We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lay back and relax”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lay back and relax”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This place will remain long in my memory. The style of service and attention to detail was second to none; not easy to find these days. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and welcoming, the rooms were exquisitly furnished.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
180
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Second time staying and not disappointed. The only thing that improved the experience was having dinner at the lodge. You have a set menu but that doesn't matter, Steve really knows his wines and has something to match everyones taste as well as the food. Continental breakfast is divine but the cooked breakfast is just as good and not too heavy on the stomach.

You get what you pay for which is exceptional quality and service. See you again next year! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laydeejaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our second stay at the lodge was as good our first (end of July). The standard of accommodation is excellent.
The bed is one of the most comfy I've ever slept in! Steve is a most welcoming host and the relaxed atmosphere at the lodge just encourages you to unwind and relax. The evening meals (set menu) are superb and generously portioned so make sure you go to dinner hungry. The salt water swimming pool is a great way to cool off and wake up after a days sightseeing. Beach is just across the road for a pleasant stroll.
I recommend one of their delicious cocktails before dinner. We'll definitely go back when doing more exploring of Golden Bay. This place is a little bit of heaven!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at Ratanui. The thoughtful welcome note and chocolates in our room when we arrived were a lovely gesture. The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was very spacious. Very good value considering the quality and personal touches. The continental breakfast included was just perfect for us. The room did not have airconditioning but had nice warm heater. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We work in hosptality and were in need of a real retreat for a few days. Ratanui Lodge was the perfect place. There was such a warm and friendly welcome, the accommodation was excellent, and the food and drinks amazing. It was also very good value considering the quality and personal service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We especially liked the fact that our room overlooked the garden rather than the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We recently celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at the Ratanui Lodge (surprise for my hubby) and were totally blown away by the amazing very personal service received -this puts it a cut above other accommodation providers . The room was beautifully furnished with the most amazingly comfortable bed, huge tiled shower with great pressure, and the personal welcome note was a lovely touch.

Dinner was as good as, if not better, than any top class restaurant (dessert divine), breakfast fantastic from homemade, yoghurt, fruit salad and jams.

Steve and Pete, you both excel as amazing hosts and chef - we will be back and will highly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I spent a few days here , the room was lovely and the hosts great. The bathroom and showers were great. We had the 3 course dinner at the resturant one night they catered for me the vegetarian and my meat loving husband, the food particularly the dessert was awesome. I would highly reccomend any one coming to Golden bay to stay here. I also booked in for a massage which if you've done some walking is also great! All round a great break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Property: Ratanui Lodge
Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing