We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Abel Tasman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here with friends for 2 nights . The owners were called away but the couple who hosted us & the maitre d' were just great - delightful company & so obliging. We had a lovely evening meal - best onion soup I have had in NZ - duck & sticky date pud !! The rooms are very lovely , the ambience of the whole place is superb. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting first class accommodation & dining.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel_Tasman_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thanks so much Robon,
Sorry to have missed you when you stayed at Ratanui, but pleased you enjoyed the experience and that our wonderful staff took good care of you. We are fortunate to have great people to work with in Golden Bay. Look forward to seeing you at Ratanui again soon.
All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
180
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Exploring our beautiful country and the lovely Golden Bay we came across Pohara and the lovely Ratanui Lodge! Steve was very welcoming a fantastic host and made you feel like you were visiting a long lost friend! When he took us to our room - you just had to go WOW - you felt like you were going back in time with the lovely antique furniture but with all the comfortable trimmings of today! Sadly we only had one night - but will certainly be back. Thanks Steve for making us feel so welcome, your knowledge of the area, great hospitality - you certainly have a wee gem!! We will be spreading the word!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individuality with lovely antique furniture and a story behind them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thanks TravelBuggNZ,
Much appreciate your kind words and so pleased you found us in beautiful little Pohara. Was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We just returned from a trip around the world traveling for 6 months to 4 continents.We don't normally write many reviews, but we felt very compelled to review Ratanui Lodge. First of all,
Steve and Pete are the best "hosts" you could ever ask for. From the minute we arrived to the day we checked out, everything was first-class! The rooms were individually decorated with wonderful beds and furniture. The food and dining area are 5 star with a relaxed, homey feel.
We couldn't wait for every meal. The location of the lodge is across the street from the beach in beautiful Pohara. Traveling as a family for many months we stayed in many places but this was by far the best. Steve and Pete really enjoy what they do and it truly shows. Great guys with a great attitude running a great place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This place is great. Stayed one night wish it was more. We arrived a little early and Steve greeted us with open arms and offered us coffee and treats while we unpacked, nice added touch. Gave us great info of some of the sights to see. The rooms was fab and the bed was so comfortable it was easy to fall asleep. We had dinner as well and wow the food was perfect. If you stay you have to book a dinner as well.
Thanks Steve for making this visit a great one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windmillpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This place is very new and has just opened a good year ago, so everything is spotless and with very much attention to detail. Individually furnished rooms, free wifi, excellent facilities. Food (breakfast as well as dinner) was delicious, and above all, Steve and his partner provide superior service, and make every guest feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask the host for a good price on two connecting rooms. We did, and it was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Steve Pete and his team should be justly proud of the quality of service they are offering.
Nothing was too much trouble and they provide both a great welcome and superb "product" I run a business myself and always respect someone achieving a quality service and that is what they do.
Rooms immaculate in terms of style quality and cleanliness.
Great location with the beach a short walk over the road and pubs / cafe next door either way
Food and quality of restaurant service again excellent.
Consistent with the pricing of other places I stayed who were offering less.
I am more than happy to offer constructive criticism but on this occasion I am struggling to....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickDWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

It's been lovely to stay in Ratanui Lodge, the runner is very welcoming and kind, we stayed in the suite and it was fantastic, a lot of comfort for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Property: Ratanui Lodge
Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing