We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of hospitable”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

After walking through the beautiful Abel Tasman Park we arrived grubby & hungry at Ratanui Lodge. Steve immediatly offered us a lovely pot of tea and home made baking. We were in heaven! Which continued when we found the beds to be like sleeping on clouds.
Spotless rooms. Exceptional service & a generally relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. Just what you want to find in Golden Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnat004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Steve was an exceptional host and suggested great places for us to visit, making our stay very memorable. We were delighted with the fresh baked cookies given to us on arrival. Just an example of the extra effort made to make us feel welcome and look after our every need. The food was exceptional as well. The pool would be too refreshing for someone without my Canadian cottage experience, but who needs it when there is a great beach just across the road. A really wonderful place to stay if you like the personal touch, and who doesn't? Well worth the trip over the hill to get to Golden Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63,781,264,873,624,861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay with Steve & Pete. Beautiful room, lovely breakfast and I agree with the last comment elegant and very quiet.Just across the road from a beautiful beach. Steve arranged for us to do a 4 hour Kayak experience which was truly amazing.

Thankyou Steve & Pete for a wonderful stay.
Pat & Andy Hooper

Room Tip: All beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Surrounded by the indescribable beauty of Golden Bay, the Ratanui Lodge is an understated jewel. Comfortable, quite and elegant , our hosts Steve and Pete did everything possible to make our experience an outstanding one. The restaurant in the lodge is fantastic, with a set menu for each evening that is served expertly. The Penguin Pub next door is a steps away when in the mood for beer and pizza! The best treat of all is Meg, the border collie who stole our hearts and is available for lavish displays of affection which she endures with patience. Steve is a wealth of knowledge about local area attractions and can arrange everything. We have booked our return trip in 2014 already. Three nights are not enough!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room which doesn't open onto the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMWSanClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Happened to read about this great lodge whilst searching options for visiting abel Tasman. Having been confused by how to access the park from the south/ where to stay, it was a relief to speak to Steve and find it could all be easily done from the north. Steve willingly arranged water taxis and suggested places to visit.
We were easily able to drive to totaranui beach from the lodge( 35 min drive) and get a water taxi to any beach within the park.
The stay was perfect. Beautiful, immaculate rooms with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Delicious breakfasts with home made jams, picnic lunches and excellent dinner. The lodge is within amazingly tended gardens, where you can enjoy an evening cocktail or beer. Steve even had a cold beer waiting for us on our return from a long walk.
Steve and Pete are perfect hosts- genuinely enthusiastic, helpful and warm. Nothing was too much trouble.
We didn't want to leave and extend our stay. Would whole heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at Ratanui Lodge at the end of our holiday in New Zealand. The welcome, accommodation and food could not have been better. We thoroughly enjoyed the sea kayaking that was arranged by our hosts. Their local knowledge guided us to a lovely beach and waterfall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks Maz W. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Ratanui. And yes, Sea Kayaking in the Abel Tasman with Golden Bay Kayaks is not to be missed. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lovely rooms, excellent food. Steve is a great host & is very keen you have all you need for a perfect stay. I took the mountain bike option - the Rameka trail was an amazing experience, my wife the massage!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyseeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratanui, Owner at Ratanui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thanks Tony,
Really enjoyed having you and Heather here for a couple days and glad you enjoyed your visit.
Mountain Biking the Rameka with Escape Adventures is an amazing experience not to be missed by anyone. Thanks again, and look forward to seeing you next time you need a little break!
All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
368 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
184 reviews
13.2 mi away
Abel Tasman Lodge
Abel Tasman Lodge
#1 of 2 in Marahau
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Twin Waters Lodge
Twin Waters Lodge
#2 of 2 in Collingwood
28 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 2 in Kaiteriteri
442 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range: £136 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing