We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I were steered to the Pohara Beachfront Motel by the Motueka I-site. We are most thankful for that recommendation. We are 2 Yanks bicycle touring the South Island; we don't know up from down about anyplace in NZ. The Pohara Beachfront Motel "pegs the meter" for a place to stay. Sqeaky clean; well equipped, charming, engaging, and helpful owners/managers (Barry and Fiona); great setting; quiet; easy walk to cafes and the "store". There is no way you will regret staying here. Go for a swim and then grab a cold beer(s) and watch the sea roll in. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

A wonderfully run, spotlessly clean motel right on the beachfront. The one bedroom apartments are spacious and well appointed. The Mini basement units are small but perfectly adequate for a couple on a short stay, the cleanliness easily outways the size. The beach is very safe and there are cafes and bars nearby, its just the perfect place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Dashwood, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Pohara Beachfront Motel for 17 years. We now have two boys (9 & 7) and they too have been every year. The motel has suited us with a growing family, as it has a large grass area, BBQs, safe access to the beach, trees to climb, lots to do around the region and lockup for bikes. Fiona and Barry are wonderful hosts and as we go annually each year, they encourage the regulars to get together for bonfires, drinkies and BBQs. I suggested a herb garden to Barry and he has gone beyond the call of duty and every year the herb options have increased. I love the fact that I can have a holiday from cleaning too.

Room Tip: We like Units 1,2 and 3 as they face out onto the large grass area - great for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay, stunning views and run by a lovely couple.
Arrived in Pohara and were let down elsewhere for our accomadation. Barry and Fiona helped us out even though they were fully booked. they also advised on places to eat as well as local sights to see.
All in all a very happy stay, highly recommend. I wish we could stay longer.
Jon and Leanne

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on peak holiday period in a mini basement studio with ensuite, which is very a small room with a low ceiling situated in the basement of one of the larger units.

Forget about bringing in your entire luggage, you will not have space in this basic unit for all of your gear. Also, because the unit is in the lower level you will have some noise from the folks in the unit above. The unit is clean and has all the normal items you might expect, small TV, kettle, alarm, tea / coffee, etc. There is no space to do washing up, perhaps use the laundry for this purpose.

Barbecue facilities and picnic tables are available and with the beautiful Pohara beach less than 30 metres away you won’t want to spend much time in your room anyway. The mini basement studio unit is perfect for solo travellers, back-packers or for those travelling light or on a budget - the price accurately reflects what you get, particularly considering thelocation.

The Pohara Beachfront Motel does get sold out very quickly because of its unique location on the beach and its proximity to the northern entry to the Abel Tasman National park. If you stay here the best things to do are the Grove reserve, Wainui falls, the walk to Taupo Point in the Abel Tasman and the Labyrinth Rocks (Great for kids) nearer to Takaka.

Owners are friendly and accommodating. Wi-Fi is available for $8 a day (300Mb) but appears to be a wee bit on the slow side.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoharaBeach, Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thanks for your comments. We advertise exactly what people get, a basement mini studio for a budget price in a great location. More than budget accommodation in a campground has to offer, as you get your own ensuite, and cooking facilities. We have many happy Guests using these throughout the year, when all the want is a comfy bed and an ensuite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We spent 4 quiet, relaxed days with Fiona and Barry, right next to the ocean on Pohara Beach. We had made some scheduling errors, and ended up without a room for a night. They went WAY out of their way to arrange a room for us.

Their hotel is lovely. The rooms are small, but you will not spend much time in them. Each has a relaxing porch, ocean view, and a kitcheonette. They are quiet. One can walk to several fair restaurants, but downtown (Takaka) is a 10 minute drive. Plenty of great places to eat in Tanaka.

My only criticism is their WiFi, which is clunky. One gets a free 1 hour password each day. It worked, but was a bit of a hassle.

The prices were reasonable, and we thoroughtly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoharaBeach, Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Sorry you were a bit disappointed in your Seaview Studio Unit, (we have Guests that return year after year in these and stay for up to 2 weeks). We did our best to give you an extra night either side of your original booking. You were very lucky we had a Unit available in our peak season. I am sure you enjoyed your large 2 bedroom Unit for the other 2 nights when you had your family staying with you.
WIFI - We give our Guests a complimentary 60min within 24 hours wifi voucher with unlimited GB, and they can choose to purchase different valued vouchers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Our chalet was first class, well furnished and right next to the beach. The decking was ideal as we could eat our meals whilst listening to the sea. I would advice you to ask for a chalet on the sea front as not all chalets are. Some have a sea view but are further away from the beach and some are not on the beachfront. Our chalet was located in a quiet place right on the beach front and inside resembled a quality mobile home which we liked. From our bedroom, the lounge and the inside dining area we could watch the sea. Fiona our host ensured we had clean towels daily and was eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
11.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.9 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Property: Pohara Beachfront Motel
Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing