We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we went to the nateby inn for our 53rd aniversary,”
Review of Nateby Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nateby Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nateby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“we went to the nateby inn for our 53rd aniversary,”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we stayed for three nights,it was andy for both the lakes & the dales,gaynor was their when we arrived (much too early)but she showed us to our room which was still being made ready,but she still let us lesve our cases in the room.the only down fall was that we should be there when the appleby fair was on ,so lots of shops closed .we will go again,but at another time of year.thanks once again gaynor for making our stay most enjoyable.food most enjoyable too.see you next year .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5 on the front of the inn,plenty of room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and evening meal with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, The staff and I really appreciate it so much. Gaynor, Danny Head Chef & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    114
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
53
297
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at the Nateby Inn. We were made to feel very welcome from the time we arrived until we left. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. Our evening meal was tasty and we enjoyed sitting relaxing after a tough day of cycling! The staff were polite and very helpful. Looking forward to another visit, next time we cycle in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helendanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A big hello to Gaynor & team. Me & "our Maude" (Joan) called to see Gaynor last Monday. Walking from Kirkby Stephen station made it thirsty work in the hot sun. So, we turn up unannounced to see Gaynor on the patio having a well earned break. "Get the kettle on" I shout & the beaming smile hits us. We said we'd come from Armathwaite on the train for lunch. Sadly after a hectic week the pub was actually closed. "BUT, come in & I'll make you some sandwiches & a cuppa". Bless her. We stayed & chatted for a while,
We stayed here in April & had a great time, Gaynor remembered us & made time for us. Thank you, hope to see you soon

Mike & Joan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a 2night stay here and we were more then happy with our choice for a short stay. Made welcome, room clean and charming , only slight disappointment en suite very small but this did not spoil our stay. Breakfast very enjoyable all freshly cooked to our preference. I would certainly stay here again, countryside on your doorstep ideal for exploring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kassie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent accommodation in a very quiet and peaceful village.

Good Bar menu, great beer and the full English breakfast was superb.

I was midway through a business trip so this was purely a one night stopover, never the less, a very comfortable one at that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A group of 10 of us booked Sunday lunch having had a lovely meal there last year. When we arrived at 1pm we were told "there's not enough beef for all of you" before even being given a menu. The starters had halved in size from last year and were hardly a mouthful. It seemed there was not enough veg for all of us either as it must have been served with a teaspoon. The Lamb (not enough beef) was pure fat. When we asked for desert menu we were told there was only cake or ice cream. We didn't bother and went elsewhere for coffee. We will not go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorvik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I'm am very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Sunday Lunch this year.
I was away sorting out a family emergency and our new chef who had only just started didn't realise the size we normal do for our lunch is very big and gave you the size he served when he was working in a hotel in London. Sorry again Gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's hard to believe the negative reviews of this inn when we had such a wonderful stay. We were on a walking tour of Lady Anne's Way and this is a perfect inn for walkers--it's right on the Coast to Coast and other well-marked walks, including the beautiful (and easy) Viaduct Walk. They've even thought of including a footbath in the rooms--heavenly! Our room was clean and quiet with comfy beds, though a little small. The dinner menu featured local fare and we were sent off with the best breakfast in the Eden Valley--the homemade pancakes with apples, cinnamon and yogurt were amazing. They can even provide a pack lunch and we're so glad we took them up on this--totally enjoyed our baguettes and homemade cake under a perfect blue sky! Thanks to the great team at Nateby Inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaisingGlobalKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nateby-inn, Owner at Nateby Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review,
The staff and I really appreciate it so much.
Gaynor & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nateby
9.7 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
3.7 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#11 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pennine Hotel
The Pennine Hotel
#14 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nateby Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nateby Inn

Property: Nateby Inn
Address: Nateby | Kirkby Stephen, Nateby, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4JP, England (Formerly The Black Bull Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Nateby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nateby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nateby Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little gem of a inn offering bed & breakfast 4 star Pet Friendly En-suite accommodation nestled in the rural village of Nateby. Yet it's just 1 mile away from Kirby Stephen. A superb base for those who enjoy outdoor pursuits. An ideal location for a stop over on the Coast to Coast walk. Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen, is a traditional family owned and run Cumbrian inn offering year-round bed & breakfast 4 star accommodation, home cooked food using only the freshest, locally sourced quality ingredients, We have a well stocked bar offering some of Cumbria's and Yorkshire's finest real ales, a wide choice of wines, a great selection of malt whiskies and a range of soft drinks. Our 4 star accommodation at Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen comprises of five en-suite bedrooms. All our bedrooms are equipped with the usual creature comforts such as digital flat screen tv, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and we have little extras such as: iphone / ipod docking station alarm clock and HoMedics foot spa. three of our bedrooms have a bath, perfect after a long days walk, especially if you are on the Coast to Coast walk. We offer early bird breakfast on request and a packed lunch for your onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nateby Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Nateby
Nateby Inn Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing