We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Pohara”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently spent a weekend at Ratanui Lodge and couldn't fault it. The lodge has been tastefully decorated and our room was airy and very comfortable. Waking up to the bellbird every morning was beautiful. The night meal was superbly cooked and couldn't be faulted. Breakfast was presented with homemade marmalade and jam just like Grandma used to make. Congratulations to our wonderful hosts Steve and Pete......you have created something very special in Golden Bay. Thank you for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivNels0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We recently stayed at Ratanui Lodge for two nights. I was very impressed with the wonderful service. The lodge itself is beautifully decorated and each room is unique. The service is so personal that you feel like royalty, and that you have known Steve and Pete for ever! So helpful and friendly and always looking to make sure you are comfortable. The surrounding setting where the Lodge is located is so peaceful and relaxing. You can see and hear the native birds when you awake and the gardens are beautifully landscaped and maintained. There are many unique activies and walks in the area, or you can just relax and eat the wonderful (and so affordable) 3 course meals that the Lodge offers! I would be back every weekend if I could!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We chose Ratanui Lodge because of all the positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The rooms, service, restaurant food, cleanliness and hospitality were all outstanding. We felt thoroughly spoiled! Luxurious accommodation in a stunning location. Thank you Steve and Peter, you were amazing hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineMarlb0r0ugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We recently visited Ratanui Lodge with our in-laws from Nelson. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the antique furniture was unique to each room - the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it! The breakfast that was included was to die for - home made preserves and superb coffee. Unfortunately we were only there for 1 night but we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all have a common denominator - an extremely comfortable bed ( we ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a 2 night break in Golden Bay and couldn't fault our time here. Steve was welcoming and helpful on arrival - offered to make us coffee but the hospitality tray in the room had all we needed to do this ourselves. Very very comfortable bed and a great shower - 2 things we often judge a place by and they get top marks here. We dined in both nights - very happy with both the service and the food for both meals. Steve was also very knowledgeable about the area. Great idea to have a one large table for breakfast as lots of sharing of ideas went on with fellow guests. We plan a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thanks cajeNelson_NZ,
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and sounds like it was a great way to experience the lovely winter here in Golden Bay. Look forward to your return visit!
All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have just spent 1 night at Ratanui Lodge during a trip to Nelson to see friends. Steve was so welcoming, making us tea and coffee with treats on our arrival. We had a great time there while we explored Golden Bay. The bed was so comfortable while the room was warm and cosy. Great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsonAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was the highlight of our road trip. Found this lodge thanks to trip advisor en route to Golden Bay. Where to start - absolutely everything perfect!
Steve and Pete are amazing hosts, Steve at the front and Pete cooking up a storm in the kitchen. Steve received us in such a welcoming manner - felt at home right away and showed us to our beautiful room, assisted with bookings for activities, gave restaurant recommendations for the surrounding area, and ever so helpful with whatever else we needed for a comfortable stay. Thanks Steve!
The rooms are great! Spacious, classy, excellent quality (loved the thread count on the linen) furnishings, beautiful bathroom, great shower, loved the bathrobes.
Good heating in the rooms, mini fridge and large flat screen TV with Sky and free wifi.
The hotel is just over a year old - so everything is still brand new and in perfect working condition.
We had dinner (extra charge) at the restaurant, Pete is a great chef. Loved the silver cutlery, fine porcelain, and crystal glasses. Great cocktails and wine selection too.
Continental breakfast included at a large breakfast table where you can mingle with other guests, delicious cooked breakfast extra.
Needless to say - we'll be back! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuneLeRenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thanks SuneLeRenard,
We really enjoyed having you here at Ratanui and glad you had a great time in beautiful Golden Bay. Thanks very much for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best, Pete and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range: £107 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing