We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful,good food and great value for money.”
Review of Madares Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madares Hotel
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Sfakia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent an Easter at this lovely hotel. We were surprised by the lovely food, the view from our room and the lovely people working there.
The rooms were simple but clean and had everything you needed in them. We had most of our meals simply because the food was so nice. One day we got fresh octapus and it was the best we had ever tasted.

The breakfast was very good, with fresh orange juice every morning.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caldasjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spend 2 days in Loutro and we stayed in Madares. We paid 30 euros without breakfast, and it was quite good for its price. I would recommend it for someone who doesn't want to spend much.
We spend 2 days in Loutro and we stayed in Madares. We paid 30 euros without breakfast, and it was quite good for its price. I would recommend it for someone who doesn't want to spend much

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evangelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a week in June 2013 with my partner and two little boys and we had a splendid time. We have stayed several times before around ten Years ago. Our room was spacious, actually like two large rooms, with a small kitchen area that was great for making small snacks and drinks. The beds were comfortable and the furniture was perfectly adequate for our needs. Bed linen and towels were clean and pressed, so no complaints there. The balcony was not brilliant as it rather overlooked the solar heaters but we decided not to ask for another room as our room was such a good size and, crucially, was away from other guests so we didn't have to worry about the kids disturbing other people. The room was cleaned every 2 or 3 days, I forget which, by a charming maid. The bathroom was a typical greek one, they dont have shower curtains! We were helped to carry our overstuffed bags up the many stairs (everything is built up the mountain side in Loutro) by the very friendly Ali. The family who own and run Madares are friendly and considerate hosts and were really kind and helpful, particularly with the kids. We ate in the taverna a lot of the time as the food is wonderful. Try the artichoke stew, the lamb with small pasta, the courgette fritters, the stuffed peppers and the freshly caught fish - or just try everything, it's all good! Breakfast was fresh OJ, coffee, toast, honey and the best tasting eggs. I could go on and on about Madares Hotel and Loutro in general but I will have to stop somewhere! If you want a laid back and relaxing holiday there is nowhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annewardrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We arrived at Loutro in late June 2012 & we stayed in Madares "hotel" only for 2 nights (thank God it was only 2 nights).

First of all, when we arrived, there was no reception at all, since the reception is actually the Madares taverna. When we got the keys, noone helped us with our baggage & they just gave us the keys saying your room number is written in the keys.

When we entered the room, we noticed that it was aged, the bed sheets had stinks & the bath towels were so used (check photos). The bathroom was a nightmare & in the shower there was no bath curtain & the water was not running properly.

In general, the overall impression of the room was terrible & dirty (check photos) & it was so overpriced.

Moreover, they never cleaned the room & when we asked the "reception" for a new bath towel, they never gave us one. Same happened when we asked for a toilet paper, during the 2nd day & the reply we got this time was to find and ask the maid.

When we checked-out, we kindly asked the "reception - owner" if it was possible to keep the room for a couple of hours (until 2 p.m.) and they reply we got from the rude owner was that we have to pay 50% of the room rate. What a hospitality...We just wanted to live 2 bags in the room or at least at the taverna.

On the other hand, Loutro port is the perfect place for relaxation & we highly recommend it, but we cannot say the same for Madares hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stav92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank lely982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La vista migliore è nelle stanze più in alto, ma non c'è ascensore, attenzione!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rebecca_0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sfakia hotels
9.4 mi away
Fata Morgana Studios & Apartments
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Lefka Ori
9.8 mi away
Captain Tom Apartments
Captain Tom Apartments
#5 of 17 in Frangokastello
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Flisvos Apartments
Flisvos Apartments
#6 of 6 in Frangokastello
43 reviews
3.2 mi away
Livikon Hotel
Livikon Hotel
#3 of 3 in Sfakia
83 reviews
0 mi away
Fragokastello Star
Fragokastello Star
#4 of 6 in Frangokastello
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madares Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madares Hotel

Address: Sfakia, Sfakia, Crete 730 11, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Sfakia
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Sfakia
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madares Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madares Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing