We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Family Favourite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pohara Beachfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A New Family Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Although we only had the one night in Pohara, the setting, quality of the unit and friendliness of the hosts have confirmed to us we need to make this a yearly visit - and for longer next time! Such an amazing part of the region, the kids had a ball running around and exploring the many incredible natural limestone formations. Great cafes within a short stroll. After a lovely meal, it was a pleasure to come back to our well-fitted out unit and then to wake up to that view - Wow!

Room Tip: We loved unit 7 - great view from the higher setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in these motels many years ago and were impressed by the beach setting so decided to revisit Pohara. We were not disappointed by the motels again (only the weather!!). The beach front setting is lovely and the motel was very comfortable. A wonderful place to stay for a nice peaceful break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail13348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chose this motel because they had a good Grabone deal and we wanted a nice location to have some time out! We were upgraded to a beachfront unit and being winter, not many people about so was nice and quiet. The unit was well-stocked with everything you can think of and is walking distance to some reasonably-priced restaurants. The decor is quite average and the bathroom was well overdue for a makeover (can't remember the last time I saw a shower curtain!!) but if you're there over summer doesn't really matter, everything is functional. Also would have been a nice touch to have the heater going when we arrived in the cold and pouring rain!
I wouldn't have wanted to pay full price for this motel but the sound of the beach and rain on the roof - priceless!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janine_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoharaBeach, General Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
This Couple were paying $66.33 per night on a Grabone, upgraded at no extra cost from a seaview unit, and they complain! Where in NZ on the beachfront would you get a better deal. This unit is normally $145 per night, and we have never had a complaint from a full paying Guest. Had we known they intended arriving late, we certainly would have had the heater going and the curtains closed.
We are not the Ritz, and do not promote ourselves as such, and are a well priced Motel, particularly being such a special water front location. Some people are obviously very hard to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Thanks for supporting the Golden Valley Country Music Awards weekend. Very nice easy people to deal with. All our Judges etc liked there beautiful views out over the bay, Always a pleasure doing business each year .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The surroundings play a huge part in this review of course - Pohara Beachfront Motel is right on the beach, and oh what a beach. The owners were lovely and friendly and even though we had booked their cheapest room, they gave us a better one because they had one available and they had decided to no longer let their cheap room because they felt it wasn't nice enough!
So anyone with that kind of integrity gets my vote. We stayed for three nights, but could have stayed for three weeks. All amenities were available - loved that there was also a compost where we could put our food scraps. The room was clean, linen was clean, views were fab, hosts lovely. We don't have kids, but it would be an ideal spot if you did - you can sit on your deck and watch them play on the huge lawn.

Room Tip: They are all great, although some are closer to the beach than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Of all the places our group stayed on South Island this was the best all around. The rooms were all clean and well appointed. Nothing extraordinary, just very nice and completely adequate. The view of the Bay both day and night was a memorable experience. The local eateries were like most we found in NZ, very good! The AC remote was a the only thing with a glitch. You won't be disappointed if you choose Pohara Beachfront. Fiona was very accommodating to all of our group, as I'm sure she will be to you.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors of two story units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBR_PSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was the highlight of a trip to the South Island, with stays in several locations. Hosts are superb, and the motel units are located right by the beachfront - in a quiet cul-de-sac. Peaceful The units are tastefully decorated, every need met. Reasonably priced. Great furnishings, quality bedding and attractive art work on walls. Extremely clean. Located near great local restaurants. Scenic beach for low tide walks and has a walkway above the beach as well. Lovely limestone cliffs further round the bay, interesting boat dock area. Good walks. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, relaxing and special. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a unit with an ocean view - wonderful to wake up, open the venetian blinds, and lie back in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
11.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.9 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.2 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sans Souci Inn
Sans Souci Inn
#1 of 5 in Pohara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Property: Pohara Beachfront Motel
Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing