We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining experience”
Review of Sans Souci Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sans Souci Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Pohara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

One main per evening! Sounds unusual but we did the venison Thursday! Food was exquisitely cooked. Wine list wasn't huge but wines on offer were a good match with food and some of the best prices I've seen - probably half to two thirds what you'd normally pay! Highly recommend - excellent food, lovely setting and walking distance from the beach.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great feed back. We are pleased you liked your dining experience and we appreciate that you commented on our low wine prices. We hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

A fantastic place and great owners, rooms are adobe constructed villas with tile floors, passive solar heating/cooling. All the buildings and the landscaped grounds built completely by the owners by hand. The 2 bedroom villa is very spacious with kitchen, eating area, living room and patio.
Very peaceful and quiet. We did not stay long enough!

Room Tip: If you want your own private bath, ask for the 2 bedroom villa. Otherwise there is a large multi-sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Charlie
Thank you for your great feed back. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was nice having you here and talking to you; I hope we will see you again soon.
Safe travels and all the best
Kind regards,
VERA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is the one and we loved this place.

Mediterranean-style buildings, lovely garden and common area, bedroom, dining room, and even bathroom. They are so beautifully done. You feel calm and welcomed by the owner.

Japanese style futon bed - we loved it. It is a bit hard, so some people might not like it.

eco composting toilet - this was very clean, but you need to scoop the things like bark from a bucket into the toilet bowl instead of flushing. I didn't like this bit, but could bear with it.

clothes hanger (no drier) - When I wanted to use the clothes line, it was all occupied by their towels. Because of weather (looking for a sunny day), I wanted to do washing on the sunny day, but couldn't use it.

We could have only one evening meal because the other nights were all booked. The main meal and dessert both were excellent!! Everybody eats the same food because there is only one menu on the day, but it is not a problem. Good atmosphere and many locals seem to come here.

The only thing that left me a bitter taste about this dining experience was the bad red wine that I was served. The young waitress brought my red wine by glass instead of pouring it at the table like she did it first time with white wine. Anyway, the red wine tasted so so so bad,They have only one wine list for selling by glass (200 ml) or carafe (500 ml jug) so I was really confused whether they served this bad wine when they were serving a top class meal. I had my first white wine and that was good. don't think I've had any bad wine like this. Even a very cheap one that you get for $6-7 dollars per glass at a fair or somewhere like that didn't taste like this. I regretted that I didn't tell the waitress that there was something wrong with this wine.

Other than the red wine which went wrong on the day, other things were all fine and I recommend highly this place if you are looking for somewhere unique, comfortable, soothing and welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear M S
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Sans Souci Inn. We very much appreciate it and are pleased that you liked your stay with us.

I am sorry that you didn't like the red wine we served you. I wish we had known then, we could have rectified the problem and replaced it. I hope we will se you again soon and will be happy to serve you a complimentary glass of wine.
Kind regards,
VERA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Limited menu - no choice on the night but this means they are really fine-tuned to produce one excellent dish. Well worth a visit. Reasonable price. See their menu for the dish available each evening. Do visit the loos and look at the green roofs while there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter2612121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Peter
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely time here. We wish you a happy new year and hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards,
VERA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am a local, so know all the restaurants in Golden Bay well. Sans Souci has, by far, the best food in Golden Bay and is one of the best restaurants I have eaten at anywhere. Reto has an exceptional palate and produces meals with an amazing combination of flavours. We, and our friends, are constantly delighted by the wonderful flavours and quality of the food.
Even if you aren't staying at Sans Souci - do yourself a favour and dine there.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Phil411
Such great feedback, thank you so much! We are very happy to know that you enjoy our food. Thank you for dining with us often and bringing your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We rate this the top restaurant in Golden Bay. The meals are beautiful, creative, fresh and wholesome. The vegetarian meal is always divine and they cater for all food types - no problem. The service is fantastic and the wine selection is good. The deserts and coffee are also wonderful. The atmosphere and gardens and the buildings are lovely, and the people who make this place are just gorgeous. Thanks for sharing this with us and well done to you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank yvettemarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you so much, yvettemarie22, for taking the time to write about your experience at Sans Souci. Your feedback is wonderful and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much.
We hope we will see you again soon. Have a lovely Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

It's too good to keep secret although we would like to. Once a year at least we are drawn back to the Sans Souci Inn to chill out in this delightful and inexpensive little eco-haven. We love the adobe Mediterranean-style rooms in their garden setting, and the choice of enjoying a coffee or a wine in our private area or in the central garden area laid out in welcoming style with chairs and tables. The shared bathroom facilities with composting toilets are beautifully done. Guests are welcome to use the well-equipped kitchen although dining at the restaurant is simply a must - the delicious food is garden -fresh (literally) and great value for money. The hosts are very welcoming and the staff are always extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you, Anita and John, for your wonderful feedback and for coming back again and again. We really enjoy hosting you and your friends. Vera and Reto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
8.5 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
4.5 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans Souci Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Inn

Address: 11 Richmond Road, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range: £69 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sans Souci Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seven-bedroom adobe inn is an artistic blend of Mediterranean and ecological architecture situated on three acres of gardens. We are just a two minute stroll from the safe and sandy Pohara beach, shops and cafes. The onsite restaurant has a high reputation for its dinners and irresistible desserts using ingredients from its own organic garden. The laid back and casual atmosphere will leave you with a memory of a true holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sans Souci Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Inn Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing