my husband for a short break away to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The castle was amazing, we stayed in the Haygarth room which was delightful. You are made to feel very welcome at all times and to treat the castle as if its your own home. Afternoon tea was served in The Music room, which was a lovely mix of tiny sandwiches and cakes accompanied by coffee and a glass of fizz, breakfast and dinner were served round the large communal dining table allowing us to chat with other guests, the food was also excellent quality. Staff were polite and helpful and full of local knowledge and Maisie the dog was a wonderful addition.
We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay,relax and unwind. I would highly recommend Augill Castle and its fab team of staff..thank you to them for making our wedding anniversary break special.

Room Tip: all rooms are different and special in their own right
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the castle in March, it was unusually snowy and cold. The proprietors were very friendly and made our stay wonderful. The castle is picture perfect and all you would expect. They were very kid friendly which I hear is unusual in those parts. I highly recommend taking your children or going for a relaxing trip. The day we arrived was our daughters 7th birthday (coincidence) and they prepared an amazing dinner with desert and then tea and cake in the living room.We stayed in a family friendly suit in the main castle. Each room was more beautiful than the next. There are some fun ruins to explore just a short walk from the castle and the local town has great food and cute shops. I hear there are great day trips from there, but it was too cold when we were there. The breakfast is amazing and generous.It is a great place to go with friends.We went as a special treat while in England and it was worth it.The castle is expensive, but worth every penny. We left very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Speak to the owners they are very good at picking the right room for you. We actually went with a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife chose this after recommendations from friends, Having just finished work (Offshore) and wanting to have a bit of peace and quiet, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Not a Castle in it's own right but a gentlemans residence built between 1837 and 1841, It has all the character of a castle. Large warm rooms relaxed seating areas, snugs, a bar and a small cinema for children.
Wendy and Simon the hosts couldn't be more friendlier. This is a family run business and you are treated as though you are part of the family. Breakfast is excellent, cooked to order. Evening meal is seated round a large table in the dining room, everyone eats together. The bedrooms are spacious, we stayed in the Brakenridge and the Middlemoor, I have to say that the sleigh bed in the Brakenridge is more comfortable than the bed in the Middlemoor, but that's just personal preference.
Overall this experience far exceeded what I was expecting and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We chose this castle online as a special treat to the kids on our UK tour. Little did we know that the wonderful welcome & warm open fires would be so enjoyable for adults as well as kids.
Our 8 yo Girl was flat out feeding goats, and exploring the outside, then watching movies in the cosy cinema. The 13 yo Girl was curled up on the comfy couches in front of the open fire reading and enjoying the ambiance of staying in a castle.
The location is ideal for day trips into the Lakes district, as well as Castle tours and lovely local villages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edhill-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Augill with our 2 girls age 11 and 7 in the Pendragon room. Everything about the stay exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed warmly by Sam and immediately felt right at home. Our room was very spacious and perfectly appointed. Breakfast was amazing both because of the food and the service. The staff is absolutely first class. There is 20 acres to explore and goats and chickens to feed if you choose. The kids loved the playground, treehouse, and dress up games around the castle. We have never felt so at home, while being so far away. Augill was the highlight of our trip to the UK and everyone in our family is excited to find a way we can go back and spend more time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We were there on a quiet September weekday and had the place to ourselves with one other family. Service was great. Cinema was very popular with the kids, as were all the rooms and gardens to explore. We`d recommend it to friends.



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DartProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Stainmore
8.1 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
20.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#7 of 17 in Appleby
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
267 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augill Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augill Castle

Property: Augill Castle
Address: Augill Castle Kirkby Stephen | Cumbria the Lake District, South Stainmore CA17 4DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > South Stainmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Stainmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Augill Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit England five star accommodation, Augill Castle sits where the Yorkshire Dales meet the Lake District. Unlike anywhere you have ever stayed before, it is famously family friendly, relaxed and informal. Great for parties, weddings or for just being somewhere away from it all. Enjoy England's Guest Accommodation of the Year in 2009 and Sawday's Special Places to Stay Favourite British Hotel in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Augill Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augill Castle Hotel South Stainmore
Augill Castle Cumbria/South Stainmore, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing