We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gelsmoor

Gelsmoor
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Griffydam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really nice place for lunch. Enjoyed the Union Jack Pizza, was very nice and fresh, would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsmoor, Owner at Gelsmoor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Many thanks for your review we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    91
    31
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Why so much cheese?”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have visited Gelsmoor before with my family and although the food is well cooked my main complaint is nearly everything has cheese in. I am not a fussy eater but I can't eat cheese. Nearly all the starters and quite a few mains had cheese in them. I will think twice before going back. Having said that my kids like it and the fish and chips are a generous size portion and well cooked.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sue7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsmoor, Owner at Gelsmoor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your post and we're glad you enjoyed your Fish & Chips. We are sorry to hear that you found our menu to be so cheesy. We do strive to offer something for all tastes so I'll look into this and see what needs doing to amend the menu options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birthday Party”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had our Birthday Celebration at the Gelsmoor last night - Excellent in every way. Fantastic food, Fabulous Service, Friendly Staff. Great menu choice, outstanding delivery of 20 meals all served beautifully hot at the same time with a smile. Can't wait for our next celebration to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaRA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelsmoor, Owner at Gelsmoor, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had such a good evening and everyone enjoyed themselves. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After visit to NEC”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

George B
4 very tired people called at the Gelsmoor last Sunday after a long day out at the NEC, the restaurant was very busy and we were told that without a reservation we might have to wait quite sometime, we decided to take a chance and ordered drinks from the bar. Before the drinks arrived we were told that if we ordered and were quick we could use one of the reserved tables but we had to be away by 7.00pm. We quickly sat down and ordered just a main course of Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding, the meals came within 10 mins the food was excellent. Amazing Mash potato and exellent roast beef topped with Yorkshire pud. I would definitely recommend the Gelsmoor to anyone and I will visit again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wide choice of good meals. Wheelchair friendly.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went with my Dad, who is a wheelchair user. Good disabled parking and access with nice wide doors.
Helpful staff to show us to our table, very patient.
Good choice of food. My partner and I had different meals from the fish selection, Dad had steak and kidney pie with chips and mushy peas. All excellent. Pizza on next table looked good.
We were especially pleased because our previous visit had been less enjoyable because we sat close to a table with tired children ( nobody's fault, really)
We will return to The Gelsmoor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelsmoor also viewed

Coalville, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Thringstone, Leicestershire
Newbold Coleorton, Leicestershire
 
Thornton, Leicestershire
Shepshed, Leicestershire
 

Been to Gelsmoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing