We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of Ame de la Terre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ame de la Terre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked this Chambre d'hote for a stop on our way down to the South. it was so good we booked it for our return a week later. Simone and her husband extended a really warm welcome. The rooms were lovely - very contempory: clean and bright with very comfortable beds. The free tea and coffee were very welcome and the breakfast was really excellent with lovely quality bread, jams, fruit, yoghurt, eggs - you name it. Also excellent advice on a super restaurant in Dijon. 10 out of 10 - we cannot find any fault at all. We will definately recomend it to our friends and will certainly stop there again if we are taking a trip in that area
Brian & Jan

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in this guest house while en route for southern France. It was conveniently positioned for us following an early ferry Dover/Calais. Simone and her husband gave us a warm welcome to their recently built guest wing which is filled with brightness, interesting paintings and lots of light toned wood. We slept very well in our quite luxurious bed. The breakfast was delicious: there was a wide range of fresh produce and Simone offered to make other things to order - she is a thoughtful and cheerful host. We felt very relaxed in the house and enjoyed the atmosphere. There is a little honesty bar in the guest lounge area boasting an excellent Black Forest beer, among other attractions.
L'Ame de la Terre is very well positioned in relation to the road network and we found it quite easily. Would be good to have the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ame De La Terre on our ten year anniversary after leaving Paris and heading south to explore France. When we arrived at Ame de la Terre we were overwhelmed with not only the amazing service but the beautiful, new and clean accomodations. Simone and her husband have put much work into providing a very modern yet soft touch to the side of their beautiful home that they share with visitors. We were lucky to have reserved the Calendula room which had its own very balcony and view of the courtyard as well as the small town of Ruffey. I have to admit that I did spend a lot of time on this balcony enjoying the view and drinking wine. We would take daily excursions through Burgundy which, when travelled by car, reveals some truly amazing views and villages. After a long day of exploring, it was wonderful to return to the small town of Ruffey, the sanctity of our lovely room and the delicious food that Simone had prepared for the evening. We had such an unforgettable trip and such amazing memories of the time that we spent at Ame de la Terre and the friends that we met. Thank you Simone!

Room Tip: Request the Calendula room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a very clean property with spacious and comfortable rooms. The building materials and furnishings in the room are very high quality. We stayed in the room with a terrace and it was a perfect way to wind down after hours of driving. One downside is that there was no TV or refridgerator in the room. These arent necessities but I figure its nice to know before hand so you know what to expect.
The breakfast is plentiful and delicious, the best B&B breakfast we enjoyed in France. Also, the hostess Simone was very nice.
The property is located a few minutes drive outside of Dijon, so its best if you have your own means of transportation if you are staying here. But if you do, its absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What an exquisite place to stay. Ame de la Terre is immaculately presented giving a feeling of absolute luxury. King or Queen sized beds with crisp, white expensive linen, so comfortable and very quiet. A stunning bathroom with plenty of room and beautifully decorated, very fresh and clean. The rooms are based in an extension to an old property and so a lovely addition to the clean fresh, 'newness' of the room are the little touches of 'art' and quirkiness, such as an old treadle sewing machine with a glass top as the dressing table and a beautiful old wood french armoire. The owner of the Hotel is just lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. They even have a little reception area where one could buy local produce such as mustards, honeys and also wines. I think they have quite a good 'cellar' at very reasonable prices. The breakfast was excellent, with very fresh quality produce. I would highly recommend this absolute 'Gem' to anyone looking for elegance, quality and great service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fix32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked a room at Ame de la Terre for one night en route home to England after spending seven days in Northern Italy. Almost immediately, we wished we had booked longer! The inn was absolutely beautiful - modern, clean and spacious. Moreover, the service provided by Simone was excellent. Her English is excellent, which was a relief to us given our ashamedly poor grasp of French. The breakfast was ample and delicious. It is important to note that the inn is not centrally located. This was not a problem for us given we used our car to drive to central Dijon, which took approx. 10 minutes.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and spacious but we recommend that you select a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2012. Simone was an excellent Hostess. The inn was very quiet but only a short train ride from the centre of Dijon. The room was very spacious and clean. Simone supplied a very generous breakfast and we also had several excellent salad suppers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekandgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruffey les Echirey
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dijon Toison d'Or
3.8 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
11.2 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dijon
Holiday Inn Express Dijon
#1 of 3 in Saint-Apollinaire
356 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Dijon Nord - Valmy
3.6 mi away
Hotel des Ducs
Hotel des Ducs
#11 of 59 in Dijon
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ame de la Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ame de la Terre

Address: 2 rue de Dijon, 21490 Ruffey les Echirey, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Ruffey les Echirey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ruffey les Echirey
Price Range: £72 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dijon, the capital of Burgundy, is situated in the very heart of this region. It is surrounded by world-famous cultural monuments.With its countless sights and its distinctive charm, the town is well worth a visit.In Ruffey-les Echirey, which is only 4 km outside Dijon, we have renovated the family-owned 19th century manor house andhave furnished five ecological rooms in the former barns. This is more than a hotel: We would like to offer you a comfortable temporary home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ame de la Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing