We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a very special place. We'll be back”
Review of Ratanui Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ratanui Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Truly a very special place. We'll be back”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am still basking in the glow of our recent trip here. We only had a night on a big tour of the South Island, and am planning a return in the summer. They have really paid attention to subtle comforts and have done something wonderful by creating wonderful luxury without it being fussy or off putting. Wonderful recommendations for all the questions we had. Great selection/suggestions of wine for pre dinner drinks and a wonderful breakfast in the morning with all of the gorgeous produce. The whole area is wonderful and worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
181
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Time to update an earlier review. Last weekend saw our fifth visit to Ratanui. When work and other stresses begin to mount, this place is the ideal antidote. Pohara is remote without being cut off, laidback without being stagnant. Steve and Pete are the masters of their respective roles and we are always assured of a warm and genuine welcome. The facilities are first rate, little else needs to be said. Borrow the lodge bikes and cruise along the beach track or work your way through the cocktail list. We will return as soon as life allows for our sixth visit. No reason to stop at six, either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteM289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is astonishing! Managing to combine great service in luxurious accomodation and with a relaxed attitude is quite rare. Steve and Pete manage it though, and with good humour and attention to detail.
After making the booking [via Booking.com] we received confirmation direct from Steve with the offer of any assistance we may need prior to arrival.
A week before arrival we received a further welcome note outlining the evening menu for the period of our stay (very useful, given that they provide a set menu only).
Don't feel any need to add to the many positive comments about the rooms except to say that all the facilities you'd expect were there and of superior quality.
We ate at the Lodge every night we stayed as the quality of the food was exceptional and equal to the service from both Steve and Pete. Attentive without being fawning! They carry a good selection of drinks - especially welcome were the local wines and beers.
It says much about an establishment when local people choose to use its restaurant on a regular basis and for special occasions.
We'd considered other places to stay in the area but, thankfully, decided to come here. Will be back next time we're near Abel Tasman National Park.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbenezerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCarthy, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wow! We were in New Zealand for a month and started and ended our time there at Ratanui Lodge. We stayed in numerous places during our month there, but Ratanui Lodge was the BEST. Luxurious feather beds, antique furniture, silver and china coffee and tea service, AMAZING food. A private pool area to relax in and beautiful gardens. Arrangements for local activities organized by the owners for us. Friendly, well informed staff. Affordable.
If your on the way to Golden Bay, don't miss this 5 star, laid back, decadent place, it will be the most relaxing place you'll stay!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psmith-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Really lovely place to stay - I echo what others have said - beautifully done out rooms, relaxed atmosphere, and very good quality food. The hand written card welcoming us was a lovely personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pouxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Ratanui is a beautifully appointed lodge. The room we had was large with a lovely en suite bathroom and an incredibly comfortable bed. The entire lodge is kept spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are great and the dinners are out of this world. Our hosts, Pete and Steve, were fantastic with an excellent knowledge of the area. I look forward to visiting Ratanui again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

LOCATION:
Very convenient - about a 2 min walk to the beach, pub and dairy.
BED:
Very comfortable, high quality linen, nice and soft pillow top mattress topper on the bed
BATHROOM:
Immaculately clean, spacious with lovely scented shampoo, conditioner and soaps
STYLE:
Luxurious. Our room was beautifully furnished and colour coordinated. Loved the fine china tea cups.
COMMENTS and SCORE:
Steve and Pete are very welcoming and accommodating. On arrival we were greeted by Steve, had a lovely chat and were invited for the cocktails at 5 o`clock. We checked into our room and found some chocolates and a welcome card there on the table from Pete and Steve which was just lovely. The cocktails were absolutely delicious (Rata Margarita, Honey Tiramisu, 50 Shades of passion, to name a few) just as the 3 course dinner which followed (separate review). We really enjoyed the evening chatting to fellow travellers and drinking good local wines. We mentioned to Steve that we will be leaving early in the morning before the breakfast time and at the end of the dinner we were given a large tray to take to our room. Yoghurt, honey, cereal, fruits, little chocolates - the delicious selection for our early breakfast in our room. That was very nice, delicious as well. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room No.9 which was the furthest from the road and it was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorgetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
350 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
175 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
14.6 mi away
Split Apple Lodge
Split Apple Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratanui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratanui Lodge

Property: Ratanui Lodge
Address: 818 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ratanui Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just across the street from Pohara Beach in beautiful Golden Bay, New Zealand.Purpose-built in 2010 with 10 rooms, all with ensuite, Ratanui is a terrific base for exploring the northern Abel Tasman National Park.Wifi is always free, continental breakfast always included, and there is a small salt-water swimming pool.The Dining Room serves three course set menu dinners, and the Cocktail Lounge is a relaxing space for a drink or two with friends. Package deals are available combining sea kayaking, boat trips and walks in the Abel Tasman National Park, or Farewell Spit Ecotours.Golden Bay is a treasure of the South Island, with golden sand beaches, eclectic artists and cafes, and a laid-back lifestyle.We welcome you to experience Ratanui and Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ratanui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratanui Hotel Pohara
Ratanui Lodge Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing