We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sans Souci Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sans Souci Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Pohara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“PERFECT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

This eco friendly place was charming and artistic in its construction and decor. One must reserve a place for the well done evening meals as many locals patronize the restaurant, but one can also always use the communal kitchen. This is a very reasonably priced accomodation with a friendly ambiance and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandCarol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

My wife and I had stayed at Sans Souci eleven years ago and loved it. We had hoped we could bring our two children this time and recreate our memorable experience. But this place exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the self-contained apartment, which was huge, with two bedrooms and a fully stocked kitchen. We found groceries all over Golden Bay, including some clams and mussels we foraged ourselves from the local beaches. There are farm stands all over the region, and even a couple of places to find local fish.
Sans Souci is a special place to stay. The owners have worked incredibly hard to create lodgings that work in harmony with the local environment. They have a vegetable garden to help supply the restaurant. The roofs of all the buildings are planted with grasses and wild flowers. All of the bathrooms have composting toilets, which are as pleasant as they are responsible. The property is a two-minute walk to beautiful Pohara Beach, and an easy drive from the larger town of Takaka, where you can get all you need in the way of supplies. This is also a great option for making forays to the northern end of the Abel Tasman Park.
Sans Souci lives up to its name.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koblenz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

The travel book Dumont - NZ writes: a Swiss couple has built this little paradise! We absolutely agree with this statement. After 3 nights at Sans Souci Inn, the first with a delicious lamb-fillet dinner, the others with dinners outside but with desserts and coffee/drink at Sans Souci we can conclude: we've felt close to being in paradise!
The whole concept is beautiful and also well planned from an ecological point of view!
The rooms have a Mediteranian style as well as the main building. The beds were solids (we do not like soft ones!) and we've slept soundly, only entertained by bird calls in the morning! If we come back to the Golden Bay we will for sure stay at the Sans Souci Inn again. The actual price for the room is 105 NZ$ and a splendid full breakfast for 12 NZ$ is the best starter of the day!
Michael and Eike Berger from Koblenz/Germany

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMONTOURKoblenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

It is not possible to have dinner if you check in after 4pm. Therefore it is not possible for us to have diner on Monday... It's pity because there is quite nothing to have diner in the neighbourhood.
Rooms are small, cold and humid.
We do not recommend this place. (Not really “sans soucis”)

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SametTof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Loved this hotel. Eco-friendly, gorgeous grounds, close to beach, fun staff, inovative restaurant with local wine list. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joandunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

We went out of our way to return having had a wonderful stay 4 years previously, the food was still outstanding, but this time the accommodation was disappointing.
The ethos of Sans Souci is great and communal eco bathroom much better than it sounds. However bedrooms looked and felt tired and needed a deep clean. A bit of a shame after our great experiences last time.

On the upside the food remains outstanding. The evening set meal was absolutely fantastic, with clearly a lot of work and thought as to flavours etc, some of the best cooking that we tasted on our travels.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1womble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

This place is really something special.

It is run by a Swiss couple who are really into eco-issues. They built the place themselves from mud-brick i think. The place has a very Mediterranean feel to it. There are a number of rooms that are reasonably priced, and they share bathroom facilities.

The toilets are all composting, rather than flush, and i was pretty sceptical, thinking they would be pretty rank. But i was quite amazed - they are really pleasant, far more so in fact than any other shared facilities i have come across, completely odourless - and they have really made a feature of the shared bathroom with a stunning vegetation display on the central round pedestal where all the basins and mirrors are situated.

I think you can also use some shared cooking facilities if you are staying in the rooms, but not 100% sure how this works as we didnt need to.

We had the self-contained family unit and it was a bargain at $140/night. Terracotta tiled floor throughout, really spacious. Based on some past experiences i was expecting a solitary electric ring and a kettle for the "kitchen" but it was in fact a compact but fully equipped kitchen area that was lovely to cook in, in an open plan arrangement with dining area/lounge area/main bed area. The kids room (we have a 5-yr-old and an 18-month-old) is completely separate from the lounge/main bed, which is much easier to manage.

Good bathroom with wet-area shower and toilet (composting, of course). The bathroom just smelt pleasantly of the sawdust that you put down the loo in place of flushing.

There were two sets of double doors off the dining area and lounge area, and the doors were framed by hanging-down kiwifruit vines and grape vines that were loaded with fruit.

There were plenty of chairs and nice shade outside, so you could either sit in, looking out, or sit out, in the shade or sun, (or lie in the hammock) while the kids played on the lawn.

There are only about 8 rooms in total so you get the feeling that you are the only one there most of the time.

The restaurant, which has a deservedly excellent reputation, is right next to the family unit. They put on a set menu every evening, serving just one dish, but oh boy, was the food good. Pretty much as good as anything i have had at any of the top end places in Wellington, and again very reasonably priced. We had venison fillet with parmesan polenta one night and lamb rump with marscapone risotto another.

The atmosphere is totally casual and relaxed and the hosts and all of their staff are genuinely warm, friendly, interesting. You are really made to feel welcome.

We stayed 5 nights, and were gutted to have to leave.

And on top of that, located in Golden Bay, there are a million incredible things to do every day, if you can tear yourself away from the hammock...

Highly highly recommended.

  • Liked — The beautiful surrounds, the comfort, and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PukekoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.5 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
14.7 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 7 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans Souci Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Inn

Property: Sans Souci Inn
Address: 11 Richmond Road, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sans Souci Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seven-bedroom adobe inn is an artistic blend of Mediterranean and ecological architecture situated on three acres of gardens. We are just a two minute stroll from the safe and sandy Pohara beach, shops and cafes. The onsite restaurant has a high reputation for its dinners and irresistible desserts using ingredients from its own organic garden. The laid back and casual atmosphere will leave you with a memory of a true holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sans Souci Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Inn Pohara, Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing